Standalone Sundays

Standalone Sunday | November 27th Rec

Standalone Sunday is a feature created by the lovely Megan over @ bookslayerReads where each Sunday you share a standalone book (a book not part of a series) that you loved or would like to recommend! Please be sure to check out Megan’s wonderful blog to see her original post and recommendations. And be sure to check around the blogosphere for more posts like this!

increased-standalone

This week’s recommendation is:

The Night Circus | Erin Morgenstern

night-circus

Amazon Synopsis

The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night.

But behind the scenes, a fierce competition is underway—a duel between two young magicians, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood expressly for this purpose by their mercurial instructors. Unbeknownst to them, this is a game in which only one can be left standing, and the circus is but the stage for a remarkable battle of imagination and will. Despite themselves, however, Celia and Marco tumble headfirst into love—a deep, magical love that makes the lights flicker and the room grow warm whenever they so much as brush hands.

True love or not, the game must play out, and the fates of everyone involved, from the cast of extraordinary circus performers to the patrons, hang in the balance, suspended as precariously as the daring acrobats overhead.


I feel like I’m kind of cheating with this one because most of the bloggers I’ve come across have already heard of or have already read The Night Circus. But I will continue recommending this book to anyone and everyone unto my grave because I am so in love with it.

giphy-1

I’ll admit that it took a while for me to get into this one, but once I hit about a third of the way in, I was hooked. I love carnival themed plots and I love magic, so this book was basically a dream come true. It’s very fantastical, but Morgenstern’s writing style makes it seem as if many of the magical moments that take place in the book can really happen in real life.

The Night Circus is filled with gorgeous detail, lyrical language, and wondrous magic tricks that fill you with awe. I was impressed by this lovely book and I hope you will be, too should you choose to read it for the first time!

 

16 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday | November 27th Rec

  1. This is my FAVORITE BOOK EVER and I’m so glad you featured it today! I just sent a copy of it to my pen pal in Texas because she’s never read it, and I honestly had started keeping multiple copies to give to people who were looking for a new book to read. You summed it up perfectly – great review! (And expert use of that gif. I feel similar every single time I read it, even after all these years.)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YAAAS! I’m so happy that you love this book 😀 I really hope your pen pal loves it, too. And wow! That’s so nice of you to keep copies on hand for those who might be interested. And thank you, LOL. Tom Cruise came in handy today 😄

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I originally read the book in high school, because my school had this program where we got to pick from a list of free books that we could keep in order to motivate students to read more. Part of the reason I have more than two copies of the Night Circus is because of how many students picked it, and then donated it to the local bookstore, which sells them ridiculously cheap. I’ve given away about 3 at this point. Thanks, lazy high schoolers!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh that sounds like a great program! I wish my school had done something like that to motivate the students to read a bit more. And I got my copy from my local library/bookstore, too, for like $1! Now that’s what I call a steal LOL. We made out like bandits haha

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I started reading this book a few months ago but then put it down because a reading slump was hitting me. I did love what I read and do plan on picking it up again, soon. The words and everything was just magical and lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The Night Circus has been on my TBR for so long and I don’t even know why I still haven’t picked it up. I’ve seen so many raving over it and talk about the writing is gorgeous. I’m definitely a sucker for lyrical writing. I’ll have to make room for it on my list of books I want to get to next year. Great pick! 💕😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! 🙂 And don’t worry! The Night Circus had been on my TBR for 4 years until I finally got around to reading it last year. But I’m going to keep encouraging you to pick it up soon b/c it is GORGEOUS. The writing, the characters, the magic, EVERYTHING is just so beautiful. I can’t wait to read your thoughts on it once you get around to reading it 😀 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I actually think it’s been on my TBR for around four years at this point 😂🙈. I’ve seen it so many times at the bookstore and made comments about needing to read it. I’m thinking that I’m going to put it on my Christmas list this year. I’m definitely going to make it a point to get around to reading it next year. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      2. That was exactly me until I took a chance on it last year when I saw it in my library’s little bookstore. But I hope you really do get to read it soon! I’m sure you’ll LOVE it 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

