Ramblings

OwlCrate or The Book(ish) Box | Comparing the Two Subscriptions

I’ve been considering subscribing to one of these for a while, but I’ve been unable to choose which one I might like best. Both OwlCrate and The Book(ish) Box seem to have some really cool themes that I know I would be happy with each month, so that makes it all the more difficult to choose. I’m making this post to help lay out my thoughts and to maybe get some of your guys’ opinions on which one I should settle on, or at least try out first!

Let’s get to it!


main-logo  VS logo


The Pros for OwlCrate

Amazing Themes

According to the site, the most recent box themes were Epic, Wonderland, and Once Upon a Dream! And looking at those photos, it looks like they really know how to put together a stunning box that really fits the theme.

Awesome Goodies

Within the box, OwlCrate includes an assortment of decorative/usable items, most of which I’d be really excited to have! The December 2016 Epic themed box included:

pb-dec16
EPIC: image by @the_book_foxes
  • Harry Potter Mystery Mini (Funko)
  • Narnia-inspired Greeting Card (Susanne Draws)
  • Lord of the Rings-inspired Enamel Pin (Jane Mount)
  • A Darker Shade of Magic-inspired Sticker (Miss Phi)
  • Game of Thrones Coasters (Dark Horse Comics)
  • Exclusive OwlCrate “Owl Skull” Button
  • Exclusive Of Fire and Stars Author Letter and Bookmark

Sounds cool right??

Inclusion of 1 top-notch YA book per month

OwlCrate has a pretty spectacular track record of including some of my highly anticipated/intriguing reads. The past few boxes have sent:

3 Payment Plans

Screen Shot 2017-03-13 at 9.39.30. AM 2

I’ll do the price comparisons later, but it’s nice to know that I have three payment options for OwlCrate.

Easy, Navigable Site With A Thorough FAQ Page

Even though this isn’t an incredibly important advantage, I love it when a business has a site that is easily navigated, and I especially appreciate it when I am able to find the answer to my questions on the FAQ page without having to call customer support!


The Pros for The Book(ish) Box

Cool Literary Themes

While I found it a bit difficult to find the most recent themes, I found some random themes for their past boxes:

YA Books Included

I had a hard time discovering which books have been included in past boxes. Thankfully, the company’s Instagram helped considerably in revealing which YA books were previously included, some of which were:

Honestly, I’m not sure which books were actually included in their past books, as it was not made clear on their site. However, I know for certain A List of Cages was included in their most recent box, which is wonderful since it’s become one of my favorite books!

3-5 Usable Items/Goodies

According to the site, within each box they will include “3-5 home, beauty, and fashion items.” I found their February box on their Instagram. Apparently, their last box included:

Screen Shot 2017-03-13 at 9.39.30. AM 3
Photo by @watermelanies
  • Perks of Being a Wallflower Shirt by The Bookish Shop
  • A List of Cages by @robinroewriter
  • The Raven Boys Mug designed by @dropandgivemenerdy
  • Fangirl Inspired necklace by The Bookish Shop
  • Best Book Friends matching pins by @jarofbuttons
  • Watercolor Anne of Green Gables Bookmark by @lexyolivia

Multiple Box Plans

The Book(ish) Box has 7 box plans to choose from. You can visit the page here to see how many options they have. But in sum, you have the option to get the the shirt, a book, and the goodies together, separately, or with different T-shirt size options.

Screen Shot 2017-03-13 at 9.39.30. AM 4

T-Shirt Option

Unlike OwlCrate, The Book(ish) Box has the option of receiving a T-Shirt (unisex or woman’s cut, along with plus size and junior options!) that fits the theme of the month within several of their box plans.


Cons for OwlCrate

No T-Shirt Options

Unlike The Book(ish) Box, OwlCrate DOES NOT include a T-Shirt within their boxes. I don’t wear many T-shirts, but it’s nice to have the option.

Fewer Box Plans

OwlCrate has only TWO box plans: The YA Box (OwlCrate) and the Middle Grade Box (OwlCrate JR).

Severe Lack of Mugs

I don’t know about you, but I love to collect mugs to add to my bookish collection. This subscription rarely includes any mugs in their boxes it seems.


Cons for The Book(ish) Box

Sparse FAQ page and Less Informative Website

The FAQ page only has a few answers to a few questions and the website doesn’t include a page that informs potential customers what previous boxes have included, mentioning both the books and the goodies included. Also, the site doesn’t seem to be up-to-date concerning their previous boxes panel.

Only 2 Payment Options

Unlike OwlCrate, The Book(ish) Box only has TWO payment plans: Monthly and 3 Month Prepay.

Serious Lack of Mugs

Even though their last box included a mug, their past boxes seemed to be severely lacking in the mug department.


Time to Compare Prices…

This is kind of my favorite part. As a heads up, I will be including shipping costs to California and adding them to the base price to receive a total sum.

*On the left is a chart comparing OwlCrate’s YA Box (YA Book + Goodies) with Book(ish) Box’s top box (Goodies and YA book + T-shirt).

*On the right is a chart comparing OwlCrate’s YA Box with Book(ish) Box’s YA + Goodies (no shirt) box.


The Decision

OwlCrate seems like a better deal if I were comparing each of the subscription services’ top boxes. But if I didn’t want the T-shirt option for Book(ish) Box, then BB would be the better choice.

HOWEVER, if I am paying for a service, I would like all that they have to offer. Meaning, I would love to receive a T-shirt from Book(ish) Box, even if I wouldn’t wear that shirt very often. Heck, it could be used for decoration.

