WHERE DO I GO FOR ARCs???

This isn’t a post about me telling you amazing bloggers where you can find all the best ARCs.

This is me asking all of YOU where to get ARCs. I don’t know much about it. I have a Netgalley account (one I never use because I’m intimidated by it), but I wanted to know if there are any other places I should look into.

I want to get into the ARC game so that I can help out authors and publishers as much as I can. Also, I’d love more opportunities to coordinate giveaways. I don’t really have the tools to do so right now 😦

Also, is there anything I should know when asking for an ARC? A sort of etiquette? What sorts of things should I expect/look out for when requesting ARCs?

Please help! I’d love to hear your thoughts/advice on this πŸ˜€

Thanks for stopping by! See ya soon! ❀

30 thoughts on “WHERE DO I GO FOR ARCs???

  1. Hi, Azia! With a decently active book blog you can sign up and get access to tons of ARCs on Netgalley. That’s where I get mine. Though I’ve never requested ARCs from publishers, hopefully other book bloggers can fill you in on how that works. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It seems that Netgalley is the main source of ARCs. I’ve had an account since last year, but have forgotten to use it since signing up haha. And I’ll ask around about the publishers. Thanks so much!

      Like

  2. Hi Azia πŸ™‚ Netgalley is pretty awesome as long as you have a clean, short, yet detailed bio with your stats (Blog, Twitter, IG, Goodreads #’s). Edelweiss plays by similar rules however, adding a reason for your particular interest in a specific book (include a link to a review you’ve written for one of their books) goes a long way on Edelweiss. Eventually on a edelweiss, if you’ve been reviewing in a timely manner, you’ll see that you can skip the “reason box” & just request, chances are there will be a publicist who knows you after some time and he/she will just approve you. TheNovl.com is also a good site to get physical arcs from Little Brown Books & I believe Hachette, they have a blogger form where you list your site links & then select your books. This can be done multiple times so just refresh lol. Goodreads Giveaways has been good to me but I’m aware I’m in the minority. Twitter itself has also yielded some arcs for me, debut authors are more generous and will get in twitter giving away a few copies to those that are Interested. Book events have also helped me out acquiring arcs. Lastly, reaching out to publishers…I haven’t put much effort into this I’ll be honest. Possibly because I’m still focused on making my blog what I’d like for it to be. I do think however, that starting off with the smaller publishing houses is the way to go until you work you feel ready to take on one of the big ones πŸ˜‰I hope this was of some help πŸ’•

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks soooo much, Lilly! This is incredibly helpful. I’ve taken your advice for Netgalley and have requested a couple books. Let’s hope at least one goes through πŸ˜€ And I’d heard of Edelweiss but I’ve also heard the site can be a little confusing. I may give it a try to test it out, though. Haven’t heard of Novl.com but I’d love a physical copy of books!! Thanks for mentioning that one πŸ˜€ Twitter and Goodreads giveaways are so difficult to win but I’ll keep trying! I’ll have to try attending more book events, too. I’ve only attended the festival of books @ SC. Gotta expand my horizons it seems lol. And I’ll contact smaller houses and see how that goes. Again, thanks so much Lilly!!! πŸ’™πŸ’•

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re so very welcome Azia! I hope you find some good ones along the way πŸ™‚ Edelweiss can be confusing, I use the classic old site which is still geared more towards librarians & book sellers. I think it’s all about using their filters correctly. I typically filter my searches under Review Copies—>Subject: Young Adult or Fantasy. I’m new to the Novl so if I get anything from them it’ll be a first for me as well. When I started my blog last Spring, Sourcebooks Fire was one of the 1st publishing houses to approve me & since then they have continued to do so. Once you have a good ration on Netgalley, it gets easier to get the bigger houses πŸ™‚ ❀ ❀ ❀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’ve already been approved for 2! I’m hoping they’re pretty good πŸ˜€ I’ll definitely try to stay on top of them to raise my percentage so I can be approved by bigger houses later! I tried going to Edelweiss today but I can’t find the Review Copies tab. It just shows a browse tab right now. Is that normal? I’m so confused already LOL. And I love the Novl site. Still trying to figure it out, though. Hope you manage to get some ARCs from them! πŸ˜€ ❀

