Book Review Time: Daughter of the Pirate King | Tricia Levenseller

33643994

My Rating: ⭐  ⭐  ⭐  ⭐

Book Details

Hardcover: 320 pages

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Publication Date: February 28, 2017

Goodreads Synopsis

Sent on a mission to retrieve an ancient hidden map—the key to a legendary treasure trove—seventeen-year-old pirate captain Alosa deliberately allows herself to be captured by her enemies, giving her the perfect opportunity to search their ship.

More than a match for the ruthless pirate crew, Alosa has only one thing standing between her and the map: her captor, the unexpectedly clever and unfairly attractive first mate, Riden. But not to worry, for Alosa has a few tricks up her sleeve, and no lone pirate can stop the Daughter of the Pirate King.”


Review

“Oh, the ridiculous things one has to do when one is a pirate.”

If I were being honest, my rating for this one actually falls vaguely between 3.5 and 4 stars. Weird, right? Okay, give me a sec to explain.

This book is fun. Loads of fun. I mean, who doesn’t enjoy pirates? I’ve loved the concept of pirates ever since Pirates of the Caribbean. For me, pirates is immediately associated with the feel of adventure, the feel for the unknown, and the opportunity to discover something new, something forbidden, and maybe even something gold. I’m so in love with pirates that when A Gathering of Shadows introduced a pirate subplot with Lila, I was over the moon, even after pirating proved to be a secondary element to the story as a whole.

So you best believe I was ecstatic to pick up Daughter of the Pirate King, an entire book dedicated to pirates and adventure and treasure. And while I enjoyed the book for what it was, I’m not sure I received all that I was looking for.

The characters are, by far, the most entertaining part of the story. Alosa is cunning, deadly, sarcastic, stealthy, and simply a force to be reckoned with. She doesn’t mind killing those who obstruct her path and she uses all the resources available to her in order to get ahead of her enemies. Or so she thinks.

“I am me because I choose to be me. I am what I want. Some people say you have to find yourself. Not I. I believe we create ourselves to be what we want.”

Alosa’s love interest, Riden, is charming and intelligent and has a great sense of humor like all the other characters in the book. However, I don’t think I was entirely sold on the budding romance between him and Alosa. They had witty rapport that elicited more than a few smiles and chuckles from me, but that was just about it. By the end, I felt as if they would have made better platonic friends than potential lovers.

As for the story itself, I felt it could have been more expansive. When I think of pirates, I think of endless oceans, uncharted islands, and multiple encounters with various cultures and peoples. I see a big wide world, yet this story felt very contained as most of the action took place on a ship. In other words, the world-building could have used a boost. I wasn’t able to get a clear picture of the world beyond that ship and when the characters found themselves on land, in a seaside town, there was not much said about the way the houses were built, the way the town smelled, how the people looked, and so on. There was no lore or history associated with the town or any other place for that matter, and this capacity, the story was severely lacking.

And while I loved Alosa, I was not much a fan of the twist. The author did well dropping very subtle hints here and there about Alosa’s true nature, but when it was officially revealed I could not help but feel a bit disappointed. Alosa was far more interesting to me when she was simply a formidable pirate who relied solely on skill and wit to succeed. But after the big reveal, she became something more and a little less at the same time.

By all accounts, I’m a fan of this book, mostly for its pirate storyline. And I’m a fan of the characters. However, I’m hoping for more of an adventure in the next book, one that involves a lot more exploring and sailing of the seven seas. I’d like to see more of the world the author’s created, and hopefully the treasure hunt will feel more like a hunt than a happenstance.

All in all, this is a good book with tons of potential. I’m really looking forward to the next book, just to see what shenanigans Alosa and her crew, as well as Riden, will get up to!

23 thoughts on “Book Review Time: Daughter of the Pirate King | Tricia Levenseller

  1. Wonderful review Azia! you have given me another perspective that has me re-thinking a few thinks such as the world building. I really enjoyed these characters & book as a whole for the laughter it got out of me. I guess at the time I was also in search of something a bit more light hearted & this fit the bill. I’m also hoping for more in the next book *fingers crossed* since it is a duology, I’m hoping for a strong wrap-up 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Lily! This is definitely a wonderfully light-hearted read and is worth picking up. Despite my issues with it, I really enjoyed it, and I’m glad most people did, too! I didn’t know it was only going to be a duology, though! That kind of makes me sad. Hoping for a strong wrap-up, as well! 😀

