Book Tags

Book Tag Tuesday | 2016 Year in Review

I was tagged by the lovely Ava over @ Reads, Rhythms, and Ruminations to do this wonderfully creative tag! If you haven’t already checked out Ava’s blog, see her newest post here! If you love anime and books, she’s got some great content for you 😀

Trump vs. Clinton: Name your favorite character rivalry

Twilight comes to mind but I don’t wanna go there. HOWEVER, I read Gemina in December and I gotta say I absolutely LOVED the rivalry between Hanna and Kali (A.K.A. Fleur Russo). The final battle between them was EPIC.

Turkey Failed Coup: A book you started but failed to finish? (DNF)

Ah. That would be this book.

glass-sword

I started it in November, I think, and couldn’t finish it before 2016 ended. I haven’t picked it up since. For now, it’s a DNF. I DO plan on finishing it, but not anytime soon.

Pokemon Go: What book did you buy or read based on the hype? Did you enjoy it?

I’d just started seriously reading again last summer, and so I was listening to all the hype surrounding many books, both old and new, to catch up on my reads. One that was a little older than the rest but still had some hype surrounding it on Goodreads was…

angelfall-1-0

And yes, I did enjoy it. Very much.

Stranger Things: What’s one book you want everyone to read?

Six of Crows

I just need everyone to know how awesome this book is. That is all.

Game of Thrones, The Walking Dead, Mr. Robot: What was your favorite book cliffhanger within a series?

I’m going to have to agree with Ava on this one and go with:

Lady Midnight

The ending to this book is probably one of the biggest cliffhangers I’ve ever read. I am DESPERATE to see what happens next. Lord of Shadows can’t come out soon enough. I mean, how can you end it like that!? Mind = blown.

The Tragic Crisis in Aleppo: Name the last book that made you cry or teary-eyed

I’m cold-hearted so not many books have brought tears to my eyes. However, two books really got to me last year and they were A Court of Mist and Fury and Half Lost (Half Bad, #3). But the win goes to Half Lost.

51uxtm8u4fl-_sl500_

The ending to this book done near killed me. Tears actually fell from my eyes.

Brexit: Name a book you have an unpopular opinion towards. 

One book everyone seems to love but I couldn’t finish was Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi.

Shatter 1

I had to stop reading after the second chapter. Purple prose is fine with me, but this prose was a bit extreme in its purpleness. And I had a hard time connecting with Juliette (that her name?). She seemed so…blah. I feel so bad for saying that, but there it is.

Leonardo DiCaprio FINALLY won the Oscar: What was your most anticipated book release this year?

crooked-kingdom

Thank God I read Six of Crows last year. I had just enough time to hype myself up for Crooked Kingdom‘s release. What a glorious day it was when I finally received it in the mail, and what an even more glorious day it was when I read it and completely fell in love with Kaz and the others all over again.

In Memorium: Name a memorable character death

The_Death_Cure

I was going to put the Half Lost death here (mostly because it’s the reason why I cried), but I didn’t want to spoil that one. I’m okay with spoiling this one though. That being said…

Spoiler Alert: I was NOT happy with Newt’s death. He was the best character out of all of them! His death was completely unnecessary. It added nothing to the story.

Samsung phones: One book that blew your mind last year!

ACOMAF

It was an extremely tough choice between Six of Crows and this one, but ACOMAF was just so good in its character development and thematic elements. Simply a YA masterpiece.


My Tagees:

McKenzie @ Bookish Things and Tea

Stephanie @ Teacher of YA

Olivia @ Heir of Glitter

Hilary @ Songs Wrote My Story

Anyone else who’d like to do this tag!

As always, if you’ve already done this tag, no worries.  If not, then I hope you enjoy it as much as I did 😀