        Liked by 1 person

      3. The Novl site is pretty easy if you go to the “contact us” tab it has a section just for bloggers with 1 form listing all of the currently available arcs. Edelweiss depends on which version you’re using. I use the older version but I believe many are using the newer beta version that’s out. The older in my opinion is simpler. Thanks Azia, I hope you are able to score some good arcs as well πŸ˜ƒπŸ’•

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Ahh okay! I’ll check that out for Novl. And the newer version is called Edelweiss Plus, I think? I can find the review copies on that site but not on the older version I think. Really weird :/ I’ll figure it out! Thank you! ❀ I really hope so, too! Λ†_Λ†

        Like

  3. I mainly go to NetGalley for my ARCs, simply because it’s the only site I actually know how to use. πŸ˜€ I looked into Edelweiss one day and just go so confused I never went back to it, and I sent off a couple of emails to publishing houses but it’s not something I’ve pout much effort into. πŸ™‚
    Honestly I’m not that bothered by ARCs; anything I manage to get is a bonus for me and if I don’t get one, well I can wait for the actual book to be released. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I suppose I should give Netgalley a go. I created my account last year but haven’t used it yet. I heard Edelweiss can be a bit confusing though. I might check into publishing houses as well. I’m fine with pre-ordering a book and waiting until it’s released. Having an ARC once in a while might be fun, though! πŸ˜€ I’ll see what happens.
      Thanks, Beth! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’d recommend NetGalley to start of with. They do have some good ARCs on there but sometimes it can take a while to get approved for certain books. There are three requests I’m waiting to be approved and they’re all highly anticipated books of mine so my fingers are tightly crossed! πŸ˜€
        That’s all right. πŸ™‚ ❀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I requested about 5 books yesterday and have been approved for two so far! They’re probably smaller publishing houses though, which I expected for my first time around. Hopefully I can work my way into the big publishing houses’ good graces someday soon. And good luck with those ARCs! Which ones are you waiting on??

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Oh that’s great to hear, I got another approval today which I was excited about, and finished reading an ARC I was approved for on NetGalley today as well. It’s all very exciting.
        At the moment Tarnished City by Vic James and Fireblood by Elly Blake, two highly anticipated releases of mine at the moment! πŸ˜€ What ones have you been approved for?

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Oh yay! That’s IS exciting! So happy you got another approval.
        I’ve saw Fireblood on Netgalley! Not sure I’ve seen Tarnished City but wishing you luck on getting those two! I’ve been approved for Starswept by Mary Fan and Frankie by Shivauni Plazza. And I got an approval by Macmillan-Tor/Forge yesterday. I was so surprised. Didn’t think they’d look twice at my request LOL. The book is The Dark Intercept by Julia Keller.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Thanks Azia, I am as well.
        I’m keeping my fingers tightly crossed. I guess some companies have a lot of requests to get through. Besides even if I don’t get approved I have both books on pre-order so I’ll get to read them eventually! I haven’t heard of any of those, then again I tend to recognise books by their covers rather than their titles. Either way I hope you enjoy them Azia! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      6. I guess so :/ I’ve been waiting on a few more books. I didn’t realize how many I had requested lol. I don’t expect to be approved for all of them. Really happy with the ones I’ve been approved of so far, so it’s okay if the other ones get declined LOL. They seem to be highly sought after! And yeah, I can always pre-order them, so no worries! Same, covers are my IDs lol. Thanks! You, too πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      7. I think being happy with the ones you get is a good way to look at things. As long as you don’t go crazy and request too many, it happens to all of us at one point or another but then you have a mountain or ARCs you need to review before a deadline! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

      8. I don’t even know what my deadlines are!! LOL. Glad I only have 3 to worry about for now though. I have to get on them ASAP so I can raise my percentage πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Hey, Azia! πŸ™‚

    Netgalley really is where I predominantly get all of mine. It’s just so easy to use and decently easy to find a lot of the books that I’m interested in. I tried Edelweiss but I literally never got past making a profile because I understand nothing. Literally nothing.

