Short Story Excerpt |”For One Thousand Gold Coins I Will Tell You My Story…”

Another excerpt from my short story, Wildflowers for Starry Eyes.ย This excerpt follows after (though not directly after) the previous one.

It goes like this:

For one thousand gold coins I will tell you my story, he says to her. His voice is quiet, divine, unused.

Surely he must be joking. She is a child and she is certain that there are no more gold coins to be had. Monica tells him so.

Then for one thousand eye lashes, one thousand dreams, or one thousand wishes, I will tell you my story, he says. His hand hovers between them like a shard of glass.

Monica tells him that she cannot give him her lashes because she would look strange without them, and that she does not have one thousand dreams to give, and that her wishes are hers and hers alone.

Give me one thousand of whatever you may find in this world and I will give you my story, he says to her. His silver, almond shaped eyes shimmer like polished metal as an innate beam of light dances across his irises.”


I might post the story in its entirety on my blog by the end of this month, though I’m not completely sure just yet! If I do post the story, it won’t be the final draft. There’s still some things I’d like to fix, but for now, I’ll keep sharing a few snippets here and there!

6 thoughts on “Short Story Excerpt |”For One Thousand Gold Coins I Will Tell You My Story…”

  1. Another great excerpt Azia, I’d really love to see this story in it’s entirety if you do decide to post it in full on your blog. I’m already interested in discovering more about the circus you’ve created and the characters within it as well. ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