Thanks for stopping by! See ya soon ❤

33 thoughts on “Book Tag Tuesday | 2016 Year in Review

  1. Great picks for this tag Azia, and oh this seems like a great tag as well! I loved all your answers, I probably struggled with Glass Sword last year as well. I’ve heard King’s Cage gets better but it’s not at the top of my to-read list I’ll say that. I was in tears by the end of Half Lost, even though I knew it wouldn’t end happily I’m still not over the ending, it was just cruel to force us to read it with out own two eyes.
    Six of Crows and A Court of Mist and Fury are two beyond amazing books so I definitely agree with both of those in your tag. I am so so excited for A Court of Wings and Ruin, also have you read Crooked Kingdom. I loved it even more than Six of Crows so I’d be interested in hearing what you thought of it! 😀
    Again great picks for this tag Azia! 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Beth! ❤ I am definitely NOT over Half Lost's ending yet. It was just so heartbreaking 😦
      SoC and ACOMAF are just stunning YAs. I simply cannot wait for ACOWAR. Yes! I've read Crooked Kingdom. Read it the day it was released haha. I've got a review somewhere on my site LOL.
      Thanks again 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right, and yeah it’s going to be a long long time before I’m over that ending I can tell you that now!
        ACOWAR is going to be amazing, I can just tell, and oh that must have been before I started following you then. I brought the book the day it was released but didn’t manage to get around to reading it for at least a month or so. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I have some really high hopes for ACOWAR. It’ll be amazing if Maas could somehow surpass (or match) the brilliance of that novel haha.
        And it definitely was! 😀 I’m glad you got around to reading it though. I thought it was a wonderful sequel to the first. Both very strong YAs imo 😄

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Awesome answers and thanks for the tag! Glass Sword is still sitting on my shelf waiting to be read, but who knows when that will happen. The last book in the series will probably come out before I get around to it lol. I so agree with Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom. Those are book GOALS and everyone needs to read them right now. Are you excited for A Court of Wings and Ruin? I’m so excited for it!
    Have an awesome day ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! And no worries ❤
      Truthfully, Glass Sword can wait. I, personally, don't think it's all that great, although I've heard some pretty positive reviews for the 3rd book. So, that might be a motivator to read it soon haha. And the SoC duology just blows my mind by how good they were! I am ridiculously excited for ACOWAR. It's one of my most anticipated releases this year alongside Lord of Shadows!!
      Thanks so much! You have a wonderful day, too! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ll probably just end up waiting for the whole series to come out and marathon it, because I don’t really remember what happened in Red Queen lol. Yaas ACOWAR should be so good, and I can’t believe I forgot about Lord of Shadows. I’M SO EXCITED. I’m always down for a new Shadowhunter book.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I feel like I should have reread Red Queen before trying to read the second, but I also feel like no matter what I do, the second book just isn’t that good LOL. And I thought I was done with the Shadowhunter world, but Lady Midnight pulled me back in. And I’m so happy it did 😉 Can’t wait to see Kit and Ty together!!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. This is such a cool tag! The questions made me laugh. Oh, I has to push myself to finish “Glass Sword” even though I didn’t like the first book, it wasn’t worth it. Angelfall! I love those books! And Six of Crows is also the book I want everyone to read and obsess over! Both books in the duology blew my mind and I am just so happy these books exists.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is isn’t it?! I tag you if you’d like to do it 😀 And Glass Sword is proving to be much tougher to get through than I first thought. I actually liked the 1st book so GS is such a disappointment. The Angelfall trilogy was fantastic! I love Raffe and Penryn so much 😀 *High five* Glad you love Six of Crows, too! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I didn’t really like the first book either so I have no idea why I continued on with the second one, I should’ve just stopped. Raffe and Penryn ARE AWESOME!! *high five back* 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Awesome post. Thanks for the shout out. I totally agree with ACOMAF. It was such a fantastic book.
    Ahh and Newts death was so tragic. He was one of my favourite characters from mazerunner as well. That part was so harrowing omg. 😥
    Loved the post. Thanks again! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Loved your answers! I didn’t like that particular death either… Felt a bit unnecessary (despite the whole “no one is safe” vibe going on, which is a bittersweet one for me) and I would have been so much happier about the whole trilogy without it.
    I’m the same and I rarely cry in books. I probably will if the situation speaks to me on a personal level or if I’ve been so emotionally invested in the book it’s ridiculous. I’m very specific about it, though.
    Hopefully, this is the year I read both Six of Crows/Crooked Kingdom *and* ACOTAR/MAF/WAR. We’ll see!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I thought the author wasted a perfectly good character. I understand that no one was safe, but that death just made me mad. It felt way too sudden for me. I don’t know. It did nothing for me.
      Yeah me, too. The Half Bad series, though, got me good. I was so emotionally invested in the welfare of the main character. The ending events DEVASTATED me haha.
      Yes! I hope so, too! I’d love to see what you think of them 😄

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