    Another big part is through blog tours. If you end up being chosen to be a part of the blog tour for review, they will send you either a physical or ecopy to use for review (I have 3 that I find a lot of good YA books – let me know if you’re interested and I can give you the names because they were really super fun and cool to deal with).

    For physical copies, there are a decent amount of ways to get. Twitter & Goodreads giveaways are the hardest ways to win, but there are definitely ways to win. Many of the bigger publishers in the YA game do have blogger forms (Entangled Teen emails them out; Fierce Reads and Penguin Teen – I do have links if you want – and the Novl have them on their website). I haven’t had much luck contacting publishers directly, but they are available too to make requests. Sometimes authors right on their website will give you where to send the requests to. πŸ™‚

    Hope this helps!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Netgalley seems to be the main site for bloggers to get ARCs. I’ve started using it and the site is pretty easy to navigate. Edelweiss, however, sounds like it’s really difficult to grasp. A few others have mentioned how confusing it is lol. I’ll try it out but I have a feeling I might be avoiding it in the future πŸ˜‚

      And I’m actually really interested in there blog tours. I’ve always wondered about how you participate in them!

      I’d really love to receive a physical copy! I’ve entered a few Twitter and Goodreads giveaways, but no luck so far. I’ll keep trying, though. Never know what might happen πŸ˜‰ And if it’s not too much trouble, any links/info you have to those sources is deeply appreciated πŸ˜„ I really want to try to contact both publishers and authors directly if possibly, though maybe a little later once I’m used to reading and reviewing ARCs from sites like Netgalley lol πŸ™‚

      This helped sooo much!! Thank you so much, Mandy! πŸ˜€πŸ’•

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, it’s sooooo easy – a little too easy because I’m super prone to go on there and request a ton, thinking oh, they’ll never approve me and then you end up with 10 books to read in 2 months. XD But if you ever figure it out, please let me know since I’m still struggling. XD

        And yes! They’re super cool. They will send you either physical or ecopies if you get chosen for reviews, but you can always do interviews, guest posts, and excerpts, which are super cool and still reaching out with the authors that you mentioned. The main ones I use are Rockstar Book Tours, Xpresso Book Tours, and The Fantastic Flying Book Club. Basically, they just send out emails to you announcing signups for the book and types that you can apply for (some are review only, some are just blitzes). Here are the links to sign up to start receiving emails for them. When you get an email for a book you’re interested in, just fill out the google doc form and they will let you know in a few days (up to 2 weeks or so).
        Rockstar: http://www.rockstarbooktours.com/2017/07/tour-announcement-odd-true-by-cat.html (you can sign up to be a tour host in the last paragraph)
        Xpresso (it does adult, new adult, and YA): http://xpressobooktours.com/ (you can click to become one on the side – although you don’t have to become a tour host to be part of it – although they tend to give you a better chance)
        Fantastic Flying Book Club: http://fantasticflyingbookclub.blogspot.com/

        But for sure! πŸ˜‰ The way that I always ended up winning with Goodreads was being in like 20 million XD But then I got a lot of books I wasn’t actually interested in.
        Okay, here are some of the links I have for the publisher forms:
        Fierce Reads: http://www.fiercereads.com/contact/
        The Novl: http://thenovl.com/contact/
        Penguin Teen: http://penguinteen.tumblr.com/bloggers
        Macmillian (gives you emails where to contact): https://us.macmillan.com/about/contact

        Hope this helps! I think that was a majority of my links. XD I’ll let you know if I find anymore hidden in my Bookmarks.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Sending you a virtual hug!! πŸ˜€ Thanks SO much for sending me all this info! I feel like I’m all set to try it all out LOL. I’ve already requested about five books from Netgalley and have been approved for three so far. I was so surprised to have gotten an approval by Macmillan. I don’t even have a review percentage yet haha. Now I have three books on my TBR I wasn’t prepared for LOL.

    I’ll be sure to check out all those links. I briefly looked on Rockstar Book Tours and saw about 2 or 3 books I was really interested in being a part of!

    Guess I’ll have to up my giveaway game in Goodreads LOL. I only enter about 3 at a time πŸ˜€ And yay! Excited to look into all those forms!!

    This helps a bunch!!! Thank you!! πŸ˜€ ❀ ❀

    Like

Leave a Reply

