Short Story Excerpt | “The Performance Begins…”

As promised, here is another excerpt from my work in progress, Wildflowers for Starry Eyes. You can see a bit more of the circus in this one πŸ˜‰

And so it goes:

“It is as she imagined. A staging arena surrounded by rows upon rows of stadium seating. The arena is empty save for a net and wire suspended above the earthen ground. Monica had hoped the black and white theme was solely for the exterior, but the two dull colors remain inside as well, kissing every surface of the walls, seating, and even the equipment, which seem to shimmer in-between realms of grey and jet black. Even so, Monica’s hopes aren’t completely dashed as she and her parents take their seats among the buzzing crowd. The performance begins…

The show glistens and sparkles with flame and shadow, sucking the audience into a web of thunder-clap roars and amazement. And as the performance spins on, Monica learns she does not like the sight of clowns up close and that candied apples taste like spun sugar and cinnamon.”


Thoughts? I’d love to hear from you!

Thanks for stopping by! ❀

13 thoughts on “Short Story Excerpt | “The Performance Begins…”

  1. Ohh, I’m definitely intrigued by this little snippet Azia. I love books that are set in circuses, it seems like there are never many around and as one of my favourite books is set in a circus I’m always left wanting more!
    I love what you’ve written so far and if you wanna post more I’ll be eagerly awaiting the next snippet! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! I thought the circus theme might appeal to you πŸ˜‰ I just thought it was time I finally try out my own little circus story and see where it went.
      Thanks so much! I’ll be posting a couple more excerpts for the rest of this month and then quite possibly post the while story on my website by the end of the month πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It really does. There needs to be more books featuring circus in them! πŸ˜€ Well considering you love The Night Circus as much as I do you’ve got to be the perfect person to write a circus-set story.
        Ohh, in that case I’ll be on the look out for all of that! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s here! I have been waiting to read another snippet. XD Now, here are some opinions: I love how descriptive the text is. It helps in worldbuilding and I can picture the circus much easily in my mind. πŸ˜€
    There is a hiccup in the portion where candied apples are mentions after the clowns. I don’t know but it feels weird when I read it. Initially, it was mentioned that the performance started and then Monica doesn’t like the clowns up close. That was fine as it is linked to the performance. But, then the candied apple popped up and there isn’t really a link between the performance and candied apple that Monica was having? :/
    Hmm… Feel free to correct me if you feel otherwise. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for sharing your thoughts! ❀ And in response to the candied apple part, the second paragraph is mostly referring to something that was mentioned prior to the events detailed in this excerpt, a part I haven’t shared yet πŸ™‚ That’s where both the clown and candied apple come from! I also skipped a paragraph between the two shown. The excerpts I share aren’t in any particular order, so some details may not seem connected :/ I’m just kind of haphazardly sharing my favorite parts!
      Thanks for pointing that out though! I can see how that jump might have seemed really odd and irrelevant πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Np. But I will have to read the entire paragraph or story to tell whether it is still odd or irrelevant. I hope to be able to read your story in the future! πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

