Top 5 Wednesday | Favorite Villains

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly book meme that was started by Ginger Reads Lainey and is now being looked after by Thoughts on Tomes. The topics can be found on Goodreads.

This week’s topic is: Favorite Villains

According to Goodreads: “It’s been a little while since we’ve done the villain topic, and this one will definitely be a recurring one in the group as there are always new villains to talk about.”

It goes on to say that they HIGHLY encourage participants to avoid putting Voldemort or Umbridge or anyone Harry Potter related because it’s such a go-to choice. Luckily, I haven’t read HP, so I’ve got other picks for ya!


an-ember-in-the-ashes-by-sabaa-tahir

The Commandant | An Ember in the Ashes Series

I was trying to decide between Marcus or The Commandant but then I thought of how The Commandant doesn’t really have any remorse for her heinous actions, so she’s definitely the winner. This woman is EEEEVVVVILLLL. She has no qualms about beating, burning, or killing anyone who gets in her way. She’s even got a vendetta against her own son! The Commandant has got to be one of the most messed up literary villains I’ve read in a while. She scares me and I’m legitimately afraid of what she’ll do next in the third installment.


10194157

The Darkling | Grisha Trilogy

To be honest, I’m just smitten with The Darkling. He’s so malevolent, yet so charming. Make no mistake. This guy’s an a**hole. But a very charismatic a**hole. I know I should probably hate him, but I disliked Mal so much that no matter his dark intentions, the Darkling seemed like a golden match for Alina.


77493_original

Queen Amarantha | A Court of Thorns and Roses

I know we’re all in love with Rhys and the perfection that was ACOMAF, but let’s not forget the horrible witch that brought on both Tamlin and Feyre’s PTSD. Amarantha is one of the worst villains out there, not only because she terrorized an entire land as a queen, but also because she traumatized the other characters through mental, physical, verbal, and sexual abuse. She was a horrible villainess who got her just desserts in the end, but she unfortunately left her mark on our protagonists, even after she was gone.


580844

Saint Dane | Pendragon Series

The Pendragon series was my substitute for Harry Potter when I was younger, but Saint Dane was basically the Voldemort of Pendragon. Dane is a shape-shifting demon that doesn’t just focus his attentions on Earth, but on several different worlds/inter-dimensional territories. His goal? To bring about self-destruction on each territory through various techniques like cultural homogenization, totalitarianism, discrimination, and social inequality. Sounds like a wonderful guy, huh?


Young Elites

Adelina Amouteru | The Young Elites

This choice is a bit different in that Adelina is a sympathetic character. It’s hard to understand the motivations or mindsets of the previous villains I have chosen, but Adelina’s story is different in that we actually get to know her story. I feel so sorry for her and I feel myself championing her on as she becomes angrier and more vengeful with each passing chapter. I haven’t read the Midnight Star just yet, so I’m not sure how villainous Adelina becomes, but I’m looking forward to see how her evil yet tragic story ends.


Hope you enjoyed the post! Do you agree with my picks? Got some of your own?? Let me know your thoughts! 😀

See y’all soon!

9 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday | Favorite Villains

  1. Great choices! I agree, The Commandant is evil. I would choose Queen Levana from Lunar Chronicles. She’s evil too but I like reading about her, especially that book The Fairest, it was all about her and it was so good.. haha.. Adelina is evil but still in the hero side isn’t she? I read book 1 and book 2 but haven’t read The Midnight Star yet, but I thought she’s not a villain..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh I I agree! I was definitely trying to decide whether or not I should include QueenLevana or not. I was just going to add her to the next time they host the same theme haha. I’ll have to read Fairest soon! And not necessarily. Marie Lu described Adelina’s story as a villainess origin story in a panel I attended a couple years ago! She’s definitely a villainess but one with a heart. A damaged one 😦 I can’t wait to read Midnight Star though. I heard it was a perfect ending!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think she’s truly evil for the first half of Midnight Star before she gets redeemed in the end. But that’s why I like her so much as a villainess. She’s not completely evil and she can be saved if only someone will love her properly lol. Her sister disappointed me so much 😦 But I love Magiano!!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Hell yes, the Commandant! She’s amazing, and amazingly villainous. I still haven’t read the sequel, but I’m looking forward to it (and any further development she’s given).

    And you’re so right about how powerful a villain Amarantha is, and the scars she leaves behind. SO GOOD.

    Excellent list! A+ =D

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

