My Favorite Movies to Watch During the Summer

I was inspired by Top 5 Wednesday’s summer reads theme to do this post! I thought it’d be fun to share some of my favorite summer movies with you!

I don’t have any other reason as to why I prefer to watch these movies during the summer, other than the fact that I’ve watched them multiple times, and during summer, I have all the time in the world to rewatch them over and over and over again.

Here are my top 15 favorite movies to watch during the summer:


The Mummy

the_mummy

This is probably my favorite movie. I’ve watched it so many times that I remember scenes exactly as they happen and I remember lines word for word…..It’s not even that good but it’s just so unapologetically cheesy and charming!


The Proposal 

Style: "9142_LA_Disney_The_Proposal_Light_Test_01"

No lie, I think this is my favorite Sandra Bullock movie and possibly my favorite romcom of all time. It’s just so sweet and funny. Betty White is basically the cherry on top for this one.


Howl’s Moving Castle

howls-moving-castleposter

Besides Spirited Away, Howl’s Moving Castle is easily my favorite Miyazaki movie. Despite it’s considerable length, I can watch this movie more than once within a week. It’s just that good. And it’s positive vibes make for a perfect summer movie!


10 Things I Hate About You

10_things_i_hate_about_you_film

Ugh, I love this movie so much. It’s just so sickeningly cute and funny. Young Heath Ledger and his performance of “Can’t Take My Eyes Off You” straight up stole my heart. Rom-coms like this early 2000s gem always make for a great summer flick.


Spanglish

spanglish_poster

I feel as if not many people know of this movie, which is a shame because I think it’s Adam Sandler’s best performance. The message is powerful and the acting by all members in the cast is surprisingly good. And it’s set in Malibu!


The Avengers

theavengers2012poster

What better way to celebrate your summer than to watch one of the best, if not THE best, superhero movie of all time? The Avengers is pure entertainment. A perfect addition to any summer watchlist.


Miss Congeniality

miss_congeniality_poster

Before The Proposal, Miss Congeniality was my favorite Sandra Bullock movie. I’ve watched it so many times throughout the years. I won’t hesitate to watch it whenever it comes on TV, even if I’ve just seen it, and thankfully, TV channels love to put this one on their summer programming!


The Fifth Element

fifth_element_poster_28199729

Just like The Avengers, The Fifth Element is pure, unadulterated fun and entertainment. I can watch this comedic sci-fi action adventure film all day, every day.


Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl

pirates_of_the_caribbean_-_the_curse_of_the_black_pearl

The movie that started my pirate craze. Without this gem, I don’t know where I’d be. Summer and pirates? What better combo is there?


The Princess Diaries

princess_diaries_ver1

My guilty pleasure. Not sure how many times I’ve watched this movie but I’d watch it again in a heartbeat. A cute and fluffy movie with Anne Hathaway. Need I say more?


Aquamarine

aquamarine_28poster29

Not the best movie out there but I don’t care because mermaids.


Two Weeks Notice

two_weeks_notice_ver2

Hm….I never realized how many Sandra Bullock movies I love to watch during the summer….Not her best rom-com, but still pretty charming!


American Pie

american_pie1

Okay, I don’t particularly like this film. I just end up watching it only during the summer because it seems that is the only time this movie shows up anywhere on TV. Even though it’s raunchy, I can’t deny it’s funny and a staple of college themed movies!


The Emperor’s New Groove

open-uri20150422-12561-lxwsqg_513005ba1

Which movie do you reach for when you need a good laugh? This one. This one right here. Possibly Disney’s funniest movie, Emperor’s New Groove never gets old with it’s witty jokes and abundant well of satire. Love, love, love this movie so much.


 

The Parent Trap

parenttrapposter

This movie never gets old. It will always be one of my favorites from my childhood. This is an oldie but goodie, and perfect for a day when you want something light and relaxing to watch!


