Standalone Sundays

Standalone Sunday | March 11th

While there are a couple more classics I could recommend, I thought today I’d share a standalone I would like to read sometime soon, preferably this year!

As a reminder, Standalone Sunday is a feature created by the lovely Megan @ bookslayerReads where each Sunday you share a standalone book (a book not part of a series) that you loved or would like to recommend! Please be sure to check out Megan’s wonderful blog to see her original post and recommendations. And be sure to check around the blogosphere for more posts like this!

increased-standalone

My standalone pick this week is:

The Song of Achilles | Madeline Miller

11250317

Greece in the age of heroes. Patroclus, an awkward young prince, has been exiled to the court of King Peleus and his perfect son Achilles. Despite their difference, Achilles befriends the shamed prince, and as they grow into young men skilled in the arts of war and medicine, their bond blossoms into something deeper – despite the displeasure of Achilles’ mother Thetis, a cruel sea goddess.

But when word comes that Helen of Sparta has been kidnapped, Achilles must go to war in distant Troy and fulfill his destiny. Torn between love and fear for his friend, Patroclus goes with him, little knowing that the years that follow will test everything they hold dear.


I have heard nothing but good things about this version of The Illiad. And if there’s two things I love, it’s Greek history/mythology and wonderful writing. I bought this book back in January, but haven’t had the time or motivation to get around to it just yet. I’m hoping to read it by the end of May, after I graduate university. So I definitely have something to look forward to in the coming weeks!

16 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday | March 11th

  1. Love your pick, Azia! I’ve seen this book around too and have not gotten the chance to read it, but pretty much everyone I spoke to told me this was really, really good (and also heartbreaking). I hope you like it when you get to read it, and I can’t wait to hear your thoughts then. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh this is an amazing pick Azia and actually a book I think you’ll really love as well; especially if you enjoy Greek history/mythology and wonderful writing. This book broke my heart into a thousand pieces, almost as bad as Half Lost did, but it’s become a favourite of mine as well and when I think I’m properly over what happened it will be one I re-read again so it can break my heart all over again.
    I really do hope you enjoy this one, you’ll have to let me know when you start it so I can know to look out for your review shortly after! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Azia!! OMG I wanna read this book, too! So bad! I’m trying to get it to fit into some of my reading challenges so I can read it soon. I love the fact that it has mythology in it… and like you, I’ve heard nothing but great things about it! Hopefully we both can read it soon! Nice choice this week 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This one has been on my TBR for a while. There’s definitely a lot of praise for it floating around the blogosphere. I also heard that it’s a pretty sad read though so I’m waiting until I’m in the mood for a sad read 🙈. I’m going to have to try to fit it in sometime this year. Great pick, Azia!! 😊♥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Melissa! And I’ve been reading a lot of fun books lately, except for List of Cages but even that had its happy times. Maybe it’s time I read a book that tears my heart out lol. Let’s hope we both can get to it sometime this year! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome!! List of Cages is another one I need to get around to. So many books 😂😂. I’ve been reading a ton of fantasy lately so it’s kind of a mixture of happy and breaking my heart lol. Here’s to hoping! 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I think you’ll love List of Cages! I felt more happy towards the end than sad. So it won’t completely destroy you haha. And that’s a great reading mix! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Okay, well this book sounds AWESOME. Adding to Goodreads right this second. I’m such a sucker for Greek mythology as well, and the Illiad is one of my favorite stories. I haven’t heard much about this before reading your post, but I definitely want to know more. Awesome pick!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