Unfortunately, Book(ish) Box’s top box is far too expensive for a broke college student. And it’s even more unfortunate that BB doesn’t have a 6 month payment plan. OwlCrate, on the other hand, offers a 6 month plan that gifts me with some amazing books that suit my reading preferences and some really cute decorative/usable items. And even though OwlCrate’s 6 month plan (YA Box) is slightly more expensive than Book(ish) Box’s 3 month plan (YA Book + Goodies Box) across a span of 12 months, I’d still feel comfortable paying up that small difference.

Plus, I kind of like the themes better for OwlCrate!

So, I think I’ve decided on…

OwlCrate


What do you guys think? Did I make the right decision?

Which box would/do you prefer?

Should I try out each of the boxes first before making my decision?

I’d love to hear your guys’ opinions on this! I know it was a mighty long post but hopefully it held your interest. Let me know your thoughts! 🙂

Thanks for sticking around! See ya soon ❤

 

29 thoughts on “OwlCrate or The Book(ish) Box | Comparing the Two Subscriptions

  1. Great choice, Azia! I was reading through your post and the whole time I was thinking, “OwlCrate, OwlCrate, I gotta tell her to pick OwlCrate! I hope she picks OwlCrate!” Lol! But it looks like you’ve decided on it already 😊 The one thing I like better about the other box is that you can get a t-shirt. But the OwlCrate boxes are always so beautiful and have awesome goodies and always a great popular new release YA book. Have I ever subscribed to OwlCrate? No. But I’ve always wanted to. And if I ever end up getting a book box, it will definitely be OwlCrate! Great post 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. LOL 😁 Glad it seems I made the right choice. The shirt is definitely a plus, but I agree, the boxes for OwlCrate are amazing and I really love the books that they’ve chosen. I’ll let you know what I think of OwlCrate once I’ve subscribed. Maybe I’ll order one box from Bookish Box to compare 😀 But I think I’ll definitely be happy with OwlCrate. Thanks so much for reading Megan! 💕

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is such a great post!! I’ve always wanted to get a bookish subscription box but the prices stopped me aha. But if I did, I would definitely pick Owlcrate, I think! The Book(ish) Box seems really good as well, but Owlcrate just seems more my type, I love their themes. ❤ Lovely post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! The prices are pretty steep but hopefully they’ll be worth it in the end. I’ll probably do a post to update y’all on what I think of the boxes and see if they were worth all the money lol. And I definitely agree about OwlCrate’s themes. Definitely my type too! Thanks so much for reading! 😁💕

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Completely agree! You’re getting a new release AND special items only in Owlcrate when you order from them. I would say FairyLoot out of ALL of them, but for the price, I’m going with Owlcrate if I can ever order a box. Unless I’m wealthy. Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve heard of FairyLoot! But since it’s a UK subscription, it might be too much for me to pay for right now. OwlCrate seems like a pretty great choice. Hopefully I love the next few themes and boxes! And if you ever just want one box, you can gift one to yourself 😂 Saves you some money but gives you some pretty cool items!

      Like

  4. This is a great post Azia, and it will probably end up helping a few other people who are debating whether to get a bookish subscription box. Honestly both seem like amazing choices. I do love that the Bookish Box contains t-shirts, I think that’s something really amazing that I haven’t actually see any other book subscription box do yet.
    I did used to be subscribed to Owl Crate ages ago and loved the boxes I’d receive from them. The only reason I stopped was because I found a company in the UK (Fairy Loot) which was cheaper in terms of the shipping and would get the box to me quicker given we’re in the same country. I couldn’t afford two boxes so I went with Fairy Loot.
    I hope you love you first Owl Crate box Azia! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I sure hope so! And I agree; I love the t-shirt option for Bookish Box, especially as it seems to be the only box service to include one, but it’s just too expensive 😦
      And that was great choice! I heard Fairy Loot is pretty fantastic. It’s great you found a wonderful service where you live 🙂
      Thank you! I hope I love it too 😀 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Maybe one day there’ll be other books that include t-shirts as well. It does seem like subscription boxes are always including more each month.
        Fairy Loot is amazing, and yeah I’m even more grateful it’s in my country and I can afford it! 😀
        That’s all right. ❤ 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You’re right! I just learned the Bookish Box had just started adding the YA books to their boxes last month. A List of Cages was their first! Let’s hope OwlCrate follows suit and starts adding mugs and a T-shirt lol

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Great post – and very helpful indeed for anyone looking at either of these boxes. Must have taken you a while to do all the research and then compile it, so I really commend you on that. 😛 I was a loyal Owlcrate subscriber until recently when I felt their boxes were lacking, and they were sending stuff that I didn’t have ANY use for at all, you know? I’d rather spend money on more books that bookish goodies that I was never going to use. In that sense, I kind of prefer the other box because at least you get a shirt you can wear and a mug you can drink from (but those prices are STEEP!) x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh thanks so much! I hope it does prove useful for anyone else stuck in the same situation.
      And that’s a fear of mine. I like goodies, but only if I can use them in some way. Hopefully I can make use of whatever they give me, even if it’s for decor purposes. If not, I’m always fine with just buying books upon books upon books haha 😉
      And STEEP is right. I think I’ll only be able to pay for the boxes for about a year before I need to replenish the finances lol. Bookish Box seems great but it’s just too much money 😦 Hopefully OwlCrate sends some great boxes these next few months!

      Like

  6. I get both thr bookishbox and owlcrate. Bookish box just started adding books so the only book so far is the cage book. I like the one time boxes of bookishbox more than the monthly so I just switched to owlcrate. While I know you said you like the t-shirt option and mug, honestly…I started having TOO many of both!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aaaaah no wonder it was so hard to find the books for their themes! That makes so much sense lol. And I really like the one time boxes too! The themes are amazing 🙂 And really?! I have so many mugs already. I don’t think I should feed the addiction LOL. And I rarely wear T-shirts so that wouldn’t be good. Haha, thanks for letting me know! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

