April Wrap Up | My April Reads and Plans for May

All right, I didn’t post much this April. I mean, I think I published a grand total of 5 posts this month, only one of which was a review. But that’s all right, because I am returning full force this May. My classes are done, I have one more final (a ballroom final, so it’s just a dance party and a 2 pg paper), and then I graduate on May 12!

I’m sorry I haven’t dropped in and said hello in a while. I’ll try to stop by and see what you’ve guys been up to all of this week and the next!

But before that, how about we take a look at my April?


What I've Read

Strange the Dreamer | Laini Taylor | Review to Come

Initial Thoughts: Laini Taylor is a genius. Incredible world building. Memorable characters. Fantastic writing. An amazing adventure. Probably 4.5 stars.

Daughter of the Pirate King | Tricia Levenseller | Review to Come

Initial Thoughts: So much fun. Who doesn’t love pirates? Independent and witty heroine. Great humor. Interesting twist. Can’t wait for the next adventure. Probably 4 stars.

Carry On | Rainbow Rowell | Review to Come

Intitial Thoughts: An instant favorite. Loved this one to pieces. So funny. Angst, but enjoyable angst. Such a cute romance. Amazing characters. Probably 4.5 stars.


My Posts (1)

29939230

I’m about halfway through with this one and all I can say is that I love it. I love it. so. much. I like it even more than the second one. I can tell this is going to be a fantastic end to a fantastic trilogy.


My Posts

Since I’ve only managed five posts this month, I’ll share them all here again.

Monthly Wrap Up: January – March | My Reads and Reviews from January to March 2017

Down the TBR Hole | Books 61 – 65

My April TBR | How Many Books Can I Fit Into This Month?

Book Review Time: A Darker Shade of Magic | V.E. Schwab

Things I Wished I’d Known Going to My First Convention


Highlights1. Going to Wondercon for the first time and spending time with my friends and buying so many amazing items!

2. Completing an Alice in Wonderland themed project for my art class.

20170502_005709.jpg

3. Participating in the dance showcase for my ballroom class. We did a swing number and a tribute to Dirty Dancing!!! And it was so fun and amazing, and it turned out so much better than expected.

4. Visiting Knott’s Berry Farm with some of my sorority sisters. I hadn’t been there in a long while so it was great to see my favorite childhood theme park again.

Festival of Books.png

This is actually one of my highlights but since it’s my favorite event in April (and my favorite event, in general), I thought it deserved a category all its own. For those of you who don’t know, The Festival of Books is an annual festival that takes place on my campus (USC in LA) every year. It’s basically a bookworm’s dreams. And it’s the place where I spend most of my money because BOOKS!! BOOKS GALORE.

I set aside a lot of money for the festival weekend and I went a little crazy.

Book Haul

20170502_005511.jpg

On top of that amazing haul I bought a few more knick knacks and decorative bookish items for my shelves and walls. Aaaaaand, I also bought my first comic book!

20170502_014945.jpg

The one on the left is the one I purchased. The other came free with the purchase! I’m not really sure what Ninjak ( I mean, what a name) is really about, but the art is amazing and the guy at the stall really sold me on it.

Finally, I managed to attend an amazing panel with Victoria Aveyard, Marie Lu, Laini Taylor, AND Kiersten White. And of course, I got my books signed by all but Marie Lu (only because I forgot Midnight Star at home) *sad face*

20170502_020631 (1).jpg


All in all, I think April was a pretty fantastic month. There were many more events that I attended and I also found myself spending much more time with some of my close friends and sorority sisters. I had a wonderful time in my ballroom class, my art has improved immensely because of my art sessions, and I’ve still managed to save some room for reading.

I’m really looking forward to May!

