My December Reads and Goals for January

I had big aspirations for December. My TBR was HUGE. Did I manage to get through my  massive list? Heck no. Not even close.

I forgot that December is the month of finals and holidays, so time for reading and reviewing was near nonexistent. I wasted the first two weeks of December trying to get through Glass Sword, but I eventually gave up on it to start reading something else. As a result, I had only two more weeks to get through 14 books. Needless to say, that didn’t happen. So, lets take a look at my December, shall we?


what-i-said-id-read_1-0

what-i-actually-read-_-1-0

my-reviews_2-0

I’m so ashamed of myself. I FAILED at writing my reviews this month. I am now, officially, 7 reviews behind.

In-Depth Reviews

Cress | ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 1/2

Heartless | ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Everything, Everything | ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ 1/2

Flash Reviews

The Rose Society | ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

my-favorites_1

Maybe there isn’t such a thing as fate. Maybe it’s just the opportunities we’re given, and what we do with them. I’m beginning to think that maybe great, epic romances don’t just happen. We have to make them ourselves.” – Marissa Meyer, Cress

I am one of billions. I am stardust gathered fleetingly into form. I will be ungathered. The stardust will go on to be other things someday and I will be free.” – Laini Taylor, Days of Blood & Starlight

Her eyes shining with the light of it. Beneath, between, beyond.Along the endless circle. Down the ceaseless spiral. And waiting for her on the other side? Just like he promised…
‘A whole sky of different stars.’” – Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, Gemina

top-posts

milestones_1

mystery


goals-for-jan

  • Catch up on my reviews: I feel like I’m always putting this as one of my goals but this time it’s for real, though. I am SEVEN reviews behind. It looks like this entire week is going to be all book reviews, my friends.
  • Finally read the first 3 books of the ToG series: I’ve been putting the Throne of Glass series off since, I don’t know, October? It’s time. No more backlisting.
  • Choose a day to do blog hopping: I really want to have a set day where I take the time to discover new blogs and communicate with new bloggers. Saturday’s looking like a pretty good day.
  • Comment on at least 10 blogs a day: I want to try to stay active, even if I don’t post every day of the week, and I want to continue showing my support for my fellow bloggers. I think this would be a good way to keep up with the blogging community!
  • Organize my redesign plans: I’m considering updating the look of my blog, but I’m not entirely sure how I want it to look. All I know is I want to keep the color scheme of grey, white, teal, and brown. We’ll see what I come up with!

january-tbr

  • Forever and Sinner | Maggie Stiefvater
  • The Midnight Star | Marie Lu
  • Throne of Glass, Crown of Midnight, and Heir of Fire | Sarah J. Maas
  • Caraval | Stephanie Garber
  • Dreams of Gods & Monsters | Laini Taylor

I had to adjust my TBR from the last post because I forgot that I still need to finish the Wolves of Mercy Falls series, and I also forgot that Sinner counted as part of the series. So, I’ll be finishing up those two books this week.

I recently received Dreams of Gods & Monsters in the mail, and there’s no way I can wait to read it. Caraval will be released this month and I already know I’m going to read it the day it’s released. The other books are rollovers from my December TBR.

I know I’ll probably end up reading something else on the list, but I’ll try my best to stick to it!


So that was my December TBR and goals for January! How’d I do? What are some books you’re hoping to read this month? Any goals? I’d love to hear from you!

See ya next time! ❤

 

27 thoughts on “My December Reads and Goals for January

  1. Great recap for this month.You managed to get around to some amazing books, even though you didn’t get around to all of the books on your TBR list for December. Also you’re three favourites are three of my all-time favourites as well so it;s great to see you loved them so much.
    Hopefully you’ll be able to catch up on reviews soon, I think we all go through periods where we’re a little behind on things like that. I hope you have a great January as well. It seems like you have some amazing books ready to kick start the year! 😀 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh my god yes. Luckily, I have one already. I still need to get Winter. I might not be able to read it until next month, though 😦 But at least I’ll have Laini Taylor and V.E. Schwab to comfort me until then haha XD

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like you had a pretty good December, Azia, even if you didn’t manage to read all those books! But it’s totally understandable – I think I read like maybe 5 books that whole month bc I was so busy with other stuff. I did read a lot of NA, but since I tend to skim them I don’t really count them as full reads, haha.

    Good luck with your goals for January and I hope you achieve them! Those are some great things to want to do. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think I’ve only read four NA books in my lifetime and I count ACOTAR and ACOMAF as two of them LOL. I think I blanked out the other two haha. Thank you and you too! ❤ 😀

      Like

  3. I’m really digging the layout and design of this post! I still think you had a pretty sweet reading month, even if you didn’t finish your highly ambitious TBR (my god I feel ya about finals). I so so need to finish the Daughter of Smoke and Bone series, I read the first one FOREVER ago. For some unknown reason, I never continued even though I loved the first one so much.
    In 2017, I really need to finish all my unfinished series *awkward laugh*
    Good luck with all your January goals!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 😀 Highly ambitious it truly was haha. Finals got me good this year. And that’s all right! I read Daughter of Smoke and Bone last year (or maybe two years ago?), but didn’t immediately continue on with the series even though I loved the first book, too. I’m with ya on finishing up those unfinished series. Lord knows I have quite a few on my shelves right now…. Thank you! You, too ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Amazing recap! You still read some pretty big books! You definitely hyped me up for Cress. And seeing Gemina on your list made me smile BIG TIME!!! Because I loved that book oh so much!

