Flash Reviews: Anna and the French Kiss & The Midnight Star

17453983

My Rating: ⭐  ⭐  ⭐  ⭐

Book Details

Paperback: 400 pages

Publisher: Speak

Publication Date: August 4, 2011

Goodreads Synopsis

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris–until she meets Étienne St. Clair. Smart, charming, beautiful, Étienne has it all…including a serious girlfriend.

But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true. Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss?

Review

Anna and the French Kiss is the type of cute and fluffy read that catches and holds your attention from beginning to end. I started this book over my spring break and I had hoped I’d just casually flip through it during the week. But nope! I finished it within a night because it’s just that good. Despite the unnecessary levels of drama (why do girls always have to pick on one another in these types of books?) and angst (you know you guys can just talk it out, right?), the characters keep this story from grinding on your nerves.

Anna is a relatable teenage girl with a charming interest in film and St. Clair is a British American student whose charisma and kindness would make any person, real or fictional, fall in love with him. And together, they make the sweetest pair. This book is filled to the brim with humor and romance, and the Parisian setting will fill you with a grand sense of wanderlust. If you’re looking for a breezy and romantic summer read, this is definitely the one for you.


 

28588345

My Rating: ⭐  ⭐  ⭐  ⭐

Book Details

Series: A Young Elites Novel (Book 3)

Hardcover: 336 pages

Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

Publication Date: October 11, 2016

Goodreads Synopsis

Adelina Amouteru is done suffering. She’s turned her back on those who have betrayed her and achieved the ultimate revenge: victory. Her reign as the White Wolf has been a triumphant one, but with each conquest her cruelty only grows. The darkness within her has begun to spiral out of control, threatening to destroy all she’s gained.

When a new danger appears, Adelina’s forced to revisit old wounds, putting not only herself at risk, but every Elite. In order to preserve her empire, Adelina and her Roses must join the Daggers on a perilous quest—though this uneasy alliance may prove to be the real danger.”

Review

The Midnight Star, despite its flaws, is a powerful conclusion to the Young Elites series. Magiano and Adelina’s romance is, by far, the highlight of this book. Their connection is subtle and sweet in its sincerity. And even though they are complex characters whose motivations and actions are questionable in consideration to right and wrong, their love for one another is pure goodness. Marie Lu strongly portrays Adelina’s struggle with her dark thoughts and abilities, and in the long run, her conflicting emotions and desires carry the story along. Also, Adelina’s dysfunctional relationship with her sister proves to be a constant well of reflection and poignancy.

The writing is strong but some characters seemed to have lost their effectiveness. Characters such as Rafaelle and Teren become bored in their roles and by the end, it appears that both their reasons for being included in the story have expired. I loved the bittersweet ending, though I’d have to say it was a bit rushed. Truthfully, I thought this book could have been a bit longer. Some deaths happened far too quickly and in some cases, I just didn’t care enough, only because I wasn’t given much time to. Besides those little things, I really enjoyed the final book to this trilogy!

17 thoughts on “Flash Reviews: Anna and the French Kiss & The Midnight Star

  1. Great review for these books Azia, though I skimmed through the one for The Midnight Star because that’s a series I still need to get around to and given I haven’t read the first book even I don’t want to risk any spoilers for the first two books!
    Still I’m glad to see you enjoyed both books. I agree pretty much 100% with your review for Anna and the French Kiss, it was a quick, cute and fluffy read though the girl hate annoyed me a little and the angst got on my nerves towards the end as well. One day I live in hope of there being a YA contemporary romance where there is healthy communication between the characters! 🙂
    Again great reviews. 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Beth! ❤ I really hope you get to the Young Elites series soon! It’s a good one 😉 And I live for that day when that type of YA contemporary comes about lol. Girl hate and angst don’t always need to be included in a romance for gods sakes lol

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right! 😀 ❤ Yeah it's certainly something to aim for. Sometime this year I want to try and re-read the Legend series and get started on this one because it sounds amazing.
        No they really don't, but sometimes you just see a lot of it in books! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Great reviews! Anna and the French Kiss is one of the cutest books I’ve read! I’m glad you liked Midnight Star! I started it a couple of weeks ago but I realized I forgot most of what happened in the previous two books and I didn’t care enough to continue. I’m going to try again soon. Most of the reviews I read were complaining about the rushed ending and the short length too 😀 . I hate it when series conclusions are too short.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! And Anna really is. I can’t wait to read the other ones in the series 🙂 Well, I hope you .an age to finish out the trilogy soon! The length and pacing are a bit bothersome but it ended well enough!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I couldn’t look at the second review because I’ve yet to read that series but YAY for your Anna and the French Kiss review! I remember we talked about that one after you read it. I’m so glad you ended up enjoying it. However, completely agree with the levels of drama. That book definitely has some drama in it lol. Still, the perfect cute and fast contemporary whenever you need one. Have you read the other two in the trilogy? Great review as always, Azia! 😊♥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope you get to the Young Elites soon. It’s a very interesting read 😀 And yes, I love Anna! So much drama, but so much cuteness too lol. And I plan on getting to the other two this summer! Thanks, Melissa 💕

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve heard nothing but great things about both of these books, so I am so glad you enjoyed them as well! Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Glad to hear you enjoyed Anna and The French Kiss, it’s such a cute book, I agree! 🙂
    I haven’t read the Young Elites series but I’ve been thinking about adding it to my TBR lately…I guess you’d recommend it, given your rating? 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’d definitely recommend it! I wouldn’t say it’s the best trilogy out there, but it’s a somewhat unique in that we’re reading the story of a villainess 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