So that’s some of my favorite movies to watch during the summer! What’d you think of my list? Are any of these your favorites, too? Let me know! I’d love to chat about them πŸ˜€

Thanks for stopping by and I’ll see ya soon! ❀

46 thoughts on “My Favorite Movies to Watch During the Summer

  1. I haven’t seen many of these movies, but the first one you picked is my all-time favourite movie as well! And I could probably quote most of it too. There’s something about it that keeps me watching over and over again, no matter how cheesy it may be.
    The Parent Trap and The Emperor’s New Groove are childhood favourites of mine. I have so many memories of watching these films over and over again with my sister. Especially The Emperor’s New Groove, that always made us laugh so so much.
    And yes to the Avengers, that is a perfect summer blockbuster. I’m definitely going to have to watch that again this summer, along with the rest of the MCU films.
    Great picks for this topic Azia! πŸ˜€ ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yaaaay!! Isn’t The Mummy amazing? I freaking love everything about it. I think I’m in the mood to watch it sometime this week actually lol.
      The Parent Trap and the Emperor’s New Groove are always great picks to bring a smile to your face, especially Emperor’s. That movie is plain hilarious.
      And amen to that. MCU movies are always fantastic go-to movies!
      Thanks, Beth! πŸ˜€ ❀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It really really is. I haven’t watched it in a while but I will be putting my DVD in again soon. πŸ™‚
        They really really are. Your post has actually made me want to go back and watch all these films all over again. And I may have to this weekend! πŸ˜€
        That’s all right. ❀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. My post did that to me too! LOL, I’ve had the urge to watch not just The Mummy (haven’t seen it in a while, too) but also The Proposal all day. I think I might finally give in tonight lol πŸ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Howl’s Moving Castle is just so charming and the characters even more so. And of course! The Cat Returns, My Neighbor Totoro, Spirited Away, Kiki’s Delivery Service, Ponyo, and Tales from Earthsea. I’m working on watching Miyazaki’s older films like Princess Mononoke, Castle in the Sky, and Nausicaa πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I haven’t seen Ponyo since it first came out. And how was Earthsea? I’ve heard some…not so positive things about it. πŸ˜… Castle in the Sky is one of my favorites! Princess Mononoke was good, but it just had some storytelling problems hat bugged me (it was supposed to be neutral on nature vs. man, but clearly favored one side over the other). Nausicaa was pretty darn good though; it’s actually based off the manga series Miyazaki created!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I haven’t seen Ponyo since it first came out too lol. But I’m pretty sure I still like it πŸ™‚ And Earthsea was…not the best…It’s pretty skipable tbh πŸ˜… I hear Castle in the Sky was pretty fantastic. Glad you liked it! And I didn’t know Mononoke was supposed to be neutral. I thought it was supposed to be about respecting nature πŸ˜‚ And I didn”t know that about Nausicaa! Definitely gotta check it out πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Ah, that’s basically what I heard about Earthsea. Castle in the Sky is like the perfect blend of what makes Ghibli, Ghibli! It has the perfect balance of beautiful animation, adventure, awesome characters, and magic. Well, Mononoke was supposed to be about nature and humanity coexisting (the main character was supportive of both) but their was some obvious bias. Both the leaders of nature and humanity were equally good and bad, honestly. But one was portrayed better than the other. And the manga for Nausicaa (from what I’ve read) is awesome!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I’ll try to watch Castle in the Sky first! It sounds lovely πŸ˜€ Hm, I’ll watch out for that in Princess Mononoke. I’ve only watched the first scene and that was already kinda dark/weird LOL. But I’ll try to get to it this summer! And I don’t read much manga but I’ll definitely make an effort to read something adapted by Ghibli!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I agreed with a lot of the movies on your list! I watched the Parent Trap, The Avengers, and The Emperor’s New Grove a lot during the summer! I also recently got Howl’s Moving Castle and Spirited away for my birthday, and I want to watch those during the summer as well (I’ve only ever seen Ponyo, I want to remedy that.) I sometimes watch the Lego Movie as my summer favorite, it’s so cute! (I haven’t seen the Batman one yet either, I have so much I need to see.) Overall, great list!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh wow, you’ve only seen Ponyo?! My goodness, if you like that one, then you’ll love Spirited Away and Howl’s Moving Castle. Both are fantastic and two of his best πŸ˜€ I freaking love the Lego movie. That’s a great summer pick too! The Batman one is great (not as good as the first IMO but still pretty entertaining). Hope you like it once you get around to it πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahh I haven’t watched all of these but there are so many I love as well! The Parent Trap, The Princess Diaries are so fun haha. And yess for Avengers! And oh, I remember watching Aquamarine a few times as well! There should be more movies with mermaids. πŸ™ˆ Loved this post, Azia, I feel like watching all these movies now haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I highly recommend them all! There should absolutely be more mermaid movies. They’re just so cool! πŸ˜€ Thank you! And I do too, tbh. Think I might be watching The Proposal soon πŸ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! πŸ™‚ I like the original too but grew up with the remake so I’m slightly (extremely) biased towards it πŸ˜‚ I think it’s just so charming! And Howl’s Moving Castle is wonderful!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. The Parent Trap, Princess Diaries, and Howl’s Moving Castle!! Especially Howl’s Moving Castle! I’ve been wanting to watch that one so bad lately. I went on Amazon to see if they had it to rent but for some weird reason they don’t have any of his movies. Not Spirited Away either, which is my favorite. Great list, Azia!! πŸ˜ƒ

