Wrap Up | My June Reads and Reviews

June was basically my return to blogging in earnest. I read quite a few books and I managed to write a few reviews. Lord knows I’m still ridiculously behind, but I’ll get there one day! I’m so happy with how many books I managed to read in June. For the latter half of the month, I changed up my TBR to honor Pride Month and I’m extremely happy with the fantastic books I chose! Only one was kind of a miss (Of Fire and Stars) but the others were EXCELLENT. I highly recommend them all 😀


What I've Read

Tell Me Three Things| Julie Buxbaum | ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Hunted | Meagan Spooner | ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Dreadnought | April Daniels | ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe | Benjamin Alire Saénz| ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 1/2

We Are Okay | Nina LaCour | ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 1/2

Of Fire and Stars | Audrey Coulthurst | Review to Come

Initial Thoughts: A sweet romance between two princesses. Lack of world-building. Dull storyline. Slow pacing. Had potential, but didn’t quite make it.

A Study in Charlotte | Brittany Cavallaro | Review to Come

Initial Thoughts: Great chemistry between Watson and Holmes. Interesting mystery that kept me engaged. Fast-paced and thrilling. Questionable character actions and behaviors.

Geekerella | Ashley Poston | Review to Come

Initial Thoughts: Freaking adorable. Love the geeky references and romance. The characters are well-developed and relatable. A bit predictable but still cute and touching.

My Lady Jane | Cynthia Hand | Review to Come

Initial Thoughts: Cheeky. All kinds of enjoyable. Hilarious. Fantastic characters. Adventurous and endearing. An easy favorite.

The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue | Mackenzi Lee |Review to Come

Initial Thoughts: Ridiculously romantic and sweet and fun. Extremely entertaining and hilarious. Also deeply heart-breaking. Amazing characters and an engaging plot. Simply perfect. An new favorite of mine. Definitely lived up to expectations.My ReviewsTell Me Three Things | Julie Buxbaum | ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Flame in the Mist | Renée Ahdieh | ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Hunted | Meagan Spooner | ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Dreadnought | April Daniels | ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

We Are Okay | Nina LaCour | ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 1/2

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe | Benjamin Saénz | ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 1/2Top Posts (1)5 YA Characters I’d Go to Disneyland With

Mid Year Freak Out Tag

Standalone Sunday | Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda

Last Week’s Reads and Mini Reviews + My Reads for This Week

Book Review Time: Flame in the Mist | Renée AhdiehHighlights

1. It was my birthday on June 17th! I turned 22!

2. June was my first full month of post-grad living.

3. I managed to return to blogging with just as much passion as I started with.

4. My reading list was FANTASTIC. I really enjoyed most of my LGBTQIA+ reads.

5. The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue lived up to (and maybe even surpassed) my expectations.


Final Thoughts (2)

June was a pretty good month! I read a good number of amazing books and one of my most anticipated reads deserved all the hype surrounding it. Now I just have to read Now I Rise to see if it does, as well! From what I’ve read so far, I’m more than sure it will.

I really need to catch up on all my reviews but that’ll be done in time. Also, I’ll be starting discussion posts this coming week! Don’t know what I’ll talk about first, but hopefully it’ll be interesting.

Not sure what I’ll read for this month so I might not do a monthly TBR. I kind of just want to read whatever feels right! Guess we’ll see what happens 😀

That’s all for now! Thanks for stopping by and I’ll see you guys soon. Off to blog hopping I go!! ❤

