Ramblings

Things I Wished I’d Known Going to My First Convention

Why hello, everyone! It’s been quite a while hasn’t it? I’ve been busy wrapping up my final semester of university and this week I have finals. But I thought I might drop in a little post to let you guys know I’m still alive and to share with you one of my favorite experiences of 2017 so far: Wondercon.

cci_wca_logo

In light of the LVL Up Expo celebrating its fifth year in Vegas, I thought to share a few tips and things I’d wished I’d known going to my first convention this year. If interested in possibly attending the LVL Up Expo in Vegas, check out some Las Vegas travel deals to help plan an affordable trip.

Let’s get started!


I'd Known (1)

$60 is Not Enough

Naive little Azia thought she would be going to the convention to have a good time with friends and to buy a few things here and there. Maybe just an art print and a little keychain, perhaps? No.

20170402_212026.jpg
My spoils from Wondercon

I didn’t know how easy it was to fall victim to the Artists Alley in Wondercon. There were so many goods that I wanted and even though I managed to pick and choose my purchases, I ended up spending about $40 more dollars than I had originally planned.

If you’re attending a convention that contains a variety of your interests, you’ll want to come away from the convention with some fantastic memorabilia. And that’s okay. But first ask yourself how much you’re actually willing to pay and how much you really need that item. Also, remember that you have to pay for food (and parking), both of which I forgot to factor into my original budget of $60. In sum, budget accordingly, my friends!

It’s Okay to Take a Photo With a Cosplayer

I don’t know why, but when I arrived at the convention I was afraid to bother the cosplayers as they were walking around, showing off their outfits. I thought there was an unspoken “look but don’t touch”/”take your picture from afar and move on” rule. But no! If I had worked up the courage to take a picture with some of the cosplayers, I could have gotten more pictures like this:

20170402_135733
A pic with Miguel and Tulio

It’s all right to compliment cosplayers. And it seems most cosplayers would be more than happy to take a picture with you. Always remember to ask first, though. I saw a few rude convention-goers walk right up to some cosplayers and snap a picture of them without asking. (Poor Darth Vader….) Like any other person,  be respectful.

There’s a Whole Convention to Explore

My friends and I made the mistake of staying on one side of the convention where all the art was being sold. Or so we thought…We had spent all our time in one section, albeit a very large section, and forgot to explore the other side of the convention. Towards the end of the day, we meandered over to the other side only to discover a variety of stalls we would have loved to purchase from.

giphy

By then, though, we were broke. I think it would have done us a world of good to research the convention beforehand to see which stalls would be present and to also walk around the entire the convention space so that we did’t miss so much of what was being shared with us that day!


I'd Known (2)

Bringing  My Own Water

Walking around a convention is tiring. You’re basically on your feet all day. Luckily, my friend reminded me to bring a refillable water bottle so that I wouldn’t have to pay for one at the convention and I could refill my own bottle at the fountains provided.  I managed to save money and to have water on me at all time. If the convention doesn’t allow you to bring your own water bottle, then just remember to buy some water and drink water throughout the day so that you stay hydrated and ready to go.

giphy1

Going With A Friend

I find most events are much more fun if you have a friend with you. I made the right choice in going to Wondercon with a group of friends I consider my sisters.

giphy3

We’ve decided to do all big events together and so it was nice having them with me as we milled around the convention stalls, fangirling over all our favorite fandoms.

Having Fun

I did a great job with this one. By going with my friends, embracing my geek tendencies, and immersing myself in the Wondercon culture, I was able to enjoy my first convention. I bought a large selection of art prints I’m proud to own and I have a new memory with my sisters to hold onto!

giphy4


So those are all the things I wished I’d known before going to my first convention! I’ll be much more prepared for my next convention (Anime Expo, maybe?) and hopefully my little mistakes will help you guys out if you ever choose to attend your first convention.

