Short Story Excerpt | “I Fell in Love With the Fall Once…”

For those of you who’ve stayed with me a while (and have seen my grad cap), you know that I am slightly obsessed with The Night Circus. So, here is an excerpt from my new work in progress, Wildflowers for Starry Eyes, a short story I wrote during university this past semester. Even though this excerpt doesn’t showcase the circus aspect, I’d like to think my little story is somewhat of an ode to one of my favorite books of all time.

This is one of my favorite passages:

I fell in love with the Fall once, he says. His eyes are transfixed to the metal flooring beneath him and his fingers move deftly as he knots the stems of the wildflowers into his hair.

She had hair as bright and ravishing as fire and her lips were painted the darkest maroon, he says. Her skin pale. Her eyes, a startling shade of orange. She smelled of spice and freshly turned earth. I found her near the edge of the world, for we believed the Earth was flat back then. Her home was a silent island of eternal autumn. The soft winds that blew through the crumbling leaves were soundless and waters that tumbled over the rocks could not babble and crow. She did not speak but I fell in love with the way she moved. Like a feather drifting. In return, she fell in love with my graceful hands and unnatural eyes. We were, both of us, inexplicable.


Thoughts? I’d love to hear from you!

Thanks for stopping by! ❤

6 thoughts on “Short Story Excerpt | “I Fell in Love With the Fall Once…”

    1. Thanks so much, Melissa! 😀 ❤ I'm so happy you liked it. It's one of my favorite short stories I've ever written. And I'll be posting a few more excerpts from it later this week and the next!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

