Pride Month | TBR of the Week

Lately, I’ve been trying to read more diverse books and to expand my reading horizons, but I’ve realized I haven’t read many books to represent this very special month.

TBR of the Week (Pride)

So I’m exchanging my previous weekly TBR of Scythe, Fangirl, and Falling Kingdoms for a week of LGBTQ+ reads. I managed to find a few at my local library, one of which I was dying to read ever since I saw it’s gorgeous cover.


Just Finished

23272028

Initial Thoughts: Fast-paced. Humorous. Well-executed mystery and thriller. Great chemistry between Holmes and Watson. Love that the stories of Watson and Sherlock Holmes were made to be real occurrences, although it’s never really explained. So, alternate universe? And why can’t a guy and girl just be in a platonic relationship? Why does it always have to morph into romance? All in all, a pretty entertaining read. Probably 3.5 stars.


Up Next

28243032

We Are Okay | Nina LaCour

I’ve heard so many wonderful things about this book and the reviews for it are mostly positive. I’m in love with the cover and the premise sounds like it’ll be a “quiet” book, and I’m okay with that! Also, this would be my first F/F book! So that’s really exciting.

30279514

Dreadnought | April Daniels

A superhero book? Count me in! Besides my love for reading, I have an insane love for comic book movies and TV series. So this sounds wonderful. Also, this would be my first look at a transgender protagonist! I’d love to see how the author goes about it. I’ve heard many good things about this one, so hopefully I enjoy it as well.

25164304

Of Fire and Stars | Audrey Coulthurst

I’ve read multiple mixed reviews on this one, and while I worry about the things they’ve pointed out (lackluster world-building, problematic characters, simplified plot), I’m still willing to read it, if only to make my own opinion. I love fantasy, and the promise of an LGBTQ+ romance set in a fantastical world appeals to me. I’ll go in with lowered expectations, but hopefully it doesn’t disappoint too much.


Bonus

12000020

I wanted to add this one to my list but it’s been checked out at the library. I’m hoping I can get my hands on it later this week or even the next. If I can’t get it before the end of this month, then I’ll just wait for The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue for more LGBTQ+ representation. Or I’ll just spend money I don’t have and buy it instead!


That’s it for now. What do y’all think of my list? Have you read any of these? What’s on your reading list for this week/month?

Thanks for stopping by! See ya soon ❤

12 thoughts on “Pride Month | TBR of the Week

  1. Oh these all seem like great books Azia, I’ve only read Aristotle and Dante myself but oh I thought that was an amazing read. I really hope you enjoy it, and all the others you have on your list for this week. I have both We Are Okay and Of Fire and Stars on my to-read list so I’ll definitely be interested in seeing what you think of those two. It goes without saying I hope you enjoy them as well! 🙂
    This is a lot of books for one week, I’d love to be able to read that fast and before this post I did think I was a fast reader! Happy reading. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aristotle and Dante sounds fabulous! I really hope I can get my hands on it soon 😀 I just finished We Are Okay and it was fabulous. So deeply real and heartbreaking. Though it was slow, I loved every second of it. I think you might love it, too! At least, I hope you do 😀
      All these books are pretty short, so it’s not too much! We’ll see if I actually manage to finish them all. I get distracted easily lol. Thank you, my friend! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh I am so glad to hear you loved that book Azia, I really really need to get around to some of Nina LaCour’s books soon. I have a feeling I’ll love them as much as you did this one. 🙂
        Well I’ll keep my fingers crossed you do manage to get through all of them then! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. This is my first book I’ve read by her, and so I’m thinking I need to read more of her books, too! Can’t wait to see your thoughts on We Are Okay 🙂
        Thanks! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Isn’t it gorgeous? And I’ve finished both We Are Okay (which was slow but poignant and thought-provoking) and Dreadnought (which was fast-paced, action-packed, and heartfelt). I definitely recommend both!
      Thank you! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

