Down the TBR Hole | Books 31-35

Down the TBR Hole is a weekly book meme created by the wonderful Lia @ Lost in a Story that attempts to organize our ridiculously long Goodreads TBR list by choosing either to keep or eliminate the books we’ve kept on there for YEARS.

Web

The Books:

6937878

Love Bites (Vampire Kisses # 7) | Ellen Schreiber

First, I don’t like the cover. Second, this is the SEVENTH installment in the Vampire Kisses series, a series I have not even heard of. I’ll look up the first book to see if it sounds interesting enough, but for now, this one has got to…

Go


4936618

Eternal (Tantalize #2) | Cynthia Leitech Smith

First, I don’t like the cover. Second, this is the second book in a series (saga?) I haven’t heard of. I’ve reread the synopsis and while the plot sound like a bit of fun, I’m not sure it’s the type of book I’d remember. Also, I’ve read quite a few not-so-rave reviews. I think it’s safe to let this one…

Go


7239607

The Wedding of Antanasia Jessica Packwood and Lucius Valeriu Vladescu (Jessica #1.5) | Beth Fantaskey

Ummm? Not sure where this one came from. Not at all. I think…I think I liked the cover? I’m not sure. I haven’t heard of this series either. I looked up the author and it seems most of her books are rated fairly well, so I might check her out later. But for now, this little novella needs to…

Go


9565548

Grave Mercy (His Fair Assassin #1) | Robin LaFevers

Finally! The first book in a series. I don’t remember when I put this one on my TBR, but I think it’s been there a while. The synopsis sounds somewhat unique and interesting, especially the part in which the female protagonist is supposed to be the daughter of Death himself. One day I think I might try to pick this one up. So, the judgement is…

Keep


7791997

Crescendo (Hush, Hush #2) | Becca Fitzpatrick

I remember loving the first book to this saga, and I’m pretty sure I read this book and even the third, but I can’t remember a single thing that happened in either of them. I never finished this series, but I’d like to one day. I may even have to start over from the very first book, or at least from this one. So, this one I think I’ll…

Keep


What do you guys think of my choices? Did I keep the right ones? Have you heard of any of the others? I’d love to hear your thoughts!

29 thoughts on “Down the TBR Hole | Books 31-35

  1. I have never even heard of any of these books, but it looks like you’ve added some random books from series to your tbr? That’s quite odd.. Probably good that you threw them out!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t know why or how I did it haha. But I’m getting much better. I took a glance at my recent additions to the list, and I’ve heard of them all, so I don’t think I’ll have any more surprises LOL. And definitely! haha

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Only when you look back at it you realize how many books are on there that shouldn’t be on there! It’s really helpful, I’m now more consciously thinking about adding books. If I now add a book, I have to seriously consider reading the book, and not just add it because it looks nice!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ah I need to get into that mindset! I’m still adding books just because of the cover lol XD But not as often! Most of my recent additions I plan to read sometime this year!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the idea of this feature, seems like a great way to clear out old books on TBR lists. I may have to do the same because I know there are more than a few books on my to-read list that I could do with getting rid of. I’ve had them on my list for years and like some of the books on you Go list for this week I cant remember when or why I added them in the first place.
    Hopefully you’ll enjoy the books you decided to keep, and you’ll manage to get around to them quickly as well! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I read Grave Mercy when it first came out–I actually bought it instead of getting it from the library, because I was so certain I’d love it–but I didn’t love it. I was in a major reading slump at the time, though, so maybe it was a case of It’s Not You, It’s Me? Anyway, it’s on my list of things I need to reread soon. We’ll have to compare notes!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah I’m sorry the book was a disappointing read for you. I’ve actually read some pretty mixed reviews on it recently, so I’m not surprised to hear that. I don’t think it was your reading slump at all haha. But I hope you enjoy it much more if/when you decide to reread it. I’m hoping I end up liking it, too, but I’m keeping my expectations low, just in case XD

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I love the idea of this feature. If only I could figure out how to remove books from my TBR. For some reason it has me locked out of that feature on GoodReads. I’ve tried and every time it says that I’m not allowed to remove books. Also, as for Vampire Kisses that series is about a girl who is obsessed with vampires and lives in what she thinks is a really boring town until she ends up meeting a vampire who becomes her boyfriend. It’s mainly about all of their adventures, fighting evil vampires, and her wanting to become one. I was really into that series in middle school during the whole vampire craze. 😂🙈
    The things my younger self read lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not sure if this will work, but the way I remove my books is by going to my to-read shelf and clicking on the edit button in top right corner of a book cover and clicking delete review all the way at the bottom of the pop-up screen. That usually removes my review from the list!

      Ah the vampire craze. I kind of miss it LOL. I was so into all things vampire and werewolf. Thanks Twilight haha! But I’m tempted to read the series. I’d love to have a throwback week where I just read all the popular vamp books from back in my middle and high school days XD

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ll have to try that! Hopefully it works because I have so many books I want to remove from my TBR. 😂
        Me too. It was such a fun time and probably the only time my friends and I were into the same books lol. Definitely thanks to Twilight. My copy of that book and how the cover is falling apart is proof of how into all that I was back then 🙈.
        I actually recently spent two days binge watching the twilight movies. Not the same as reading but was a great throwback to the vampire craze LOL.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I only read Twilight twice, but I’m so appreciative of the impact it had on our generation. It (and The Hunger Games) created a new wave of readers! Because of that, I don’t regret loving that series back then haha. And even though the movies are horrible, I’d be a liar if I didn’t say they weren’t entertaining. They’re so binge-worthy, like a C+ Sy-fy movie that you can’t look away from LOL. Plus, they have some added nostalgic value! XD

        Liked by 1 person

      3. That’s true. I hadn’t ever thought of it that way before. As for The Hunger Games, that is one series I will always love as well. 😊
        Right? It’s like once you start watching you can’t stop. 😂
        Definitely has some nostalgic value. I have so many great memories thanks to Twilight, both the books and movies.
        Also, that delete review method for removing books worked. Now I just need to find the time to go through my whole TBR shelf lol.

        Like

      4. Ah me too! I think I’d like to reread The Hunger Games sometime this summer! And I’m also in the mood for a bad movie marathon. Twilight’s on the list haha. Just need to buy some popcorn now.

        Yay! I’m glad it worked for you 😀 It’ll take a while, but just think how nice and clean your TBR will look after you comb through it LOL

        Liked by 1 person

      5. That sounds like a great idea. It’s been way too long since I last read THG. I may need to make some time for it this year too. Have fun with that movie marathon! lol
        Right? I’m going to start going through it on Saturday. I have 900+ books on mine at the moment. 🙈

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I know I say this every time, but I LOVE that you do this, and I totally get your train of thought on the sequel books! I think sometimes I add books to my TBR when I’m entering for giveaways, and then later I’m like, where the hell did this come from? I need to start thinning, but my posts should have like 20 books. My TBR, last I checked, had 745 books, and some website told me it would take me 7 years to read them all at last year’s rate! No thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ahaha I think quite a few of our TBRs can be cleaned up, especially because I think a good number of us tend to add books simply for their covers or because they’re part of a series we hope to read! I have so many “where the hell did this book come from” type of books haha. It’s really cool to see my TBR shrinking now! 😀 And oh my gosh, that’s so many books and way too many years LOL. I think it’d be cool to go through your TBR and see which ones you are actually planning to read sometime this year and the next! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

