Down the TBR Hole | Books 41 – 45

Hello, friends! I’m sorry I’ve been sort of absent these past couple of weeks. I just haven’t been in the mood to blog/blog-hop. Also, I didn’t realize that I had evening classes and conferences from Monday to Thursday. So, the time I usually set aside for blogging is used up and I just get home really tired. All I’ve wanted to do is watch Youtube videos. But I currently have the energy to do some posts, so I’ll be taking advantage of that RIGHT NOW. Let’s do this.

As a reminder, Down the TBR Hole is a weekly book meme created by the wonderful Lia @ Lost in a Story that attempts to organize our ridiculously long Goodreads TBR list by choosing either to keep or eliminate the books we’ve kept on there for YEARS.

Web

The Books:

11408650

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer | Michelle Hodkin

I had been planning to read this one all the way back in high school, but never got around to it. I’ve heard some pretty mixed reviews about it, but some of my reading buddies have encouraged me to give it a chance. Apparently, it gets much better in the next two books! The judgement:

Keep


14592730

Existence (Existence Trilogy #1) | Abbi Glines

I know what happened here. I thought this was a part of the Lux series and put it on my TBR without a second glance. The guy on the front kind of looked like Daemon from Obsidian. But now that I know I won’t be continuing with the Lux series and the guy’s name from this series is called Dank (that’s right – Dank), I absolutely refuse to keep this one on my list. The judgement:

Go


9462812

Die for Me | Amy Plum

I’m actually really interested in this one, mostly because I missed the Warm Bodies train, and I’m still curious about how a zombie + living human relationship would work out. The concept is fairly original, and though it’s received some pretty mixed reviews, I think O’d still like to give this one a chance some day. The judgement:

Keep


3682

A Great and Terrible Beauty | Libba Bray

I put this one on my TBR mostly for the cover I think. But I reread the synopsis and it just sounds confusing. There’s so much going on and I don’t think I have the patience to unravel this mystery of a book. The judgement:

Go


22628

The Perks of Being a Wallflower | Stephen Chbosky

I’ve been meaning to read this book ever since the movie came out. I thought the movie was great and I really wanted to read the source material. I still do. And I’ve heard nothing but positive things about this one. So, the judgement is:

Keep


What’d you think of my choices? Do you know any of the books I listed? I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Thanks for stopping by! See ya soon ❤

26 thoughts on “Down the TBR Hole | Books 41 – 45

  1. I have The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and The Perks of being a Wallflower on my TBR as well. I really need to just get to them. I read Existence by Abbi Glines and definitely wouldn’t recommend that book, so I’m kind of happy to see it Go lol. That must be horrible of me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I would definitely recommend The Perks of Being A Wallflower! I read A Great and Terrible Beauty but I didn’t think it was that good, so removing it is not such a bad idea 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s great to hear! My friend in high school couldn’t stop raving about Perks (the book) so I’m kind of desperate to read it by now haha. And I trust your judgement, so I’m glad I removed A Great and Terrible Beauty 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m glad to see you’re keeping The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer on your to-read list. I really enjoyed that series when I read it. Granted my review for the first book was a little ‘meh’ but the series definitely gets better with the next couple of books so if you can stick with it it’s definitely worth it. I haven’t read Existence myself but one of my friends read it ages ago and she was not impressed at all. I think her review mentioned something about the heroes name being Dank too. Seriously there was no name the author could have picked other than Dank?!
    Either way I hope you enjoy the books left on your to-read list once you get around to them. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Your reviews encouraged me to keep it on my TBR haha. And the main reason I am NOT reading Existence is because the author chose Dank as the name for a character. Horrid. Just horrid. Also, the plot is something I’ve read before (Meg Cabot’s Abandon).
      Thanks, Beth! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh in that case that’s great to hear. I really hope you do enjoy it then in that case. Yeah honestly having a character named Dank wouldn’t really inspire many people to pick this book up. You’d have to rename him something in your head just to get through it. I certainly would anyways.
        That’s all right! 😀 ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I have The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and The Perks of Being a Wallflower in my TBR too. The first seems so darkly interesting and the second one I heard great things about it and I have yet to see the movie… Also, if you read Die for Me are you going to do a review? I never really read zombie books but I would give it a go if it’s a good one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love mysteries, so The Unbecoming really intrigues me. I’ve heard mostly good things so I’m excited to pick it up one day. The movie Perks is amazing! I highly recommend it 😀 And I probably will review it! There seems to be a few ppl who’d like to know a few more things about it 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh man, Die for Me. I read it several years ago, and although I don’t remember much, I know I was not a fan. (One specific scene toward the end actually had me loling with disbelief; it’s the only solid memory I have of the book.) I’d been considering snarking it, except it’s not particularly popular, and I’d rather pick on the big dogs, you know? That said: if you read it and think it’d make prime snarking material, do let me know. I’ll be keen to read your review of it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh no, that’s really discouraging to hear! LOL, and yeah, I agree that snarking should be reserved for the big dogs. More chances for inside jokes LOL. And I’ll definitely let ya know! I’d love to read more of your snark reviews 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

