Standalone Sunday | February

It’s been a while since I’ve done this meme! Mostly because I’ve kind of been struggling to find any standalones I’ve read, besides classics, but I think I’m fresh out. And then I realized that if I go to the classics, there are only a few I actually like and would recommend. Even so, I haven’t featured all of my favorite classics yet, so I’ll do those for now!

Standalone Sunday is a feature created by the lovely Megan @ bookslayerReads where each Sunday you share a standalone book (a book not part of a series) that you loved or would like to recommend! Please be sure to check out Megan’s wonderful blog to see her original post and recommendations. And be sure to check around the blogosphere for more posts like this!

increased-standalone

This week’s recommendation is:

Around the World in 80 Days | Jules Verne

51xoe02htcl-_sx331_bo1204203200_

One ill-fated evening at the Reform Club, Phileas Fogg rashly bets his companions £20,000 that he can travel around the entire globe in just eighty days – and he is determined not to lose. Breaking the well-established routine of his daily life, the reserved Englishman immediately sets off for Dover, accompanied by his hot-blooded French manservant Passepartout. Traveling by train, steamship, sailing boat, sledge and even elephant, they must overcome storms, kidnappings, natural disasters, Sioux attacks and the dogged Inspector Fix of Scotland Yard – who believes that Fogg has robbed the Bank of England – to win the extraordinary wager.”


When I was in Ireland, I took a genre studies class and this book was part of the reading list, which I must say, was a rather fantastic reading list. Unfortunately the books were the only good part about that class…

Anyways, I was really happy that I decided to be a good student and read this book. It was a much more enjoyable experience than I thought it would be. Around the World in 80 Days is a well-written novel that is brimming with adventure and romance as well as humor and suspense. The events that take place are so ridiculous, you can’t help but have a good time following Phileas Fogg around on his fast-paced journey.

A warning though: there are some questionable aspects of the book, such as its portrayal of non-European cultures (particularly that of indigenous peoples from both America and Asia). But if anything, the book provides an excellent opportunity to discuss colonization and the dependence on stereotypes in early genre fiction writing. So, you can be whisked away on an exciting literary journey while simultaneously being able to formulate a meaningful discussion about the representation of diverse peoples and cultures in fiction! What more could you want?

16 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday | February

    1. The classics are definitely intimidating, but they usually turn out to be much better and much easier to understand than expected. This one is very easy to read and is very entertaining! 😀 And that’s a great idea! I might just do that. Thanks Megan! XD

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Great pick for this week Azia. I’m pretty sure I already own a copy of this book somewhere, I just haven’t gotten around to picking it up myself yet. Still it sounds interesting and I’ve heard some good things about Jules Verne himself and in terms of his books as well. I should probably move this further up my to-read list, you never know this could end up being a classic I actually enjoy! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great pick, Azia! I think I started this book agesss ago but barely remember anything about it… which sadly goes for maybe about 50% of the books that I read, haha. I’m glad to see that you enjoyed it so much, though, and studying it from a genre studies perspective must be quite interesting. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Reg! And me too haha. Lately I’ve had a hard time remembering books myself. This one, though, was pretty enjoyable! A great pick to study genre in fiction writing.

      Like

  3. I’ve been hearing about this book since I was a little kid but never got to read it. It sounds amazing!
    Honestly, any book written in the previous centuries will be problematic. Those were different times, with different ideals. But I think they’re enriching all the same. It’s still fascinating to learn what people’s thoughts were back then, and how different they are from ours nowadays.
    Great post, Azia 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was really fun to read!
      And I agree. Many of the books back then can be a bit uncomfortable to read but the content is something we can’t change. It’s something we can learn from, though. I find reading the classics to be an enriching experience, too. They’re definitely conversation starters haha.
      Thanks, Sophie! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