      Like

  2. Great review for this book Azia, I’ve seen a lot of this one around lately so I do want to pick it up one day myself, just got to try and get around to it in the midst of the many other books I have on my to-read list! 😀
    I’m sorry the world-building and the adventure in this book wasn’t as good as you’d hoped, to be honest that would likely be a flaw for me because in books like these world-building is something I always find to be really important you know? But I’m glad you enjoyed the characters, and a book about pirates is certainly a change as well! 😀
    Again great review. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Beth! Oh I know right!? I feel lucky to have gotten around to this one this year lol. My TBR list is a mess haha.
      And yeah, world-building is essential in most fantasy books and for this one, I thought it would be especially beneficial to have strong world-building so that we could really imagine ourselves sailing and treasure-hunting with pirates 😉 But I have faith the next book will be stronger. The characters are already pretty fantastic 🙂
      Hope you like this one too, once you get around to it! Thanks again, Beth! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right, and yeah my TBR list is the same. Sometimes I doubt I’ll get around to half the books on it! 😀
        At least you have hope for the next book, so it can’t be that bad in this one, but yeah I agree with what you said, it would have been better to have that strong world building in this one as well.
        Thanks Azia, I hope so too! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m so behind on my list it’s ridiculous. I have to do a Down the TBR list to make sure I get all the old ones off there haha
        Fingers crossed! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Great review, Azia! I’ve been seeing this book everywhere lately and it seemed really interesting, but now I understand that maybe I won’t lose that much if I don’t read it 😛
    I’m glad you liked it, tho!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Marta! And even though it has its flaws, it’s still a nice, light-hearted read that will keep you entertained. I’d recommend it to anyone 😉 I hope you end up liking this one, too, if you ever get around to picking it up!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve heard a lot of good things about this one so it’s nice to see a review that has more mixed feelings towards it. It sucks that it left something to be desired in the world-building. Like you, I would have expected so much more from the time they were on land. I’ve not read a lot of pirate books, if any aside from the elements from the Shades of Magic books actually, but I want to so bad after SOM and Lila. And in that series whenever they stop somewhere you get a real feel for the places they’re at, it felt like an adventure. Either way, the characters sound incredible and I’ll definitely have to read this at some point just for that fact and the pirate aspect. Great review as always, Azia!! 😁♥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was kind of sad that I had mixed feelings about it, but I’m glad I noticed an aspect of the story that wasn’t sitting right with me. I expected so much more with world-building for this type of story (I’ve been spoiled by Assassin’s Creed: Black Flag) but never really received it. I’m hoping it gets better in the second book. I’d love to see more pirate books in YA. I think this is the first one that I’ve read, besides the SOM series, too! I hope you end up enjoying this one once you get around to it. The characters are definitely worth it 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It always sucks whenever your expecting something from a book and then it doesn’t deliver. (And I feel that way about TBS and SOM, both have such great world-building that when another fantasy novel doesn’t give me that I always feel a little let down lol) Here’s to hoping! 😁

        Liked by 1 person

      2. True, true. But at least it helps us to pinpoint what does and does not work in a story. It’s a learning curve for both authors and bloggers I feel when books don’t quite meet expectations haha. And yeah, I think our standards have been raised tenfold by books like SOM and ACOMAF.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Fantastic review! I’m glad you enjoyed it overall. Now looking back on it, I can see a lot of your points. They do make a lot of sense. I accidentally spoiled myself on the twist, so it just kind of was a part of the novel for me? But I do agree about what you said about the twist had I read it like I was supposed to. XD But I SUPER AGREE ABOUT ALOSA. Loved her. Wonderful review!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much! I was a bit disappointed that I didn’t like that twist, but now that I’m aware of it, I might like the second one a bit more! So looking forward to it. And YES. Alosa is queen. Loved her to pieces haha. 😀 Thanks again!

      Like

  6. I absolutely agree when you say this needed to expand more… While I had a lot of fun with Alosa and Riden aboard the ship, I was hoping they would go on some adventures eventually. The second book will definitely feature those, though, so I’m hopeful 🙂
    I actually loved their romance BECAUSE of their companionship. I thought they were so cute and sweet together, and the way Riden trusted her to be independent and take care of herself without treating her like a damnsel in distress was the absolute cherry on top.
    I figured out the twist pretty early on so was pretty much used to it by the time it was revealed. Thus, it didn’t really affect me.
    Some things felt off here and there but, again, it was such an entertaining story that I could not find much fault in them.
    Awesome review, Azia! Crossing my fingers for the next installment to be even better 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Really excited for that second book. I’m positive it will be more expansive. It just has to be haha.
      I appreciated their companionship and I think at this point I would like more platonic relationships represented in books more than romance. But that’s a personal preference right now lol. I thought they’d make really great friends! But I admit they’d be a pretty cute couple, too. I’m interested to see how their relationship grows in the next one.
      I had already guessed at the twist. I think I was just disappointed it turned out to be true lol
      Even with these issues, I still really liked the book. Can’t wait for the next one!!
      Thanks so much, Sophie ❤ 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

