Two Book Recommendations and A Glance at my TBR

Hello, hello! This weekend was packed with family/friend fun (you’ll hear all about it in another post), so I didn’t post anything on both Saturday and Sunday, meaning I didn’t post anything for Down the TBR Hole and Standalone Sunday (for the second week in a row). So here’s a post to make up for that!


increased-standalone

Standalone Sunday is a feature created by the lovely Megan over @ bookslayerReads where each Sunday you share a standalone book (a book not part of a series) that you loved or would like to recommend! Please be sure to check out Megan’s wonderful blog to see her original post and recommendations. And be sure to check around the blogosphere for more posts like this!

Standalone Sunday | December 4th

The Road | Cormac McCarthy

6288

Goodreads Synopsis

A father and his son walk alone through burned America. Nothing moves in the ravaged landscape save the ash on the wind. It is cold enough to crack stones, and when the snow falls it is gray. The sky is dark. Their destination is the coast, although they don’t know what, if anything, awaits them there. They have nothing; just a pistol to defend themselves against the lawless bands that stalk the road, the clothes they are wearing, a cart of scavenged food—and each other.

I’ll be honest and say that this book isn’t for everyone. It’s dark, and bleak, and monotonous, yet very symbolic in meaning. There’s a lesson buried deep within the story that is as straightforward as it comes. I read The Road in high school and found it to be very hopeful even though it seemed the book tried to tell you there was no hope to be had. There were some events I thought were written simply for shock value, but the prose and the relationship between father and son kept me from putting the book down. It’s a hard one to get through, but I thought it was worth it in the end. It’s not the type of book to be re-read, but it should at least be read. And the movie adaptation is wonderfully done.


Standalone Sunday | December 11th

Wuthering Heights | Emily Brontë

6185

Goodreads Synopsis

Wuthering Heights is a wild, passionate story of the intense and almost demonic love between Catherine Earnshaw and Heathcliff, a foundling adopted by Catherine’s father. After Mr Earnshaw’s death, Heathcliff is bullied and humiliated by Catherine’s brother Hindley and wrongly believing that his love for Catherine is not reciprocated, leaves Wuthering Heights, only to return years later as a wealthy and polished man. He proceeds to exact a terrible revenge for his former miseries.

You either love it or hate it. There is no in-between for Wuthering Heights. I read this book when I was in 7th grade and I fell in love with it. I found this one to be one of the best classic romance/gothic novels I’ve ever read. They say that if you love Jane Eyre, then you should love Wuthering Heights. This theory doesn’t work for me, because I dislike Jane Eyre with a passion, but it may work for you! Because I am such a fan of Wuthering Heights, I would recommend it a thousand times over.


Down the TBR Hole | Books 11-15

Down the TBR Hole is a weekly book meme created by the wonderful Lia @ Lost in a Story that attempts to organize our ridiculously long Goodreads TBR list by choosing either to keep or eliminate the books we’ve kept on there for YEARS.

Web

The Books:

12999306

The Goddess Hunt (Goddess Test #1.5) | Aimée Carter

Not EVEN sure where this one came from. I’ll have to look up The Goddess Test, but for now, this novella needs to:

Go


13565676

The Assassin and the Empire (Throne of Glass #0.5) | Sarah J. Maas

Well, since I’ve decided to continue on with the ToG series, I’d like to make sure I have all the little novellas on my TBR, too. One thing I appreciated about ToG was how Maas never revealed much about Celeana’s past life. I was always curious about what happened to Sam. I’m not sure if I should read this one before re-reading ToG or if I should read this one first and then continue on with the series. Anyways, the judgement for this one is, of course :

Keep


9578590

Lost in Time (Blue Bloods #6) | Melissa de la Cruz

Well, since I gave up on number 5 (or was it 4?) of this series long ago, I’m thinking this one needs to:

Go


9395215

Everlasting (The Immortals #6) | Alyson Nöel

Darn it, I did it again. I should know better than to put an installment on my TBR for a series I haven’t even begun yet. I still kind of want to read The Immortals series, but for now, this sixth installment needs to:

Go


823564

The Summer King (The Chronicles of Faerie #2) | O.R. Melling

I’ve been hoping to read more faerie books in the future, so I’m tempted to keep this one. However, since this is the second book and I haven’t read the first book (The Hunter’s Moon) just yet, I think it might be best to keep this one off my TBR for now. The judgement:

Go

13 thoughts on “Two Book Recommendations and A Glance at my TBR

  1. I have read part of Alyson Noël’s series, I think I made it to book four, but that series is too long! It was quite interesting, but not that much..? idk I don’t remember much except for that there were twins and one was called Cade and another one called Dace and I kept mixing them up!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I remember hearing about the Immortals series a while ago. It was so popular for a time and I’m still curious about it. But I usually prefer a shorter series, about 5 books or less. I hope it’s nothing like the House of Night series (12 books!)

      Like

      1. I think I prefer series that are short, 2-4 books, because otherwise it can feel like it just drags on.. I’ve never read the House of Night series, but 12 books is just way too long!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Great recs! I was just checking out The Road on Goodreads a couple days ago and thought it sounded interesting. I’ll get your post linked up to my SS post as soon as I can. And Down the TBR Hole sounds fun! I may have to join in on that one! I really need to clean out my shelves.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I hope you like the book well enough if you choose to read it. I, personally, prefer the movie over the book, though. And yes! Please join the TBR meme. It’s so helpful. My shelves are looking so much nicer since I’ve begun haha

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I totally agree with you on Wuthering Heights. It’s my favorite book ever but I know people who can’t stand it… Yet I’ve never heard a neutral opinion of it! I guess that’s the difference between great authors and okay authors 😉

    I dread the Down the TBR Hole tag… My list is huge! But you did an amazing job, I think hahaha

    Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a bunch! ❤ And yes, another Wuthering Heights lover!! *high five!* And I totally agree. Great authors inspire a love or hate relationship with their books. There should be no neutral feelings lol.

      And I highly encourage trying out the TBR meme. It's so much fun taking a look back at your shelves and seeing what interested you back in the day. Some books may STILL interest you! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

