My Top 10 Most Disappointing Reads of 2017

While I had a fantastic year in reading, there were some books that just didn’t make the cut. They either didn’t live up to expectations or they were just plain bad. So to complement my last post of my top 10 best reads, here are my top 10 most disappointing reads of 2017:

Top 10 Worst Reads

25893582

TELL ME THREE THINGS | Julie Buxbaum

This book is so cliché and unoriginal, it’s unreal. The new girl goes to a rich LA high school where everyone is super fashionable, and so, she feels out of place. And then all the boys suddenly fall in love with her despite her bland personality and all the popular girls get jealous and act like mean girls just ’cause. And somewhere in the rafters we got a cruel stepmother and a bad boy love interest. This book was so run of the mill that I regret having even bought it 😦


25116429

#FAMOUS | Jilly Gagnon

A cute concept with not so cute characters. While managing to touch on some very important topics, such as technology’s influence on societal behaviors as well as cyber bullying, this alternate version of Alex from Target doesn’t really have much else going for it character- or plot-wise.


12558285

SPLINTERED | A.G. Howard

I was so excited to begin reading this series. I’d heard some mixed reviews, but I was willing to give it a go because who could resist a dark retelling of Alice in Wonderland? The world-building was spectacular, but unfortunately, not all the characters were fully developed and the romance was sub-par, to say the least. I’m willing to give this series another shot because of the intriguing plot and setting, though.


20499652

BLUESCREEN | Dan Wells

This book was my first DNF of 2017. I could barely get past the first few chapters. I couldn’t connect with any of the characters since they all seemed like assholes and the pacing was extremely slow. Also, the inclusion of Latinx culture and language felt inauthentic and google translated. The concept is cool, but the execution is something to be desired.


24751478

SOUNDLESS | Michelle Mead

My second DNF of 2017. I’m a huge fan of Michelle Read and the Vampire Academy series. Unfortunately, this book was so boring that I couldn’t make it through to the end. Again, the concept was unique and interesting, but the execution was lacking in character development, plot construction, and world-building. The thing that bothered me the most, though, was the near-complete absence of Chinese elements even though both the synopsis AND cover allude to a story heavily influenced by Chinese folklore and culture.


24921954

THE THOUSANDTH FLOOR | Katharine McGee

My third and final DNF of 2017. The thing about this one, though, is that it’s just not my type of book. I know there are many readers who love this sort of Gossip Girl/The Luxe story, but it’s just not for me. Too dramatic. It’s pretty entertaining and easy to devour, but it’s all a little much for me. So not a bad book, just not my type of book!


25164304

OF FIRE AND STARS | Audrey Coulthurst

Oh the potential in this one. There aren’t that many LGBTQ relationships spotlighted in YA fantasy, so this book is a rarity. However, the world-building was rushed, the relationship was rushed, and the ending was rushed. Yet, the book was slow? It took forever to get to the important aspects of the book, but once it got to those moments, it accelerated past them and then teetered along to the next big moment. Hollow characters, thin plotting, and imbalanced pacing brought this book down for me.


30686326

THE SPY | Paulo Coelho

I really wanted to like this book, but I just couldn’t. I think there’s something to be said when you know NOTHING about the subject, in this case Mata Hari, yet you know that something is off about the way the subject’s life is being portrayed. The re-imagined voice of Mata Hari felt very empty, devoid of any emotion, despite ALL the terrible events that occurred in her life. It just wasn’t very moving or insightful as it should have been, I feel.


20958632

THE DARKEST PART OF THE FOREST | Holly Black

I love Holly Black. But I wasn’t feeling this book at all. The plot was so ridiculously messy and the characters were insanely unlikable, especially the main female character. I didn’t care a bit about the relationships and the faerie prince wasn’t as enchanting as I expected him to be. I enjoyed the diversity and the dark fae (which is something I can always count on with Holly) but everything else was pretty rough and kinda boring.