    Good luck with all your goals sweets! I can’t wait to see your new redesigned blog! It can be a pain in the you know what but ugh it’s sooooo rewarding once you’re done perfecting and designing it the way you want. Go for it! Good luck this new year ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Gretchen! And yes! Cress is amazing 😀 And I loved Gemina so much. Easily one of my favorites of 2016 ❤ So action-packed and thrilling. Also, it included Marie Lu's gorgeous illustrations!! Awesome book. Can't wait to write my review on it haha.

      And thanks so much! ❤ I hope you achieve all your goals this year, as well. And it'll take some time to plan out, but I hope the redesign turns out well enough in the end. Thanks so much for your support! 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I was about to accuse you of hiding some divine blood in your lineage, to be able to make it through seven books in two weeks after finals–but the fact that you didn’t write reviews for them makes me feel better. I don’t know about you, but the review-writing process always seems to take more time than reading the damn book. *Shakes a fist.*

    That said: congrats on reading seven books in two weeks! That’s awesome. I hope the reviews are easy to write, when you sit down to do them.

    Your January line-up looks awesome. Can’t wait to read your reviews, and see what your blog’s redesign looks like! Best of luck with it all.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. LOL XD I would have thought I was secretly a demigod if I had managed to both read AND review all those books in two weeks, but no. It just wasn’t possible, especially not with my tendency to procrastinate to the extreme haha. And I definitely agree. Writing reviews can take FOREVER, especially if you have too much to say or just don’t know what to say at all.

      And thanks so much, Liam! So far, they’ve been going well enough, except for the reviews for the series I read. Unfortunately all four books seem the same. All the events are blending together. I knew I should have taken notes… So we’ll see how THOSE reviews turn out LOL XD

      I’m really excited to finally read them. Though, I know deep in my heart that I’ll probably end up reading something else entirely that isn’t on the list haha. Thanks so much ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Procrastination feels so good, and then feels SO BAD.

        Hey, you could always review all four books in a single post! It might be less stressful than trying to string out four separate ones, anyway.

        Whatever you end up reading, I hope you love it!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Despite not being able to conquer your TBR you still read quite a few incredible books. I think I only finished one book in December 😂. I love your goals and TBR for January and hope that you conquer both of them! I’m with you on the commenting on other blogs. I’ve been getting behind on my blog hopping lately. If only we did have more hours in the day! Goodluck with everything, Azia. 💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was really happy with the ones that I managed to get through in December! And ain’t no shame in reading just one book haha. December is a really busy month, what with all the finals and holidays taking up our time. And thank you! I hope so, too 🙂 Lets hope we can both keep up with our blog hopping and commenting this year. Good luck to you, too! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s true. The first half of December was school wrapping up and then the second half was holidays. It was definitely a busy month lol. Yep, let’s hope! Though I have to admit I’m a bit behind right now because first week back at school was busier than expected. 🙈

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ah that’s all right! 😀 I’m sure it’ll all settle down after a bit! And good luck with all those assignments. Hope you enjoy your spring semester 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Good luck with your January goals and TBR, I wouldn’t mind reading only reviews, as long as it helps you staying organized 😛 Caraval’s cover is absolutely stunning!! Can’t wait to know your thoughts about it ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Love this post! You had MAJOR reading goals for December haha, I would have flown to you and given you a high five if you’d completed that many! 😉 That Laini Taylor quote is stunning! I haven’t read any of her books but her writing style sounds just up my street from what I’ve heard, so I should definitely get around to one of those soon. Good luck with your January goals (which are much the same as mine!), I wouldn’t worry about falling behind on reviews, I’m perpetually about five books behind haha! I know I should write a review as soon as possible after I’ve finished a book but I just get so lazy and before I know it, it’s been a month! Oops! Hope you’ve had a great start to reading this year. 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Why yes I did LOL. Heck, I would have given MYSELF a high five and treated myself to a sundae if I had managed to go through all those books, but alas, it was not meant to be haha. And isn’t it?! Taylor is a brilliant author. I think you’d appreciate her works. I fell in love with Daughter of Smoke and Bone, and the second book is even better. I can only imagine the third book is near flawless. Yup, my procrastination game is still pretty strong it seems, but I’ll eventually get around to those reviews. But no more slacking from now on (*she says to herself as she considers all the Netflix shows she should watch this semester*). Good luck with all your goals, too, and thank you! ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