21 thoughts on “Wrap Up | My June Reads and Reviews

  1. I just ordered A Study in Charlotte and I keep looking out my window hoping it’s going to come!! I’m in a bit of a reading slump at the moment and I think this book will be the one to get me out of it–can’t wait to read your review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m glad you had a good June Azia, also happy birthday for the 17th. It seems like there were a few of us celebrating birthdays in June! 😀
    These were some great books you got through as well. I need to read Geekerella soon, and The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue and A Study in Charlotte so I really hope I love them as much as you did. I hope you manage to get caught up on your reviews soon, I manged to get caught up myself this week but I had to sacrifice reading during the last part of the week to manage it. I’m also very excited to see your first discussion post too. I’ll be keeping an eye out for it for sure.
    I hope you have a great July Azia, happy reading! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Beth! Shoutout to all the June babies LOL
      I can’t wait to read all your thoughts on those books! They’re such enjoyable reads. I finished Now I Rise last night. It was FANTASTIC. I absolutely love the direction that it’s going! That ending had me shook LOL
      Glad you managed to catch up on all your reviews! I might have to sacrifice some reading myself to get some more reviews done. Hopefully the discussion is interesting enough 😉
      Thanks Beth! I hope you have a wonderful month, too ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right! 🙂
        Well I’ll be sure to let you know what I think of them. I’ll be posting reviews either way but if you say they’re enjoyable reads I’m sure I’ll love them! Oh that’s good to hear, and yes how excited are you for book three now?
        Sometimes I think sacrificing reading is the only way to go. There’s not enough time in the day for both.
        That’s all right, and thanks Azia! 😀 ❤️

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Sooo excited. I don’t see a very good ending for Lada though 😦 People like her don’t usually have a very good ending haha. Guess we’ll see how it goes. I’m also reeeeallly hoping Radu will give up on Mehmed. He was driving me crazy with his extreme loyalty to and love for him.
        That’s absolutely right. I think after I finish WDMR and The Unexpected Everything, I’ll take a break and write a few reviews. It’s the only way now that I’m about 15 reviews behind LOL
        Np! ❤ 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      3. No neither do I. In fact the only character I see a good ending for (hopefully) is Radu. But like you said we’ll just have to see how it goes.
        I think he was starting to in this book, it certainly felt that way towards the end when the two were reunited after the siege ended.
        Oh wow you do have a lot to write, and in that case yeah maybe put reading to one side until you make a decent dent in them. 🙂 ❤️

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Yeah, if anybody, it’d be Radu with a happy ending. But I still think even he has to be redeemed for his actions in Constantinople. I really want him with Cyprian, but as Shouni pointed out, I think even he is too good for Radu at this point and deserves someone better, someone not so passionately attached to a man like Mehmed.

        Yup, that’s the game plan haha. I’ll try to get started today actually. I really want to be caught up. I’m getting a little stressed out that I have so many to write LOL

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I’m hoping we’ll see some of that in the third book. I really think the second was a turning point for Radu’s character and he could go anywhere in the third you know? I think he may end up with Cyprian, but only after he’s moved on from Mehmed, which I think will happen some point in the third book.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Agreed. Radu has so much more room to grow and evolve. Lada, too, but I think her days ate numbered now 😦 I think Radu night be the only one with a semi-happy/bittersweet ending

        Liked by 1 person

      7. I can definitely see that. Lada has already moved forward and gotten what she’s always wanted. Radu still seems a bit lost. Guess we’ll just have to wait and see what becomes of them. There’s going to be two more books right?

        Liked by 1 person

      8. I think there’s only one more book. I vaguely remember reading it was trilogy but I could be wrong. I can see Lada’s story being wrapped up in one more book, not sure about Radu’s but I guess it all depends on where the next book takes his character. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      9. Darn. When I read it was a saga, I immediately assumed there’d be 4 books for some reason lol. But saga just means an epic story without any definite number of books so don’t know why I thought that XD LOL. If it is only three books, I really hope the ending is mind-blowing!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy belated birthday, Azia! I hope you had a lovely day ❤
    I'm glad you had a good month. 😀 Lately I've been seeing a lot of people talking about The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue and I'm getting curious – I'll have to check it out later haha Geekerella was very cute, but too cheesy sometimes 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! ˆ_ˆ<3
      Yes, please check out The Gentleman's Guide. I think it's one of my favorite reads this year! And I agree, Geekerella was definitely cheesy, but adorably so haha 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