33414251

THE DARK INTERCEPT | Julia Keller

I’d have to say this was the worst book I read in 2017. The cover and the synopsis looked/sounded SO promising, but the writing was elementary, the world-building was nonexistent, the characters were two-dimensional, the plot was…I don’t even know WHAT the plot really was…and the action/pacing was slow to the max.

Divider

 

Surprisingly, I don’t have many other disappointing reads to be included as dishonorable mentions! The ten books above were actually the only books that didn’t receive 4 stars or higher from me this year. However, there are some books that I rated 4 stars that were slightly disappointing to me, but I’ll save that for another post. I’m sure quite a few of you guys may be shocked by some of my picks, so get ready.

Anyways, that’s all for now! I’ll see ya soon with my Happy New Year post!

Azia Sig

 

9 thoughts on “My Top 10 Most Disappointing Reads of 2017

  1. I haven’t read many of these books myself, but I do remember talking about The Dark Intercept with you when you posted your review and I can imagine how disappointing that one must have been for you because the cover is gorgeous, and it’s just a shame the book itself didn’t live up to it.
    I read Splintered a good few years ago now, I really enjoyed it at the time but now I’m wondering if I’d enjoy it as much if I read it now. The world building is the only thing that stands out for me looking back at that release now. Also Soundless was one of my disappointments when I read it as well. I used to love Richelle Mead’s books but Soundless was just nothing like what I expected from her.
    Great list Azia, and hopefully you’ll have more amazing books to read in 2018! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, Dark Intercept was just confusingly bad. I really don’t know what happened there. And Splintered was enjoyable for the most part. It’s just the characters *cough*Jeb*cough* than need some more work. And yeah, Richelle Mead was one of my favorites as a teen, but now I’m not so sure. I’d have to give her other series a try because Soundless was a true dud for me LOL.
      Thanks Beth! You too! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh my god yes Jeb was probably the character I hated the most in the series. There was nothing wrong with him per say, I just thought he was so boring.
        Yeah after Soundless I haven’t been able to pick up any of her other books. Guess there are just some authors you grow out of right? 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. “Boring” is definitely correct. But there were also some aspects of his personality I didn’t quite like. That’s all right though. I can ignore him lol. I have a special skill for blocking out unpleasant characters XD
        Yeah, that’s true. It’s sad, but only natural 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read a lot of these but I did read Soundless and The Darkest Part of the Forest and didn’t care for them either. Especially Soundless because as you said there was a complete lack of Chinese culture and mythology in it and for something that promised a fantasy story that was very disappointing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Weren’t they kind of disappointing?? I think my expectations were too high, especially for Holly’s book. But yeah, Soundless was completely lacking in many things, especially the Chinese mythology and culture as promised. Hopefully the next Mead book I pick up is much better. I’m gonna go see what Glittering Court is all about!

      Like

  3. AH my most unpopular opinion must be that I actually liked Soundless! I know most people didn’t like it but I found the slow pace peaceful so it was a combination of right time right place. Still gave it 3 stars though because the Chinese culture was seriously lacking.
    I’ve heard enough bad things about Splintered that I’m keeping a 50 km distance of that book at all times omg. Just no sorry my TBR is wayy too full for that.
    I loveee these kinds of lists I have a smol fondness for unpopular and negative opinions <3!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh I’m so glad someone enjoyed Soundless LOL. I was starting to feel bad for it. I don’t mind slower pacing as long as the events that are happening are interesting. I wasn’t always engaged with the characters and their actions in this one, though, and the lack of Chinese elements really didn’t help, so it was a no go for me. But thankfully you enjoyed it! 😀
      LOL, yeah I didn’t realize how mixed the reviews were for Splintered. I was going into it based on a friend’s recommendation. Hadn’t read any reviews until now haha. My expectations would probably been lowered if I had read them before. SADNESS
      And I know right? It’s our cynical side coming out 😂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.