That’s all for now! Thanks for stopping by and see ya soon! ❤

17 thoughts on “Things I Wished I’d Known Going to My First Convention

  1. Great list! I went to SDCC (my first convention too) last year and I cannot agree more with the “whole convention to explore” point. My friend and I didn’t discover the book publisher booths until Day 2, so a full map exploration or walk through expedition is for sure worth your time at these things!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! SDCC is definitely a convention I’m working up to. I hope you had a wonderful time there! I feel I still have so much to learn before hitting the big one LOL. And I definitely agree. It was so easy to get sidetracked! I forgot they even provided maps for us haha. We’ll do much better next time 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh it was amazing! But it probably would have been a good idea to work our way up to that one like you plan to because as a first convention it felt a little like being thrown into the middle of the ocean for your first swimming lesson. Highly recommend though!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh that’s good! Glad you had an amazing time 😀 And that’s totally understandable. I think of it as the big league of conventions haha. But it’s definitely on my bucket list! I’m gunning for next year 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a great post Azia, and I definitely agree with all the points you made. When I went to YALC last year, and part of London Comic Con I made the “only exploring one part of the event” mistake, definitely a mistake I am learning from this year when I go. I will explore literally every part of the building I have access too. I also forgot to bring water with me, again not a mistake I’m going to make this year.
    It sounds like you had an amazing time, and yeah conventions can be expensive but so so worth it at the end of the day! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Beth! There’s just so much to see at a convention, it’s easy to get lost in one section for the whole day haha. And that’s a great plan. I’ll have to do that the next time a go to any convention. It was definitely a memorable experience. I hope you enjoy your conventions this year as well!! ❤ 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right. Yeah definitely easy to get lost in one section, and spend all your money in that section as well! 😀
        I feel like your first convention is always a trial run for your second. At least that’s how I’m treating mine.
        Thanks Azia! 😀 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Reg! I was a bit scared to go to a convention, as I’m not particularly interested in dressing up, but I love comic book culture and art so much, I couldn’t pass up the opportunity haha. And thank you! They were both really sweet about it. So glad to have that photo in my album 😀 Thanks for stopping by ❤

      Like

  3. I’ve missed you on the blogosphere, Azia!! I hope those finals went well! I’ve never been to a con before because they’re so far outside my budget and usually hours away from where I live but I’m definitely going to keep your tips in mind for if I ever do go to one. Great post! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww ❤ ❤ You're so sweet 🙂 I've missed you, too! Just been so busy with my final semester and working towards my graduation. I'm almost freeeeeeeeee!!! I've got one more paper due and then I'm done for good by Thrs 🙂 And it's an easy paper (literally 1-2 pages for a dance class), so everything should go well!
      I really hope you manage to go to a con that interests you and is affordable! I'm not sure where you live, but Wondercon is probably one of the milder conventions and it's got so many fandoms that might interest you: from Disney to anime to video games to T.V. shows and more. Highly recommend it!
      Thanks a bunch! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. YAY for almost being free!! (though I bet you are already given how long I took to reply to this, blame ACOWAR 😂)
        I live in Texas and not close to a city so it’s a bit of a drive to get to any con they have here. Wondercon sounds amazing though! I know we have a few anime conventions but they always cost so much. Hopefully one day though!
        You’re welcome!! 😁♥

        Liked by 1 person

      2. LOL, that’s all right. I assumed as much 😉
        Oh that’s a shame 😦 Well one day you will. I’d love to hear about your experience when you do manage to attend one! ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I loved this post! It looks like you really had fun 😀
    I’ve only been to Comic Con, and I was so shy that I didn’t want to ask a girl dressed as Ariel to take a pic. I regret that now!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Marta! I really did 😀
      I hope you had an amazing time at Comic Con. I feel like I’m working up the courage to go to that one. Maybe next year.
      Hopefully we can both be less shy when it comes to photos with cosplayers if we ever go to another con! 😀 It’ll definitely be worth it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

