Top 5 Wednesday | Children’s Books

There were so many children’s books I read back in the day that I love even now! If given the choice, heck yeah I’d read some of them again 🙂

As a reminder, Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly book meme that was started by Ginger Reads Lainey and is now being looked after by Thoughts on Tomes. The topics can be found on Goodreads.

According to Goodreads:This can include Middle Grade (but try to recommend more than just Harry Potter and Percy Jackson!) Feel free to talk about your childhood faves or more recent reads.”

I think I might do a separate post where I include my Top 5 favorite middle grade books. So for now, I’ll focus exclusively on children’s books. There were so many to choose from but here are a few that really left their mark on me!


824734

The Magic Tree House series | Mary Pope Osbourn

I think this is the very first book series I read as a child! It was so popular around my time in elementary school and everyone wanted to get their hands on these books. They were fun and adventurous, and they were the perfect solution to kids who always wanted time travel 😉 Dinosaurs Before Dark wasn’t my favorite in the series, but it was the first so I gotta give it its props.


69923

The A to Z Mysteries series | Ron Roy

After reading the Magic Treehouse series, I began reading this series. I loved how each title matched the letter in the alphabet and the books were tons of fun to read because a group of clever kids solved a series of mysteries. And I always love a good mystery!


767680

If You Give A Mouse a Cookie | Laura Joffe Numeroff

This book is just plain awesome. Sure, it’s really easy to read now, but back then it was all the rage. It includes a cute little mouse and some chocolate chip cookies. What better combo is there?


900068

The Berenstain Bears and the Spooky Old Tree | Stan & Jan Berenstain

I’m pretty sure I read this book nearly every single day that I was in kindergarten. This book was my life. I actually think it was the beginning of my love for the horror genre. My mom wondered why I read it so often, and I’d never have a real answer. I think I liked the pictures and the cadence of the words.


23772

Green Eggs and Ham | Dr. Seuss

While I loved Cat in the Hat, Green Eggs and Ham was where it was at. This books was my favorite book by Dr. Seuss. I read it so often that I started to remember each page word for word. And I also have a very vivid memory of making green eggs and ham in kindergarten for a project! It was really good, so I was convinced that green eggs and ham was the best thing in the world.


Honorable Mentions

  • The BFG | Roald Dahl
  • Mr. Popper’s Penguins | Richard and Florence Atwater
  • The Junie B. Jones series | Barbara Park
  • A Series of Unfortunate Events | Lemony Snicket
  • Matilda | Roald Dahl
13 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday | Children’s Books

  1. So many good ones Azia! my 6 year old LOVES If You Give a Mouse a Cookie shaking her head at that high maintenance mouse lol. I LOVED Matilda as a kid & I’ve always been curious about A Series of Unfortunate Events, may just check out the Netflix series 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. If You Give A Mouse A Cookie is the type of book that can be read for many future generations to come. It’s just so cute! Matilda is the absolute best and yes! Please read or watch The Unfortunate Events! The books are amazing and the Netflix series does a great job adapting them! 😀

      Like

  2. I have to admit I haven’t read any of the books in your top five Azia, but I have read some of your honourable mentions. Roald Dahl was a favourite author of mine when I was really young, but I think my favourite book by him was The Twits, and the whole of A Series of Unfortunate Events was amazing. One day I really need to re-read all the books because aside from the beginning few I can’t really remember what happens.
    Great picks for this week, I may not have read many but if they’re your favourite childhood books they have to be pretty amazing reads! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh you must read some of them! I know we’re adults now, but they can still be pretty fun to read haha. I don’t think I ever read The Twits! I only read three books by Dahl: Matilda, The BFG, and The Witches. I’d love to read more of his books, though. And I’d really like to reread The Unfortunate Events, especially now that the show is a thing. I need to refresh my memory. I remember nothing after the 4th book!
      Thanks, Beth! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I do still read and enjoy MG books, obviously there’s HP and Percy Jackson which are now favourites of mine which I still read now. The Twits is a good book, kind of funny as well if I’m remembering it correctly. I think a re-read is needed for both of us in that case.
        That’s all right! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh no! LOL. You must read Matilda, at least. She’s a fellow bookworm 😉 But if you’re still okay with reading children’s books, I highly recommend them all!

      Like

    1. Oh yay! I haven’t met many others who read A to Z 😀 They were such fun books. I thought I was so clever, too, when I solved the mystery before they did LOL. Thanks so much! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve heard so many good things about The BFG and Matilda! I never read them as a child, but I have to check them out someday. When I was younger, around 11-12 years old, my favourite series was The Twins at St. Clare’s by Enid Blyton ^^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Both the BFG and Matilda were such endearing and fun reads when I was a child. I think Matilda is better received by both adults and children. Much more relatable I think. I haven’t heard if that series! I’ll have to check it out 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

