Down the TBR Hole | Books 46 – 50

How’s it going, you guys? I know my posts are becoming few and far between, but hopefully I can get all my posts done for this coming week so I can do some blog hopping. I seriously miss reading all your guys’ posts but my free time is so little nowadays. Hopefully by March, I’ll get back to posting and commenting a little more regularly!

On another note, looks like it’s that time of the week! What books do I have on my TBR this time??

Down the TBR Hole is a weekly book meme created by the wonderful Lia @ Lost in a Story that attempts to organize our ridiculously long Goodreads TBR list by choosing either to keep or eliminate the books we’ve kept on there for YEARS.

Web

The Books:

89763

Esperanza Rising | Pam Muñoz Ryan

This book has been on my TBR for YEARS. I’ve wanted to read it ever since I was in elementary school. When I was younger, I was drawn to the cover and only the cover. But as a young woman, I now wish to read it as an opportunity to experience diverse characters and situations. I haven’t read many reviews on it, but the blurb was very interesting. So, this one definitely stays. The judgement:

Keep


15844362

The One (The Selection, #3) | Kiera Cass

I was NOT much a fan of the first book. I didn’t like one single character, especially America Singer, and the premise is basically The Bachelor but with a slightly dystopian twist on it. Even though I absolutely love this cover (man, that dress is gorgeous), I’m not tempted enough to continue on with the series. Unfortunately, the judgement is:

Go


19367070

Illusions of Fate | Kiersten White

I never finished White’s Paranormalcy trilogy. I think I read the first two books and then stopped. I just forgot to finish the series out. I have no desire to pick up the third book anymore, but that doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy her stories! The premise to this one sounds really interesting and when you say something like, “Downton Abbey meets Cassandra Clare in this lush, romantic fantasy from New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White,” I can’t help but give it a try. The judgement:

Keep


17331828

Talon | Julie Kagawa

I bought this book on my e-reader about a year  ago and I never finished it. I literally have 15 pages left to read and I just don’t want to read them. This book didn’t sit right with me, for some reason, and that really bums me out because I LOVE Julie Kagawa. Her Blood of Eden and Iron Fey series are some of my favorites. But this one? Not so much. The judgement:

Go


20417847

Jared’s Quest ( An Unfortunate Fairy Tale, #1.5) | Chanda Hahn

Ha! I already read this one. *Proud stance* And it was fabulous. Ah, the wonderful feeling of kicking a book you already read off your TBR. The judgement:

Go


What’d you think of my choices? Do you know any of the books I listed? I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Thanks for stopping by! See ya soon ❤

21 thoughts on “Down the TBR Hole | Books 46 – 50

  1. I actually started Talon myself ages ago and could never get too far into it. I think I managed to make it through ten chapters before giving up and I just can’t motivate myself to pick it back up again. It’s a shame because plenty of people seem to love this series and I love Julie Kagawa’s Immortal Rules books but this just isn’t for me unfortunately.
    Also it’s great you managed to kick one off your list because you finished it. It’s always a good feeling managing to move books from to-read to read isn’t it?
    Great post for this feature Azia, and happy reading whatever is left on your to-read list as well! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a shame we couldn’t finish it. I was considering stopping much earlier than I did. I don’t know what it was about the book that just didn’t appeal to me. Do you know what you didn’t like? I’m having a hard time picking out the aspects that didn’t sit right with me haha. The Blood of Eden series is just phenomenal. I kind of want to re-read it now haha.
      And yes it is! I’m pretty sure I have a few books on there like that. It’ll be nice to finally remove them from the list 😀
      Thanks Beth! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I just couldn’t get into it, and I guess this was during a time when if I didn’t enjoy a book I didn’t force myself to finish it. I’m not sure what it was, I know other people have loved the series, it just didn’t speak to me I guess.
        I suppose at least there’s one of her series we both ended up loving then! 🙂
        That’s always a nice feeling isn’t it? And that’s all right. 🙂 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I think it was the brother for me. I felt personally affronted by his traitorous behavior LOL. Also, I don’t think I really liked the characters all that much.
        Yes! Glad for that 🙂 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  2. The Talon series isn’t that interesting, at least that’s my opinion. I made it through the first two books but I don’t think I’ll read the last book. I did read the Selection series and I can completely understand why you wouldn’t read it..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, I’m glad I stopped when I did then. I just could not get through it. Maybe I thought it was boring? Not sure haha. And I feel like want to read The Selection series, but I know I won’t be happy if I do. But I also feel like I should give it a second chance, but I need someone to give me some really good reasons why I should LOL

      Like

    1. I’m kind of surprised I didn’t like Talon all that much! The concept is something that should appeal to me. But I just couldn’t get myself to finish it. But I hope you get around to reading Soldier one day! I’d love to read your thoughts on it 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, I forced myself through Rogue. I think it’s the boy/man dragon that I’m not much of a fan of…I like the human and don’t like him, so it irks me when she pays him any attention…and her brother! Ugh!
        I’ll be reading soon here…hopefully!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. These are great! I might actually need to do a few posts like this myself in order to downsize my humongous TBR XD
    Haven’t read any of the books on your list yet but I have some by Julie Kagawa on… you guessed it: my TBR hahaha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This meme had been REALLY helpful in cutting down my TBR list 😀 Before I started, I hadn’t looked at it in years lol.
      Welp! If anything, always keep Kagawa on your list. She’s a fantastic storyteller. Even though I didn’t like Talon, you might! So definitely give it a go 😀 But Iron Fey and Blood of Eden were, by far, my favorite series from her!

      Like

Leave a Reply

