Standalone Sunday | Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda

Yay! I’ve actually got a book to share today!

Standalone Sunday is a feature created by the lovely Megan @ bookslayerReads where each Sunday you share a standalone book (a book not part of a series) that you loved or would like to recommend! Please be sure to check out Megan’s wonderful blog to see her original post and recommendations. And be sure to check around the blogosphere for more posts like this!

increased-standalone

My standalone pick this week is:

19547856

“Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.”

Bottom Bouqet

This book has so many amazing things going for it. I can honestly say that it is one of my favorite YA contemporaries (and maybe one of my favorite YA books in general). The characters are out-of-this-world fantastic (or horrible, depending on who we’re talking about…Martin), the romance is really sweet, and the story itself is just really entertaining. It’s a slice-of-life type of book with infuriating situations, messy relationships, and a lot of drama. I love this book, and if you’re looking for more diversity and LGBTQ+ representation, I’d highly recommend it. Plus, it’s going to be a movie!!!! *squeals/faints*

17 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday | Simon vs. The Homo Sapiens Agenda

  1. Oh great pick for this week’s Standalone Sunday Azia. I really loved Simon Vs, it was one of the first YA contemporary books I read and reviews on my blog, and one of the first diverse reads I picked up as well so it has a special place in my heart. It was such a cute story, and I loved Simon and Blue’s relationship as well. 🙂
    I’m really excited for the movie. The cast so far look amazing so I can’t wait for it to be released, and to see the trailers as well. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Beth! This is such a wonderful book to be your first diverse read and YA contemporary for review!! Simon is such a phenomenal character. I can’t wait to see the characters brought to life in the movie. Doesn’t the casting seem so perfect! I really hope the movie is just as amazing as the cast haha 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m SO excited for the movie. Especially since the casting choices are phenomenal and so on point! The book is so special and so well-done. It’s an easy favorite 😉 Glad you love it, too!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great pick! I absolutely love Simon vs. It’s one of my favourite contemporary YA novels. Simon is the best, and I’m really fond of Abby too. I’m really excited to see the movie. The casting looks on point to me, so fingers crossed it will deliver.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I think for whoever has read this book, it’s got to be one of their favorite YA contemporaries and diverse reads. I’m fond of so many of the characters. Of course, Simon is my favorite ❤ The casting choices are excellent. Really hoping the movie is just as good! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

    1. LOL, it’s all right. It’s kinda been on the down low because a trailer hasn’t been released yet! Please read it! I think it’s absolutely fantastic 😀 I’d love to see what you think of it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

