Book Reviews

Book Review Time: Everything, Everything | Nicola Yoon

18692431

My Rating: ⭐  ⭐  ⭐  1/2

Book Details

Hardcover: 310 pages

Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers

Publication Date: September 1st 2015

Goodreads Synopsis

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.


“Everything’s a risk. Not doing anything is a risk. It’s up to you.”

I don’t read many YA contemporary/romance books, but usually when I pick up one, they turn out to be much better than I first anticipated. This one was no exception, despite it’s flaws.

After reading the synopsis, I was hooked. The premise sounded intriguing to me and I wanted to know exactly what type of disease this was. I was hoping to get a bit of insight into how someone with such a rare disease (SCID) lives day to day. I was wondering how an individual with such an intriguing condition can fall in love and become close with someone else. Yoon managed to form a lovely little romance between the two MCs, but I’m not sure I received the type of story I was expecting.

The strongest aspect of this story is the writing. Yoon’s style is lyrical and wonderfully clever. There is no shortage of humor and cheerfulness in the interactions between Madeline and Olly.  I enjoyed their conversations and I also enjoyed the different forms of storytelling. We’re treated to an assortment of journal entries, images, IMs, and other little documents that contribute to the uniqueness of the book as a whole. I also really appreciated Yoon’s inclusion of an ethnically diverse cast of characters.

“Life is a gift. Don’t forget to live it.”

With that being said, I had an issue with how quickly Maddy and Olly’s relationship formed. It felt a bit rushed, especially since I felt that I did not know much about either of them. Only a few details were revealed about Olly’s past, and so I had a hard time believing in his character. Maddy was much more relatable; however, she too was a bit of a mystery. Just like Olly, her backstory was peppered with holes and missing information that could have helped to develop her character further. If their own individual stories had been cultivated a bit more, the romance wouldn’t have seemed so sudden. I’m not much a fan of the insta-love story and this was definitely a swift-burning romance that burned a little too bright for no apparent reason.

My biggest qualm with this book is the ending, which I have dubbed the second biggest cop-out since the series finale of Lost. (I’m being dramatic, but really, it was a very disappointing way to end the story). I won’t spoil it for you, but all I’ll say is that I felt a bit cheated in the last quarter of the book. The author leads us to believe the story is about a girl and her rare health issue, but then it transforms into something else entirely by the end. I understand it was meant to be a “shocking” turn of events, but for me, it lessened the impact of the story as a whole and resulted in a missed opportunity for both the author and her readers to understand SCID and its effects.

No matter my issues with the book, I found it to be a very enjoyable read. There were several elements I found memorable and there were some I believed were unnecessary. The romance was quick but sweet, the dialogue was engaging, and the characters were interesting albeit slightly underdeveloped. It was a familiar yet somewhat unique story that held my attention until the very end. I’d recommend it to anyone who’s looking for a light contemporary read filled with lovely quotes and a lovable MC.

Spoiler alert: Love is worth everything. Everything.”

12 thoughts on “Book Review Time: Everything, Everything | Nicola Yoon

    1. Thank you! And yeah, I was debating giving it a lower score, b/c that ending was far too ridiculous and predictable, but I liked the first half of the book so much that I went easy on it haha. I agree it was a fun read, but it definitely wasn’t one of the best 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I remember loving this book when I first read it but finding the twist a tad predictable. I figured it out early on because of Maddy’s families past and everything that happened along with some of her mom’s behavior. I think that may be why I never initially felt it was a cop-out but I have to say I agree with you on that. It would have been better if it hadn’t been and a lot more could have been done with the SCID’s aspect. It was definitely a cute read though and still one of my favorites. I’m glad you enjoyed it despite the problems you had. Great review, Azia! 💕😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, that “twist” really was no twist at all haha. Far too predictable and far too inevitable with how the story was constructed. But I thought it was cute and really funny despite all that 🙂 Glad that you enjoyed it, too! Thanks so much, Melissa 😀 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Definitely! It was a lighter read than I thought it would be at first but I really enjoyed the fact that it was. Are you excited for the movie? It’s supposedly supposed to release in theaters May of this year. 😊
        You’re welcome!! ♥

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh I didn’t know there’s going to be a movie for this! I think it’d make a better film than book, tbh. Thanks for letting me know! I’ll be looking out for the trailer 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Excellent review as always, Azia!

    I never read this one; I guessed the “twist” when I first read its synopsis, and was upset to learn I was correct. Like you, I felt it was an insult to both the protagonist’s struggle AND to the readers who experience similar struggles themselves. This is (SPOILER WARNING) just another, more veiled version of magically curing a disability to give the protagonist a “better” happy ending. And I HATE it. Bah.

    Anyway, I’m glad you enjoyed it overall! Hopefully your next reads will be better.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Liam! ❤ Yes, it's a very predictable "twist," even though I was vehemently hoping that the author wouldn't go down that road. But no. We got the magical ending that erases everything the protagonist experienced before.

      I'd still recommend it to others, but I wouldn't advise them to make it a priority to read haha. And thank you! I hope so, too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

