Top 5 Wednesday | Books I Felt Betrayed By

Another Top 5 Wednesday here! I forgot to post my last Top 5 Wednesday last week, so I posted that today. But I also wanted to do the one for THIS week because it’s also a great topic!

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly book meme that was started by Ginger Reads Lainey and is now being looked after by Thoughts on Tomes. The topics can be found on Goodreads.

According to Goodreads:Beware the Ides of March! What books (or characters) did you feel betrayed by, for whatever reason…big or small.”


15703770

THE RUNAWAY KING | Jennifer A. Nielsen

In the first book of this series, the protagonist, Jaron, was so snarky, fun, and cunning, and I really enjoyed his character. I also really enjoyed the plot. In the second book, however, his personality and cleverness plummeted and the storyline was less engaging. I don’t know what happened, but I felt a little betrayed/disappointed by the author’s  second installment.


17331828

TALON | Julie Kagawa

I was really looking forward to this series because Kagawa is one one of my favorite authors. Unfortunately, this book was not what I expected, and I was so disappointed with the story that I haven’t even finished it yet. It’s been about a year now…


acourtofthornandroses

LUCIEN from ACOTAR/ACOMAF | Sarah J. Maas

I REALLY liked Lucien in the first installment and in the second book, I thought that he was a good enough friend of Feyre’s to pull through for her during her troubled times. But nope. He failed, and because of his lack of aid, I felt ridiculously betrayed.


1885

LYDIA and MR. WICKHAM | Jane Austen

My god, this pair. I know Lydia is just a silly girl, but Mr. Wickham! Wickham wasn’t promised to Lizzie and Lydia was promised to no one, but Wickham led Lizzie on and Lydia knew Lizzie had feelings for Wickham. So…betrayal, I say!


20814989

ANNALISE from the Half Bad Trilogy | Sally Green

I could just say I felt betrayed by the ending of this series (my heart still hurts) but I also felt personally betrayed by Annalise in the second book. I liked her in Half Bad, but by the end of Half Wild, I was just as mad at her as Nathan was. I won’t give away any spoilers, but all I can say is that she messed up. She messed up big time.


What’d you think of my choices? Agree with some of my choices? Disagree? Let me know what you think! 😀

11 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday | Books I Felt Betrayed By

    1. The second book was good, just not as good as the first. I’ve heard the trilogy ends strong, though! But yeah, if it’s not something you’re immediately interested in, the series can sit on the back burner for a bit 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’ve only read ACOTAR on this list and I completely agree with you about Lucien! He was my favorite and then I was so let down. I’m still sore about it because his characters had so much potential but his fatal flaw is definitely his loyalty to Tamlin. I just really hope he gets redeemed or something in ACOWAR.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I really hope so too. In fact, I hope both he AND Tamlin are given a second chance. Lucien’s fault is his loyalty to Tamlin, and Tamlin’s fault is his inner weakness. Hopefully they’re both given a second chance. I really think they both deserve one! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Again great picks for this Top 5 Wednesday Azia, I haven’t read all of these books but there have been a few I felt betrayed by. When it comes to the Half Bad trilogy yeah I felt betrayed by Annalise, but I also felt betrayed by Sally Green for the way she ended the series with Half Lost. If I ever meet her I may have to demand an apology for breaking my heart like that in the very end.
    Also I love your take on Lucian from ACOTAR, here’s hoping he manages to redeem himself slightly in ACOWAR. I have hopes for his character I’ll admit! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh I know right? That ending…ugh my heart still hurts to think about it. Really wish it could have ended differently but it made so much sense to end that way.
      I do too! I hope he gets a second chance. And you know what? Tamlin, too! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t actually read a lot of the books you mentioned, but gosh I feel ya on Lucien. He was one of my favorite characters in ACOTAR because he wasn’t a complete jerk to Feyre, but then ACOMAF ruined his character. He just HAD to go and betray everyone! Great post 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know right!? So much potential just WASTED. I really want him to redeem himself in this next book, especially since his mate is one of Feyre’s sisters! Fingers crossed! Thanks so much, hon! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

