Top 5 Wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday | December 14th AND 21st Topics

Wow! This one’s kind of late. And I just realized I forgot to post my top 5 last week. So I’ll be doing two posts in one!


Last week’s topic: Series That Got Worse with Each Book/Season

According to Goodreads: “This topic is especially good for books and TV. What series started out strong but got increasingly worse with each book?”

I really like this topic because I can include TV series, too! Let’s see what I came up with. *Side Note: All these series were DNF’d and are in no particular order.

Max 1

Maximum Ride | James Patterson

I thought this series was phenomenal…to a certain point. I can’t remember exactly when I jumped ship on this series, but I’m going to guess when Max and Fang started having issues and all the drama began. Also, I just couldn’t STAND Angel anymore. This series did so many things right until it started doing so many things wrong.


Marked

The House of Night Series | P.C. and Kristin Cast

Had an amazing start, started slipping right around book 3, then started dragging around book 5. I’m glad I abandoned this series at book 5 because from what I heard, things got way too crazy and way too long after that. What story must be told in 12 books?!


dexter-season01-posters_001

Dexter

I didn’t watch Dexter when it was on TV. I started catching up on Netflix about a year after it had ended. Unfortunately, no one told me that it started to get really dull around season 3. And there were 8 seasons. I haven’t finished season 3, but I heard the series doesn’t end well. And I already know what happens to Lisa, so what’s the point?


heroes

Heroes

I was SO into this series for the first season. “Save the cheerleader, save the world.” That was the phrase I lived and breathed for 23 episodes. The second season was good, but much slower and not as engaging plot-wise. By season 3 the suspense had stopped. The intrigue had stopped. Everything had just stopped for me. I lost interest pretty quickly. It was too slow, too grim, and a lot less thrilling and fun as it used to be.


cuprkqnweai1vtp1

Lost

This is what I call the granddaddy of disappointment. For those of us who watched Lost, I don’t think this one needs any explanation. It had a great 3 or 4 seasons, but after that everyone could see that the series was going nowhere, and fast. The writers straight up backed themselves into a corner and said, “to hell with it!” and basically decided to give us that ending.


This week’s topic: Fictional Items You’d Give as Gifts

According to Goodreads: “We’ve talked about fictional items we’ve wanted for ourselves before, but in the holiday spirit, what fictional items would you give to friends and family?”

This one’s kind of hard, both to find pictures for and to think of in the first place. So, I think I’m just going to wing it and bullet point this one.

  • The Firebolt | Harry Potter
    • I haven’t read the series just yet, but I’ve watched the movies and it looked like the Firebolt was a very expensive and very fast broomstick that everyone seemed to admire and envy. So, I’m thinking it’d make the perfect gift for any HP fan in the family.
  • Pearl Pistols | Six of Crows
    • I wouldn’t buy a gun for myself, but I know a few people who would love to have a pair of gorgeous pearl handle pistols for their display case. They seemed to be Jesper’s lucky pistols and so, I think they would make the perfect gift for my sharpshooter friends (not that I have any, but you know, just in case).
  • Jester’s Hat | Heartless
    • This magic hat contains everything and nothing. A little bit of imagination and a little bit of heart might bring something very surprising to the surface. Maybe even something like the famous Vorpal Sword? Or maybe just a little white rabbit. Who knows? I’d leave it up to my friends and family to find out!
  • Stele | Mortal Instruments
    • I was going to say seraph blade first, but then I thought that I’d be trying to give away a few too many weapons on Christmas day. So, I went with the stele instead. Steles can create runes that grant extraordinary abilities, like advanced healing, to an individual for a certain period of time. Sounds safe enough, right????
  • Dorthea’s Heels | Spelled
    • Betsy Schow’s Spelled isn’t the most amazing of books, but it’s funny and fairly light. Also, the heels on the cover are rockin’: Louis Vuitton look-a-like silver studded heels with red soles. I know a couple of people (cough*mymom*cough) who would love to have these. Sure, the transportation thing is cool, but the shoe itself is worthy enough to earn a place on the revered shoe shelf.

The second topic was much harder than the first. But what’d you think of my choices? Are there any more you’d like to add?? 

Thanks for stopping by! I’ll see ya soon ❤

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday | December 14th AND 21st Topics

  1. I completely agree with you on all the series that got worse with each book/season, well, except Dexter because I haven’t watched even one season of that show! I loved the first three Maximum Ride books but then the story started getting a little too weird for me, and with the House of Night series I can’t even remember when I abandoned that but I don’t think I got past book five either!
    As for your second Top 5 Wednesday, well I would love any of those items! 😀
    Great picks for this week, and last week. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

