Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesdays | Favorite Polarizing Books

Back at it again with the Top 5 Wednesdays! As a reminder, Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly book meme that was started by Ginger Reads Lainey and is now being looked after by Thoughts on Tomes. The topics can be found on Goodreads.

This week’s topic: Favorite Polarizing Books

According to Goodreads: “These are books that people either tend to love or hate, with no in between. Pick some of your favorites that fall into this category.”

I think this is a great topic! I think we all have those books in our library that you love and everyone else hates, or vice versa. Because I couldn’t think of 5 polarizing books I like (because I tend to fall in the middle when it comes to polarizing books), I’m including polarizing books I either love or hate!


Love | Great Expectations

14800317

I read this back in high school, and I seemed to be in the minority of those who actually really liked this book. I can honestly say that it is one of my favorite classics. I love how the story slowly unfolds and I also really appreciate the character development. I’ve read it two or three times, and I’ve watched a few film and TV adaptations, too! I think it’s a wonderful read, but there a LOT of people I know who would think otherwise.


Hate | The Fault in Our Stars

11870085

I really didn’t understand the hype around this book. I watched the movie first and thought it was all right. And then I read the book to see what all the fuss was about. I was not impressed. The characters were far too obnoxious and demonstrated wisdom beyond their years simply due to their medical conditions. Illness does not equate to an abundance of existential musings and an obsession with philosophical theory. It just wasn’t believable for me.


Love | Twilight

Twilight

Even though I have my reservations about Twilight now, I didn’t back when it was popular. A few years ago, when it was all the rage, I was unapologetically in love with Twilight. Back then I wasn’t as anal about writing style, character and plot development, pacing, and just pure common sense, as I am now. So, I fell into the very large group of Twilight lovers, and even now, I won’t say that I hate it. I just realize its flaws.


Hate | Jane Eyre

9715309

I can’t stand this book. I think it’s incredibly boring and even though I’m a fan of Jane Eyre as a character, I’m not so much intrigued by the book and the events that occur within it. I’m more a Wuthering Heights fan. And I’ve discovered that most readers that are Wuthering Heights fans usually dislike Jane Eyre, and those who love Jane Eyre usually dislike Wuthering Heights. There’s not many people who fall in-between either of those books.


Love | Red Queen

red-q

I believe Red Queen is possibly one of the most polarizing books currently in the YA genre. You either love it or hate it. Even though I’m having a particularly hard time finishing Glass Sword, I won’t deny that I LOVED Red Queen. I thought the premise was interesting and I believed Mare Barrow was one bada** chick. Also, I was impressed by Aveyard’s world-building and execution of plot. But I know MANY readers who don’t think that at all.


Special Mentions

LOVE/HATE | Throne of Glass

I’m actually in the middle for Throne of Glass. I didn’t hate it, but I most certainly didn’t love it. I know there are groups of readers that absolutely hate this book and the entire series so far, while there are others who are devoted ToG fans.

HATE/KIND OF LOVE | Captive Prince

I fall closer to those who hate this book, but I understand there are many who appreciate Captive Prince far more than I do. I much prefer the second book, which I would actually reread, to the first and third books. This one, however, I can’t seem to find much love for.


What did you think of my picks? Did you love some of the ones I hate, or hate some of the ones I love? What are some of your favorite polarizing books? I’d love to hear your thoughts! Sound off in the comments below! 😀

Thanks for stopping by! I’ll see ya soon ❤

43 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesdays | Favorite Polarizing Books

  1. Great choices! I am definitely in the same Twilight train ahah I was pretty much obsessed with it for a few years. No regrets up until today. Even though now I can see its flaws more easily, I still love the story.
    Unfortunately, I totally hate Red Queen. The cover is so beautiful but the rest…well, you can read my T5W to discover what I have to say about it!
    Throne of Glass series is a whole new separate topic. I hate it but I also love it. However, I can confidently say my affections lay with ACOTAR series. In my opinion, Sarah J.Maas did a lot better job with it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! And yes, even though I feel like I regret picking up Twilight, I don’t think I do. It still holds a special place in my heart. The hype was real back then LOL.

      Red Queen’s cover is gorgeous, and I loved the book at first, but now that I’m reading Glass Sword, I’m starting to see why so many people dislike the characters and other aspects of the story. I’m hoping the third one gets better!