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! Another Howl’s Moving Castle fan. Isn’t it just the greatest? I can watch that one over and over and over again. And nope, Ghibli is kind of like Disney. Very hard to find in most online stores/places to rent. Thanks, Melissa! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It really is! I borrowed a friend’s DVD of it once and had it on repeat for a week because I couldn’t stop watching it. Honestly, I feel like Ghibli is even more elusive than Disney because at least with Disney some are on Netflix and some are on Amazon. With Ghibli they’re on neither and it makes me sad. You’re welcome, Azia!! 😁

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It’s definitely a rewatch type of movie. And it really is elusive. I found my copies of Howl’s Moving Castle and Spirited Away in some random Japanese themed store in the mall. But I’m sure you can buy a couple of Miyazaki’s movies on Amazon now!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. LOL, yeah I get you! Although, I’d like to own Miyazaki’s movies so that I can always be sure they’re available to me. Unfortunately, I only have two (well, technically four) of his movies: Spirited Away, Howl’s Moving Castle, The Cat Returns, and some other movie I never watched but have LOL

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I love all of these, honestly! I don’t care how cheesy they are… guilty pleasure galore for all! XD
    Sandra Bullock is awesome and I can never get enough of her. Especially if there’s Ryan Reynolds involved. Betty White was also the purest thing ever.
    Epic list, Azia! ^^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YAAAAS to guilty pleasures. Cheesy films are honestly just the best haha. Sandra is definitely a favorite and Ryan Reynolds (my god). Betty White is too good for this world haha. Thanks so much, Sophie! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I watched Speed the other day and was soooo shipping her with Keanu Reeves. Like, really hard. It’s such a great love story! Without actually being a love story. Which I adore ❀
        She was so young and adorable back then, but I love how you could also glimpse a fierceness to her. Nowadays she's epicly badass, no doubt.
        And Ryan Reynolds… Sigh, he's the cutest cinnamon roll haha

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh my god I LOVE that movie. It’s one of my favorite thrillers. And Keanu Reeves is just so cute. They would have made a great couple I think!
        Yeah, she’s definitely changed but in a great way. And Ryan Reynolds is just the best. I love him no matter what type of movie he’s in. Deadpool is officially my favorite Ryan Reynolds movie. The Proposal is close behind haha

        Liked by 1 person

      3. He’s adorable! Hahaha and seems like he hasn’t aged a day!
        Definitely, Sandra is awesome. Ryan too. So, perfect recipe XD Deadpool is definitely on my top 5 movies of all time. It’s just so different from your usual superhero movie, and doesn’t take itself seriously. A masterpiece!
        I really loved The Proposal, but yeah, Deadpool ftw ❀ πŸ˜›

        Liked by 1 person

      4. He really hasn’t! In fact, I feel like he keeps getting better and better with age haha
        I love a good anti-hero and Deadpool is the epitome of it πŸ˜€ Fantastic direction, awesome action, and amazing comedy. It’s such a blast of a movie ❀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