Thanks for stopping by, you guys. Sorry for the long post. Just thought I should share some of the things I’ve been up to in my absence. Hope all is well with you and I’ll be seeing you soon! ❤

32 thoughts on “April Wrap Up | My April Reads and Plans for May

  1. Hey, Azia!
    I’ve heard a lot of great things about Strange the Dreamer but I’ve noticed some people thing the writing is kind of… slow, if that’s the word. I mean, she uses to many words just to say a few things and it becomes kind of tiring. Did you feel that? I’m kinda afraid to pick that up because of this.
    I wish my school cared that much about books! The Festival of Books looks amazing and all the books you bought are beautiful, it’s really hard to find hardcovers in Portugal.
    oH MY GOD, you met all those amazing writers, I WISH!
    I hope you have a nice day!
    Could you please check out my blog? I’m new and that would mean a lot to me!
    Byeeeee xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hm, I would actually have to agree with that. The writing itself was well-done but the pacing could have been a bit more accelerated. There was one dream segment in particular that took far too long to be completed. And in the long run, nothing of great importance took place during that sequence. So, that was a bit frustrating, but the story itself is unique and worth a chance to be read!
      Oh you live in Portugal? That’s wonderful 😀 I’d love to see what type of covers you have over there!
      You’ll get to meet them one day, don’t worry 😉
      Thank you, I hope you do too!
      And of course 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Strange the Dreamer was one of my April Reads too and I also rated it around 4-4.5/5 stars. It was so good.
    I downloaded Hunted onto my kindle too and I’m currently reading it alongside A Court of Wings and Ruin. I’m really enjoying it so far, not forgetting to mention that it is also fulfilling the literary quota of my Beauty and the Beast obsession at the moment.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed it as well!
      I can’t wait to start ACOWAR. I’ll start it after I finish ACOL. I’d love to see what you think of Hunted. I probably won’t get to that one until later this month or early the next.
      And gotta fill that quota haha. I’m so happy there’s so many Beauty and the Beast retellings being released these days!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I need to read A Conjuring of Light! I know I’ll love it because the trilogy is fantastic but I am having a hard time picking it up and concentrating on it.

        I’ve actually now finished Hunted and I really enjoyed it. I had a little bit of an issue with the quickness of the Beast’s transformation but even then, I think it might be one of my favourite retellings. I also have another Beauty and the Beast retelling on my kindle (Beauty by Robin McKinley) so I might read that one next! xx

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’ve just finished it actually and I can honestly say that it’s one of the best conclusions I’ve read in a trilogy. Just perfectly done. I hope you manage to pick it up soon. It’s definitely worth it! 😀
        And Hunted sounds promising despite that little hiccup. Hopefully I can get to it soon 😀 And I’ll have to check out that other title. Haven’t heard of it but I’m always up for a Beauty and the beast retelling 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I think it might be a read for next month. I’m on ACOWAR at the minute and I don’t want to be reading two really thick books back to back.

        Beauty is okay. It’s really short at just over 200 and something pages but I’m not enjoying it as much as I thought. I’m not a huge fan of the writing style and I don’t know whether to DNF it.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Thats understandable! Hope you’re enjoying ACOWAR so far. I’m thinking of starting it this weekend.
        Oh wow that is really short. And I’m sorry you’re not enjoying it. That’s always a bummer when books prove to be a letdown :/

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Ah yes, that’s always a good sign 😀 I was going to start it tonight but I’m thinking I should save it for tomorrow. I read ACOMAF in one sitting, so I know I’ll do the same for ACOWAR if it’s that good!

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Whether it’s an ACOTAR or TOG book, they always take me ages to read. I can never do it in one sitting. But with ACOWAR I had a lot of opportunities to sit down and read it so that probably helped. xx

        Liked by 1 person

      7. More time to read is always nice 🙂 Now that classes are done, I finally have the time to read now. Out of curiosity, why does it take you a while to read ACOTAR or ToG?

        Like

      8. I like them a lot but I don’t find them the easiest to read for a long period of time, so I have to be in the right mood and headspace to sit down with them. I think also because the worlds are so dense and there are a lot of different characters that they sometimes become overwhelming.

