Book Review Time: My Lady Jane | Cynthia Hand

22840421

Book Details

Hardcover: 512 pages

Publisher: HarperTeen

Publication Date: June 7, 2016

Goodreads Synopsis

The comical, fantastical, romantical, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey. In My Lady Jane, coauthors Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows have created a one-of-a-kind fantasy in the tradition of The Princess Bride, featuring a reluctant king, an even more reluctant queen, a noble steed, and only a passing resemblance to actual history—because sometimes history needs a little help.

At sixteen, Lady Jane Grey is about to be married off to a stranger and caught up in a conspiracy to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But those trifling problems aren’t for Jane to worry about. Jane is about to become the Queen of England.”


Review-2

For everyone who knows there was enough room for Leonardo DiCaprio on that door. And for England. We’re really sorry for what we’re about to do to your history.

My Lady Jane was such a huge surprise for me. I didn’t expect to love it was much as I did. I’m actually having a hard time finding anything wrong with it. This book is very self-aware of its humorous and parodic nature and the authors effectively maintained the comicalness of their characters and storyline all the way through to the end. So, this will basically be a review of me gushing about how much I love it.

The strongest aspect of My Lady Jane is its comedic effect. I found this entire book to be laugh out loud hilarious. From beginning to end, it is all good-natured fun with an enjoyable twist on history. The authors make great use of running gags (such as comments on a character’s nose, or horsey jokes regarding Gifford) that never failed to coax a chuckle out of me.

“No horse jokes,” he said.
“My lord, I apologize for the horse joke. If you put down the book—unharmed!—I will give you a carrot.”
He brandished the book at her. “Was that a horse joke?”
“Neigh.”
“Was that a horse joke?”

In its own way this book is a fluffy regency romance, perfect for those who enjoy a good bit of YA romance and history mixed together. As a result, we’re given a cheeky romp of an adventure punctuated by witty dialogue and lovable characters.

Besides the comedy, the characters are also very well-developed. Jane is a slightly uppity bookworm with a big heart and a clever mind. She is independent, confident, and more than capable of taking care of herself. She’s incredibly relatable and easy to root for. And Gifford (or G as he likes to be called) is ridiculously charming and lovable. His relationship with Jane takes a while to develop, but their romance turns out to be one of the funniest and sweetest pairings I’ve read in a while.

“I know I’m not inspiring much confidence at this point, but there’s something else I thought I’d bring up.” She lifted her eyes to him. “I love you more than I love books.”

Other characters, such as Grace and Edward shine in their roles and are also entertaining and likable versions of their historical selves (though I’m not sure if Grace is  an actual historical figure).

The authors do a fantastic job in creating a narration that breaks the fourth wall and directly addresses the audience to acknowledge the silliness of the events and to further explain that this book is a “revised” history and that it is not at all to be taken seriously. The invasive narration only adds to the humor and makes it all the more amusing.

Each character has so much personality and there’s just enough action and romance to keep you entertained and held in suspense. I suppose the only flaw is that the ending is predictable but in the best way. So, no complaints there.

All in all, this is an incredibly funny and well-meaning book that is made to make you smile. A perfect pick-me-up for those who need a laugh or two.

My Rating:

5 stars

 

31 thoughts on “Book Review Time: My Lady Jane | Cynthia Hand

  1. Great review for this book Azia, I read My Lady Jane pretty soon after it’s release (the book was in one of the Owl Crate boxes I got) and I definitely didn’t expect to love it as much as I did either. I started seeing all these amazing reviews for it though and knew I needed to pick it up and read it for myself. I loved the comedy, loved Jane and G both as individual characters and when they were together, loved the story and thought it all came together in an amazing book!
    I just finished reading A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue which in a way reminds me of this book. The stories aren’t similar but they’re both part of a genre I call historic comedy, and I loved them both! 😀
    Again great review. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Beth! I had to pick it up after reading so many positive reviews and after you mentioned how much you loved it 😀 I was not disappointed in the least. Jane and G were such lovable characters and I just love how witty the whole book was.
      Historic comedy is a PERFECT way to describe My Lady Jane and Gentleman’s Guide 😀 I’m so glad you loved Gentleman’s. It does remind me a bit of MLJ. Both were fantastic books I’d happily read again 😀
      Thanks again ❤ 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right, I guess when you see that many amazing reviews for a book you know it’s got to be amazing! That’s what I thought about My Lady Jane and I’m really glad you enjoyed it too Azia. 🙂
        It was amazing, I’ve written my review so hopefully I’ll be posting it beginning of next week maybe? They’re definitely books I’d read again as well. 😀
        That’s all right! 🙂 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

    1. The dedication is pure literary gold LOL. It’s the first thing that hooked me. I knew I was in for a great book after reading it haha. I hope you love the book once you get around to reading it!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wonderful review Azia! yet another book we felt the same about lol. the horse jokes kept me laughing for days on end smh, I love these characters so much. There are very few books I’d consider for a re-read cuz time lol but this is def one that makes the list. The writing style between all 3 authors translated so well to paper that I was left looking for any bit of info on future projects (thankfully there is one) and checking out their individual works 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Lilly! 😀 I’m still chuckling over some of the horse and nose jokes that I remember LOL. These are some of the best characters I’ve read. They make me smile so much haha. I’d definitely reread this one, too! Along with Gentleman’s Guide 😉 I’m so happy to hear that the authors have another project in the works! I’ll definitely have to look into their individuals works 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thanks so much!! It’s one of the funniest books I own. I’m so glad I actually have it on my shelves. I’ll definitely be rereading it some day 😀

      Like

  3. Great review! I have this book on my Nook but I keep forgetting about it (a downside to eBooks for me haha) but I’m glad to hear that you liked it so I’m determined to finally power on my Nook and read it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! It was such a fun read. O really do hope you love it, too! And same. I forget some e-books I’ve bought on my Nook, as well. Took me the longest time to remember I had Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda on there 😂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

