Top 5 Wednesday | Favorite Science Fiction & Fantasy Books

I missed the first Top 5 Wednesday topics of March but that’s all right! At least I’ve caught the second week.

As a reminder, Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly book meme that was started by Ginger Reads Lainey and is now being looked after by Thoughts on Tomes. The topics can be found on Goodreads.

According to Goodreads:In collaboration with the BooktubeSFF Awards, talk about your favorite science fiction and fantasy books of all time!

Okay this is kind of hard because I really don’t know….


ILLUMINAE & GEMINA | Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

illuminaegemina

It’s so hard to choose which of the Illuminae installments I like best. And quite honestly, I don’t like one more than the either. I thought both stories were excellent. Both had fantastic characters, an engaging plot, tons of entertaining action and humor, romance, and great writing. These two are definitely my favorite YA sci-fi’s, so far.


THE SWORD OF SHANNARA & THE ELFSTONES OF SHANNARA | Terry Brooks

155786620182

I read the original Shannara series back when I was in middle school and I kind of read them in lieu of the Harry Potter series. And most days I don’t regret my decision because of these two books, both of which I’ve read multiple times and love equally!


SIX OF CROWS | Leigh Bardugo

Six of Crows

I feel like this one is a given. Six of Crows immediately became my favorite YA Fantasy the moment Kaz Brekker and his crew were introduced to me. I loved the concept of this book (it’s a HEIST book, people), the writing, the constant twists and turns, the humor, the darkness, the brutality, the grimness, and above all, the characters. It’s the perfect book.


A COURT OF MIST AND FURY| Sarah J. Maas

ACOMAF

Well, here’s the other one. Can’t have a favorite post without Six of Crows AND A Court of Mist and Fury. That would be a sin against YA humanity. This book is an actual masterpiece in the YA universe, not just because of the strength of the writing but also because of the masterful character development and the representation of various  (important) topics such as abuse in all forms and PTSD. Such a wonderful book, I tell you.


THE SCORPIO RACES| Maggie Stiefvater

Scorpio Races

I can’t tell you how much I love this book. I, personally, think it is Maggie Steifvater’s best work. Her writing is so lyrical and her characters are so enchanting in their own way. The mundaneness of the characters’ everyday lives mixed with the dark essence of the magical eich uisce (sea kelpies) coalesces into a story I can easily call one of my all-time favorites.


BONUS:

THE NIGHT CIRCUS | Erin Morgenstern

night-circus

Because I like to cheat, I’ll also The Night Circus, which is certainly one of my favorite fantasy books of all-time. It’s incredibly magical, both in the magic that is described throughout the story and also in the way that the story is written. I can’t recommend this book enough.

17 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday | Favorite Science Fiction & Fantasy Books

  1. Am I the only person who didn’t like Illuminae? Everyone seems to love that book, maybe I need to try again and actually get past page fifty this time. I’m not a fan of Sarah J Maas books either 🙂 . Six of Crows is my little darling baby though! I also need to read Night Circus soon, I see it everywhere.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. LOL, you’re not the only one. I know a few who didn’t like it as well. And I’m mostly a fan of Maas because of ACOMAF. That book blew me away. ToG, though, is another story…Yay! Another Six of Crows fan! *High five* And yes! Please read Night Circus. I think it’s absolutely fabulous 😀 I hope you’ll like it too if you ever decide to pick it up!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh these are amazing picks for this topic Azia. 😀 I haven’t read the Shannara series or The Scorpio Races myself but the others books on your list are 100% favourites of mine as well.
    I love that you featured The Night Circus as a bonus pick. I finished re-reading that one recently and oh it was just as amazing as the very first time I picked it up. Also yes to ACOMAF. I loved the way Feyre’s character developed in this book and that they showed the darker side of everything she went through in the first book and the effects it had on her now she’s out of the mountain. I am so excited for book three it’s unbelievable.
    Six of Crows and Illuminae are two other favourite of mine. Basically your list this week could be mine as well (just with Shades of Magic and The Lunar Chronicles added in!) 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Beth! ❤ I couldn't have a favorites list without The Night Circus haha 😉 And I'm glad you enjoyed your re-read of it. There's no better feeling than reading a book that is enjoyable every single time you open it up 🙂 ACOWAR can't come fast enough. I need that book in my life now. And I'm glad you agree with SoC and Illuminae. They're simply fantastic. I love the Lunar Chronicles too and now that I've finished ADSOM, I can tell that series will be one of my favorites as well! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right, and actually I wouldn’t be able to do it either. After I re-read The Night Circus earlier this month I feel like I’ve been posting about it everywhere.
        The wait will be worth it, at least that is what I’m constantly trying to tell myself to make the wait more bearable. It’s not long to go either way. 🙂
        That’s even better to hear, do you plan to start AGOS and ACOL soon then?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It’s a book that should never go away in the blogosphere. So keep on posting about it. It’s a fantastic read that every Fantasy fan should give a try haha
        To wait is painful but it’s usually worth it in the end 🙂
        And I do! Hopefully sometime this month. Gotta get the next book first though lol

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! And I highly recommend Stiefvater. And even though her stories can be a hit or miss for some readers, her writing is fantastic! I hope you love Scorpio Races if you ever do decide to pick it up 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The Scorpio Races is probably my favorite of Maggie’s books, too! Other than that, your list is all on my eventual TBR. They’re all things I’ve heard so much about and seen everywhere that I need to make time for. I think Six of Crows will be my next read, though!

    The Lies of Locke Lamora is another excellent fantasy heist worth looking into.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! *High five* That makes me so happy. I love it when I find another fan of The Scorpio Races. It’s such an amazing book. And yes! I think you’ll love Six of Crows. It’s a mix of the Grisha trilogy mixed with Ocean’s Eleven haha.
      And I’ve been recommended that one! It sounds really cool. I’ll definitely give that one a go 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. YAY for The Night Circus *hip hip hooray* & Illuminae & Six of Crows of course lol. You are now the 3rd person I’ve come across uplifting Maggie’s Scorpio Races which I’ve held back from purchasing since she is hit or miss with me. I did however, love The Raven Cycle so I think it’s time to see what i think of this one…Great picks Azia <3!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. All three books are just amazing. And does have some hit and misses (I’m kind of just okay with the Shiver series). But I HIGHLY recommend Scorpio. Not everyone loves it but I really hope you do if you choose to read it one day!

      Like

  5. Six of Crows, ACOMAF, and The Scorpio Races!! You know I love those three. Especially Six of Crows and the infamous ACOMAF (that I’ve reread so many times LOL). I still haven’t read Illuminae for some reason. I want to because everyone makes it sound incredible but I have a feeling it will be one of those books that I either love or hate. It’s on my TBR for this year though so we’ll see. Great post, Azia!! 😊♥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yup! 😉 And I hope you love Illuminate once you pick it up. There are some dull moments but everything else makes up for it. Can’t wait to see what you think! And thanks, hon! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