      And that seem to be a very common reaction to the ToG series LOL. But I love the ACOTAR series as well! ACOMAF was definitely my favorite 2016 book!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great picks for this weeks topic Azia. I will admit that when I first read it Twilight was a book I really loved. I would constantly re-read it and now my copy has a pretty broken spine from all the times I picked it up. Now I am more conflicted about it but I’ll always remember Twilight as being the main book that started my love of reading YA books!
    Unfortunately I’m one of the people who didn’t enjoy Red Queen, it’s definitely an either love or hate book though. I’ve certainly seen plenty of mixed reviews about it both on WordPress and Goodreads!
    Also I thought the first Throne of Glass book was a little ‘meh’ as well but the series does get better in my opinion, do you plan to pick up the second book soon, if you haven’t already?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 😀 I’ve read Twilight exactly two times, and New Moon three times. I didn’t touch the other two after finishing them haha. I really liked Twilight at first and it holds some pretty great memories for me, too.

      Yes, Red Queen is just one of those books. I’m still trying to get through Glass Sword and I think I finally see why so many people dislike Mare LOL.

      I’m rereading ToG at this moment, just to refresh my memory. I’m also hoping I might change my mind about it, but so far, none of my opinions have changed haha. I’m still excited to pick up the second one though! Some time next week hopefully!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s all right. I feel the same about Twilight actually. I reread that book so so many times I couldn’t even begin counting them, same with New Moon actually.
        Oh it’s a shame you’re not liking Mare in Glass Sword as much, I wasn’t a fan of her in the first book and unfortunately the second didn’t improve my opinion of her character.
        I think the second gets better, and so does the rest of the series so if you can get through ToG again you’ve got a lot to look forwards to with the rest of the series! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m wondering if Mare got worse in the second book or if she had always been like that and I hadn’t noticed (b/c that would just be sad on my part lol). I’m hoping the story picks up in the third book. But first I have to finish the second haha

        Getting through ToG is a bit more challenging than I thought it would be, so I might just skim the end of it so I can read the second. I really want to know what happens next, especially since a lot of people keep telling me the series gets better from there! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Well I did enjoy Red Queen a lot more the first time around. I’m not sure if I was looking for flaws when I read it or I just picked up on them you know? Either way I definitely noticed it in Glass Sword, especially in regards to Mare’s character.
        Here’s hoping the third is better I guess.
        The series gets so much better. I hope you enjoy the second one a lot more than you have the first. It’s definitely worth sticking with ToG long enough to get the Crown of Midnight. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I hope the third is better, too! I really want to like this series. And I plan to get to Crown of Midnight pretty soon! Hopefully homework doesn’t get in the way LOL

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Oh yeah! You’re right. The third one is released on Feb 7th, I believe. Unfortunately, I won’t be finishing the second book before then, but I hope the third book comes as a surprise, too! (A good surprise haha).
        And amen to that! LOL 😄

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Not at all. I’m excited to read reviews on it though. I’m sure many bloggers will get to it before we do. I hope the reviews are mostly positive. I need something to look forward too LOL

        Liked by 1 person

      7. So far I’ve only seen one review of it on Goodreads, and it was a rave review by one of my favorite reviewers, Cate @ A Page With a View! So that’s really encouraging. Apparently, Mare’s character is bettered in this next installment. And there’s also more MaveN, political intrigue, and psychological inquiries. Sounds promising, no??

        Liked by 1 person

      8. Oh well I guess that’s good to see. I know it’s been released and loads of people seem really excited but it’s not going to be one at the top of my to-read list or anything.
        It sounds promising but then again the first two did and I was disappointed in both of those so lowered expectations for King’s Cage I guess. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      9. Yeah me neither. We’ll get to it when we get to it LOL. And that’s a good idea. Hopefully if we go in with lowered expectations, the third book will blow us away and we can act like the second book never happened LOL 😄

        Liked by 1 person

    1. LOL, of course we can. The majority of my friends/ book friends are Jane Eyre fans, actually 😂 I think it’s because Wuthering Heights has no likable characters. Everybody’s kind of an a**hole in that book, tbh. I still love it though haha

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! I’m so happy you like it, too! 😀 Great Expectations, I think, really is an amazing book. Pip is a great character 🙂 And you do?! That’s wonderful! I’ve only met a few people who like both.

