Last Week’s Reads and Mini Reviews + My Reads for This Week

Good news! I moved recently and I finally have WiFi! My posts for the past few days were scheduled, so I haven’t actually been on WordPress for about a week. Sorry if I’ve taken a while to respond and leave comments. I’ll be catching up all week!

Before I do that though, I want to set up a TBR for this week! We’re in the last few days of Pride Month, so I’ll be reading a couple more LGBTQ+ books to end out this month.


Last Week’s Reads & Mini Reviews

We Are Okay | Nina LaCour |⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 1/2

This book was fantastic. It’s a slow read that is never boring and it explores various themes of loneliness, betrayal, acceptance, friendship, self-discovery, and sexual identity. It is deeply real and heartfelt, both heartbreaking and up-lifting. The prose is simple yet meaningful and Marin’s journey of healing is very personal and relatable. I loved this book, and if you’re okay with a story that is focused more on character rather than plot, then I think you might love this one, too.

Dreadnought | April Daniels | ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

It was very action-packed and entertaining to read. I especially enjoyed reading about Danny and her journey, no matter the highs and lows of it. The author seemed to capture the mindset and some real life experiences/treatments of a transgender individual fairly well. Sometimes, though, I wished for a little less action and a bit more introspection. Everything was go, go, go from the start and I wanted a few more scenes with Danny just living her life in her new body, doing normal things. Other than that, this was a really fun and emotional read!

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe | Benjamin Alire Saenz | ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 1/2

I devoured this book. It’s just so…BEAUTIFUL. It has a multitude of positive aspects including simple but stunning prose, fabulous characters (especially Dante) that are complex and relatable, insightful commentary on family, friendships, individual identity, and personal growth, meaningful dialogue, Latinx representation, and so much more. I loved it. I wouldn’t call it perfect, but it’s damn near close.


Currently Reading

25164304

Of Fire and Stars | Audrey Coulthourst

So far I like it but I’m not in love with it. I can definitely see what people are saying about the world-building. It’s really not there. And the characters are okay. I’m not crazy about anyone in particular. The plot’s good, but not extremely engaging. It’s a bit too easy for me to put the book down and do something else…Hm, we’ll see how I feel by the end.


TBR for this Week

Once I finish Of Fire and Stars (hopefully by tonight), I can begin reading:

I’m incredibly excited for these two books. I’ve heard SO many good things about both of them! I think I’ll read The Gentleman’s Guide first and then Now I Rise! From what I’ve heard from fellow bloggers, I don’t think I’ll be disappointed with either of them 😉

Bottom Bouqet

That’s all for now! So what are you guys reading this week? Read any of the ones I mentioned? What’d you think of them?

Thanks for stopping by! I’ll see ya soon 😀 

34 thoughts on “Last Week’s Reads and Mini Reviews + My Reads for This Week

    1. Yes! Please do! I think you’d love it 😀

      And I’m still working my way through Of Fire and Stars. It’s kind of boring, but I like that it’s a F/F relationship, so I’m trying to see it through to the end! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Congrats on moving + wi-fi Azia!!!! all of your last weeks books are at the top of my TBR, such great picks and I’m glad to see you enjoyed them. I own Of Fire an Stars but never got around to reading it, seems like I caught a case of inluenzzzza from other book bloggers & booktubers who didn’t love it. I am currently reading The Gentleman’s Guide & LOVING it! the humor has me giggling every 5 seconds smh, perfect LGBTQIA+ read 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Lilly! It’s soooo nice having WiFi back haha. I really hope you enjoy all three books. They were fabulous in my opinion! I’ll be honest and say Of Fire and Stars is proving to be a disappointment. It’s just so….boring. And the romance is the strongest part, but even that is still eh. As of right now, I’m not sure I’d recommend it. I’ll see how I feel by the end! And yaaaaas! I’m so happy to hear you’re enjoying The Gentleman’s Guide. I’ve just received it in the mail today and I’m DYING to read it 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you Azia! Of Fire and Stars may just continue collecting dust until I find someone interested in it to give it away lol. if it hasn’t called to me yet then I doubt it will ever do so smh. So I’ve reached the 65% mark in Gentleman’s Guide & GAHHH! so funny & the story! LOOOOOVE the plot. My reviews will be me gushing over how much I love this book lol. Last night I heard that Mackenzi Lee (author) is currently writing a sequel companion titled The Lady’s Guide to Petticoats and Piracy & my heart skipped a beat haha 😉

        P.S. I really hope you enjoy it as much as I am ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I think that’s a pretty good idea! Hopefully someone else can give it some love 😀 And I’m about 60% way through Gentleman’s Guide and my god, Lilly, I love it too!! ❤ It’s so funny and romantic and sad and surprising and I love every bit of it so far. I’ll definitely be picking up that sequel! 😊😁

