Top 5 Wednesday | Favorite Non-Written Novels and Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump

Here are the last two topics of February for Top 5 Wednesday!

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly book meme that was started by Ginger Reads Lainey and is now being looked after by Thoughts on Tomes. The topics can be found on Goodreads.


February 15th : Favorite Non-Written Novels

This was a hard topic to name, but this is about all books that are not ‘written’ novels! So graphic novels, comics, manga, audiobooks, etc. Shed some light on books in other forms.”

Since I don’t read many comics, manga, or any other visual medium, and since I have never listened to an audiobook, my list will be about stories (not books) that are told in a different format. Meaning –> T.V. shows, movies, and video games!!

Tokyo Ghoul

545905
Source

Tokyo Ghoul is the only manga I’ve read in its entirety (I started Naruto long ago but never finished). And there’s many things I can say about TG, but to sum it up, it’s probably one of the best stories I’ve read in a while. Ishida was so clever in how he spun Ken Kaneki’s tale and once I finished the first series, I couldn’t (and still can’t) stop talking about it. It’s that good.


The Last of Us

The-Last-of-Us1
Source

Many video games nowadays are becoming more and more cinematic as technology advances day by day. So far, one of the best stories I’ve watched/experienced is Naughty Dog’s The Last of Us. The relationship between Joel and Ellie is both endearing and heartbreaking, and the events that lead up to the bittersweet end will leave you in tears.


Uncharted: Among Thieves

maxresdefault
Source

Naughty Dog is killing it with their games lately. Nathan Drake is basically the male equivalent to Lara Croft, yet I personally believe the Uncharted storylines are much more engrossing, especially the second one, Among Thieves, which I’ve played several times just to see the cutscenes. It’s basically Indiana Jones meets National Treasure!


Catching Fire

catching-fire-wallpapers-12
Source

I’m sure this one counts in that it is the book, but in the film format. See what I did there? The book was very good, possibly better than the first, and the second film was most certainly better than the first!


Young Justice

young-justice
Source

I think of this series as a phenomenal homage to well-known and well-loved characters from the DC Universe. And even though it’s not really based on any comic series, though the series takes place on Earth-16 of the new Multiverse introduced at the end of the 52 comic series (nerd alert!), Young Justice is a series/story that stands strong all on its own!


February 22nd : Books to Get You Out of A Reading Slump

Winter is a hard season for a lot of people and many of us are slumpy. Let’s talk about some books that are great for getting you out of a slump!”

These are all the books that have brought me out of my most recent reading slumps! I’m still working on A List of Cages, but it’s easily turning out to be one of my favorite YA Contemporaries!

As for the others, all I can say is I believe they are fantastic reads that should bring almost anyone out of a reading slump 😀

Extra

ACOMAF

Can’t have a post without a mention of ACOMAF! This one is so amazing, it should save you from the depths of bookslumpitis 😉

 

28 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday | Favorite Non-Written Novels and Books to Get You Out of a Reading Slump

    1. Ooooh yay! I’m so glad you loved it, too! And I hope you love ACOTAR. I thought it was good (problematic but good). ACOMAF is where it’s at though haha. Hope you enjoy Caraval as well! I thought it was fabulous 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. This is a great post for this week Azia, and I feel kind of appropriate as well considering you were recently in a slump (though reviewing not reading).
    I definitely agree with all your book picks, I haven’t exactly read A List of Cages yet myself but I’ve heard enough things to let me know it’s going to be an amazing read! Also Caraval is just amazing, and the same with ACOMAF, and the others on your list. All are books that would definitely get me out of a reading slump! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I thought so, too! I just had to do it 😀
      And I recently finished List of Cages and oh my goodness I fell in love with it. Such an AMAZING read. Definitely one of my new favorites!! I’m sure you’ll love it ❤
      Thanks so much, Beth! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Omg I loved the Young Justice tv show! I binged the series a couple of months ago for the first time! I’m definitely going to check out the comics! Six of Crows seems to be on every list but it really is the perfect book to end a slump!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I binged it last summer and I gotta say it was probably one of the best animated series I’ve ever watched (besides Teen Titans, of course!) I should invest more in the comics, too haha. And I couldn’t agree more about SoC. It’s simply a fantastic YA read!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahhh Six of Crows was on my list too! The perfect un-sumplifyer (good lord that is not a word but we’re gonna go with it) in my opinion! I’m also currently reading Caraval while waiting to get my hands on A Conjuring of Light. I’ve read approximately two chapters, but I like it so far. Great lists (for both weeks)! I LOVE rewatching the Hunger Games movies, especially Catching Fire. They’re done so well, and of course Finnick never hurts 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. LOL, I feel like SoC was on everybody’s list! It’s just so good!! I’m all for un-sumplifyer haha. And what do/did you think of Caraval?! Did you finish it 😀 And I’ve just started reading A Darker Shade of Magic. Can’t wait to get through the series. And hope you enjoy Conjuring of Light! Ah Finnick. The main reason many girls LOVE that book haha 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Nope you certainly cannot have a post without ACOMAF! Where would the fun be in that, I ask you? 😉 Love the books you chose for this tag, Azia! Some absolutely HUGE stories there in terms of impact and wow-factor. Also gotta be said, Catching Fire is definitely the superior book AND film, if you ask me. Partly because of Finnick, but also Finnick. Nice post! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know right 😉 LOL. And yes, I completely agree. Finnick = SWOON. That book was fantastic…because of Finnick haha. I mean there were other great things about Catching Fire (both book and film), but I can’t remember them LOL. Thanks, Sammie!! ❤

      Like

  5. Uncharted!! Funny story – my baby sister is obsessed with Uncharted so when she got the fourth one for Christmas she binge played it and beat it in a few days 😂😂. That one time we were talking about backseat video game playing that was the one she was playing lol.
    Six of Crows and ACOMAF!! I actually get stuck in my rereading hole when I read ACOMAF. I swear last year I reread that book 10+ times lol. And I so need to read Caraval! Great post, Azia!! 😁💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw she’s so lucky! I haven’t bought a PS4 yet, so I haven’t been able to play Uncharted 4. GREAT games. Definitely binge-worthy haha. Perfect for some backseat gaming, too 😉
      Oh wow! 10+ times LOL. Well, it’s such an amazing book, so I definitely understand haha. Hope you enjoy Caraval once you get around to it. Excited to see what you think about it!
      Thanks so much, my friend! ❤ 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. They really are! I think I like watching my sister play them more than I like playing them though. 😂
        Yes, I swear I have a rereading problem lol. Or at least where TBS and ACOMAF are concerned.
        I hope so too and you’re welcome!! 😁♥

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Crown of Midnight was a lifesaver for me once so I would totally recommend it too!
    I’ve played a bit of Uncharted and The Last of Us so I agree with those as well – very fast-paced and perfect for someone looking for some great entertainment.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a great book. My opinion of the series has 180ºd because of it LOL. Now I just gotta write the review for it to tell everyone how much I loved it!
      Naughty Dog is a king of storytelling. Their characters and plots are just so captivating. I highly recommend them to anyone looking for a great story! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