        Liked by 1 person

      9. Ahhh I get that. There ARE a lot of characters in her books and the politics can be pretty hard to follow. ACOWAR seems to be based on the political, so I find it a bit more dense than usual!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. They’re lovely, aren’t they!? Authors are so cool lol. And thank you! I hope to get many more in the future. So far, I’ve only gotten my books signed by those authors on the panel and Leigh Bardugo! Gotta go on more book tours…
      Thanks! I’m so excited to read them this summer. And I could only imagine haha. I bet all the covers would be beautiful though 😉

      Like

  3. It looks like you had a great month Azia. I’ve seen a lot of positive things about Daughter of the Pirate King so I’m looking forwards to getting around to that one myself, and I loved Strange the Dreamer and Carry On so I’m glad you enjoyed those two as well. ACOL is amazing, I can’t wait to see your review for that one! 😀
    Also amazing haul. Wondercon sounds like it was beyond amazing and I love the Alice in Wonderland print you did as well, it’s so gorgeous.
    I hope you have a great May Azia! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Can’t wait to see what you think of DOTPK. It was a really fun read, so I hope you enjoy it, too! It might be a while before I post a review for ACOL but just know that it gets all the stars haha. XD
      Thank you! I was so proud of my choices. Can’t wait to read them all. And thanks so much 😀 I hope you have a wonderful May, too! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Looks like you had an incredible reading month, Azia! As I always say, quality over quantity. (Mostly because I’m a slow reader and would rather read books I love than don’t any day even if it takes me forever to read them 😂) I really want to read Daughter of the Pirate King. I’ve been hearing great things about it. Also, I’m so jealous that you got to meet Laini Taylor! That’s incredible that there’s a book festival at your school. The only book festivals here are four+ hours away, which makes me sad because Laini was at one last year but I couldn’t go. Anyway! I hope May ends up being an incredible month for you. And early congrats on graduating!! 💕😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, definitely quality over quantity! 🙂 I’ve learned that’s the best way to go these days, especially now that there are so many amazing books coming out each month. I’m sure you’ll love DOTPK. It was a fun little adventure! And don’t be! You’ll meet her one day, I’m certain of it 😀 And hopefully you manage to get to a festival sometime soon! Wish you could come to the one here 😦 It’d be cool to meet you in person. And thank you! I’m sad my university career is coming to an end, but at least now I’ll have a bit more time to read! Hope your May turns out incredible as well ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Right? It seems like more and more incredible books are coming out each month. I swear there weren’t so many releases each month last year. Either that or I wasn’t paying as much attention as I am now. 😂 Hopefully! If we move I’ll be a little closer to one that’s happening at the end of this year *fingers crossed*. I wish I could go to the one there, maybe one day. It would definitely be awesome if we ever got to meet in person! 😁
        Very true about the plus side being more reading time.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I know right?! I can barely keep up now. And I just found out that I forgot to preorder both Flame in the Mist AND Lord of Shadows. I thought I had preordered them last year but nope! So, there’s that 😂 But honestly, I didnt pay attention to release dates until I started blogging last year. It’s exhausting trying to stay on top of these things haha.
        Well then I hope you make that move lol. And hopefully one day our paths cross 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Same! I actually have three copies of LoS preordered because of special editions. That’s another thing, too many special editions. I just need to read those extra stories. 🙈 I didn’t start paying attention until I started blogging either. Unless it was a book I was really excited for. And I almost never preordered books either lol. Blogging definitely changes out book buying habits. 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Oh my god, so many copies lol. O rarely buy special editions. Maybe o should treat myself to one! And I think blogging has kind of changed us for the better. It’s good to be supportive of our authors! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I haven’t been visiting WordPress a lot during the past weeks, and I’m missing so many posts 😦 I’m so glad you had a lovely month!! And you’re graduating tomorrow, what??? :O Congrats!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh don’t worry. Me too. I’d been so busy with university that I hardly had time to read anyone else’s posts. That’s going to change starting today lol. And yup!! I’m all graduated and ready to begin adulting full-time lol. Thanks, Marta! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