        Like

  2. Oh I’m glad you’re back on WordPress and have wi-fi again Azia, also I hope your move went well too!
    These are some great mini reviews. I have We Are Okay on my to-read list, along with every other book Nina LaCour has written so far, and I’ve been seeing so many amazing reviews for it recently I may have to move it up my to-read list a little. 🙂 Also I’m so glad you loved Aristotle and Dante, I read that last year and it’s a favourite of mine.
    I really hope you enjoy both A Gentleman’s Guide and Now I Rise, I’ve only read the latter but I thought it was brilliant so I’ll be interested in seeing your review for them both! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s good to be back LOL. And thanks so much! I’m just so glad all three books were fantastic. We Are Okay was so wonderful. I can’t wait to see what you think of it. And at first I thought I wouldn’t like Aristotle and Dante, but by the end I was so in love with it. Such an important book with great impact.
      I hope I enjoy them as well, but from what I’ve heard, I’m almost certain I will! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right. 🙂 And yes it’s always good when you have some amazing reads all in a row. I think it took me a little while to get into Aristotle and Dante, but it’s well worth it by the end, and I’ll be sure to let you know what I think of We Are Okay once I’ve finished it! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah, it took me a few chapters before I really got into Aristotle and Dante. I’m so happy I ended up loving it by the end 😀 Yay! I’ll be looking forward to that!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Congrats on the move, Azia (and hooray for Wi-Fi!!) This is seriously the Book List to End All Book Lists in this year’s blogging community; every single one of these I’ve only heard good things about. I haven’t had the chance to read We Are Okay or Of Fire and Stars yet, but I’ve been eagerly anticipating A Gentleman’s Guide and Now I Rise, so I’ll be more than excited to hear what you think about them. It sounds like you have the perfect selection for Pride Month reads, and I hope they all live up to the hype! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Diana! It was such a fantastic reading list. It’s always a great feeling when the books live up to expectations. And so far, I’d say Of Fire and Stars is just okay in comparison to the other three. Not as deep or meaningful. I really can’t wait to read the new releases. They both sound like they’ll be wonderful. I’m almost positive they’ll live up to the hype! 😀 I hope you enjoy them as well!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I just stumbled upon a copy of We Are Okay today, and I’m afraid I might have passed it up if it weren’t for your review of it. Here’s hoping I like it as much as you did! ❤ I will still probably check out Of Fire and Stars at some point, but I've heard from quite a few people that it's more mediocre than magnificent, so it'll probably sit on the back burner a little bit longer while I go through some of my more anticipated releases (like Now I Rise — ooh, I am so ready!) I can't wait to see what you think of these next two on your list, and I hope they exceed your expectations 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yaaaaasss ❤ So happy you picked it up! Hope you love it 😀 And mediocre is exactly how I would describe Of Fire and Stars. I'm reading Now I Rise now and MY GOD I'm loving every single moment of it. Lada is MAGNIFICENT and so cruel haha. And The Gentleman's Guide was FANTASTIC ❤

        Like

      1. The new one is The Inexplicable Logic of My Life, right? I’ve heard mixed reviews about that one, although I’d love to form my own opinion of it!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. We should always do that haha and yes, that is the one 😀

        I like the cover a lot… haha I have heard mixed reviews about “We were liars” and I have not try it yet for the same reason XD

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I really like the cover, too. I recently saw it at my library so maybe I’ll give it a go this month. I haven’t heard much about We Were Liars, though. I think I keep getting that one mixed up with One of Us is Lying LOL. Why are there so many liars in YA right now haha XD

        Liked by 1 person

      4. It was on kindle for $2.99 and I almost click on it to buy it… but I have 2 already on Kindle waiting… I am a mess haha

        Teenagers are good are lying haha I have seen that one so many times, and it keeps calling me XD but I need to have selfcontrol haha

        Liked by 1 person

      5. LOL, all us bookworms are messes. We don’t know when to stop buying our books haha

        And yes, yes they are. I really want to buy it but I already have 10 books in my to buy basket. I’m thinking I should refrain from adding another LOL

        Liked by 1 person

      6. It most certainly is. LOL, even though I do the Down the TBR Hole meme to reduce my TBR pile, I STILL have 248 books on my to read shelf. I started out months ago with 280 or so books. Haven’t made a dent LOL

        Liked by 1 person

      7. well, you are on your way. Don´t give up haha I think my list could be worst haha but it makes me feel happy that there are still books for me to read that I have so I should not think about spending more haha

        Liked by 1 person

      8. It makes me happy to know that there are so many books out there just waiting for us to read them! In that capacity, ain’t nothing wrong with an extra long TBR list 😉 Just gotta watch our money 😂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. We Are Okay is definitely not heavy in suspense but the evocative language and the multiple themes such as sadness and nostalgia that the book traverses is so beautiful that it remains to-date, my favorite summer read so far.
    I’m now reading When Dimple Met Rishi which seems to have become SOOOO popularly lately here and on Goodreads and, although the premise does seem a little bit cliché, it’s nonetheless enjoyable and absolutely HILARIOUS!:)
    I look forward to reading more from you soon 🙂
    Happy Reading !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I absolutely agree. We Are Okay is certainly a little novel to remember 🙂
      I bought When Dimple Meets Rishi because of all the hype surrounding it on Goodreads and on the blogosphere. I’m glad that you’re enjoying it so far! I can’t wait to start reading it 😀
      Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