      Like

  3. This is a great topic (and great list obviously!) 😀 I disliked TFIOS either *gasp* hahaha like you I thought the MC especially Gus was too pretentious and boring and I just didn’t get the appeal hahah however I still enjoyed the story. One of my favorite polarizing book is The Winner’s Curse! I LOVED it but it’s a really hit or miss for most bloggers haha also Vassa in the Night. I hated it so much but I know a lot of bloggers loved it 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay! Thank you 😀 And “pretentious ad boring” are the perfect words to describe Gus haha. I think I would have enjoyed TFIOS much more with different characters b/c the plot was good.

      I haven’t read Winner’s Curse although it’s on my TBR! I didn’t know it was polarizing, which makes me even more curious to read it haha. And I’ve heard many a mixed review about Vassa in the Night lol. I think I still want to read it though, just to see what all the fuss is about 😄

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I never like the Twilight series. I never read nor do I desire to read Great Expectations. Jane Eyre, nope. Fault in Our Stars was an OK book but the movie adaptation fell flat in my opinion.

    Like

    1. Twilight is an easy series to love or hate. The writing is just awful. But I loved the concept and “romance” of the saga when it first came out, back when vamps were all the rage lol. And the characters of TFIOS just didn’t sit well with me. I think if they were characterized a bit differently, I might have enjoyed the book and movie much more!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Twilight!! We’ve been talking about that series so you know I’m with you on loving it. I have so many great memories thanks to that series even though I’m not as big of a fan now I can’t help but love it still. And I’m with you on Red Queen. I really enjoyed Red Queen. Although I’m iffy on the second book. Part of me loved it and then part of me really didn’t. Funny enough, I’m one of these people who love both Wuthering Heights and Jane Eyre. But I have to admit if someone asked me to pick which I liked more I would choose Wuthering Heights. 😂🙈

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We have! Haha, all this talk about Twilight is kind of making me want to reread it now LOL. I miss all that hype and excitement around that series. Even though I don’t love it as much as I used to, I have really good memories of it, regardless! Glass Sword is really difficult to get through. I think I miss Maven ahaha, and I don’t like Mare as much as I thought I would in this one. AND it’s kind of boring. Eh, hope I can finish it soon, though. I hate DNFing books. And that’s awesome that you like both books! Although, I’m also really glad that you’d choose Wuthering Heights over Jane Eyre. Obviously, I’m hella biased LOL 😄

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I actually tried rereading it last year and it didn’t work out for me 😂. That’s why I opted to watch the movies instead recently. I read such different kinds of books now than I used to.
        I think, for me, it’s this one thing that happens. Which I won’t spoil because it’s further on in Glass Sword. But it made me so mad. I’m still not over it.
        Of course. Wuthering Heights was so good! I’ve been thinking that I need a reread of that one but it takes me a long time to read classics lol.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh yeah, I can see that happening. Our preferences change as we grow and read more books. I’m not sure I’d enjoy it a second time around either, but I think I’d still like to do a movie marathon haha.

        And now I’m hella curious LOL. Don’t worry, you can spoil it for me. Wait…no. Wait…yes. Spoil it for me haha. I don’t really care at this point. Oh god, no, don’t listen to me. I need something to get me to the end of the book 😂.

        I love to reread Wuthering Heights, but same, it takes me a while to get through classics haha. They’re just not as entertaining as some books nowadays, I think.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. You should definitely do a movie marathon. It’s fun rewatching them although slightly cringe worthy at times lol.
        Never!! *zips lips* I won’t spoil anything. You’ll just have to finish it to find out. I’m not even sure if it was something that made everyone mad or if it was just me. 😂
        That and the writing is different. It’s not that it’s too complex but certain aspects require more thought, I think, than books now do. Especially with Wuthering Heights. I loved it but there were parts I had to go over a few times.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I embrace the cringe LOL. And thank you haha! I’ll definitely have to read to the end to find out what goes down.
        And I agree. The writing can trip you up if you don’t read carefully. I think it’s the ordering of the words. And also, many words and actions had different meanings and purpose back then 😀 But classics (some of them, at least) are still pretty awesome!

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I try to embrace the cringe but mostly I just end up having to mute the TV a few times. 😂
        Yeah, it’s most likely the ordering and different meanings as far as words and actions go. But I completely agree most are pretty awesome. I want to try to read or reread at least a few classics this year. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Yeah, I do that, too. That or I just pretend that there’s nothing on the screen until it gets to a part that is bearable LOL
        Oh me, too. I definitely need to try to read more classics!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

