Top 5 Wednesday | Books I Want to Reread

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly book meme that was started by Ginger Reads Lainey and is now being looked after by Thoughts on Tomes. The topics can be found on Goodreads.

This week’s topic is: Books I Want to Re-Read

According to Goodreads:Though it seems like we are all constantly chasing the next upcoming release, let’s take a trip down memory lane and talk about some books that we’d like to re-visit.”

I can’t tell you how excited I am about this one! All these are books I ADORE, but haven’t re-read. I won’t choose the books I’ve already re-read several times b/c that’s no fun. So, let’s do this thing!


ACOMAF

A Court of Mist and Fury

I feel like this choice is obvious. Ever since I read this masterpiece back in the summer, I’ve had the urge to re-read it ever since. I see this one in my in my hands in the near future. And by that I mean in the next two to three weeks. It’ll definitely be re-read before the year is out.


Scorpio RacesThe Scorpio Races

This was the book that made me fall in love with Maggie Steifvater. I had nothing but good things to say about The Scorpio Races. Heck, I even recommended it to my entire classroom a couple years back when I had to pretend to be an acquisition editor attempting to convince the board of editors to buy the book. This is one of my favorite books of all time.


Six of Crowscrooked-kingdom

Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom

I chose to put these two together because I can’t just read Six of Crows and leave the story unfinished. I need BOTH books to feel satisfied, though, Six of Crows holds a special place in my heart for introducing me to the likes of charmingly wicked Kaz Brekker. This duology definitely needs to be re-read, and soon.


Amy and RogerAmy and Roger’s Epic Detour

I read this lovely little YA contemporary back in high school and I haven’t forgotten it. This book inspired my travel bug, and it dared me to believe that there are plenty of good things in this world to be experienced.


hunger-gamesThe Hunger Games

I think I’d like to revisit the first groundbreaking modern YA dystopian again. I read the book so long ago that I can barely remember how it felt to read it the first time. My memory of the book has kind of been erased by the films. So, I’d like to remedy that whenever and however I can.


Some Extras (Because I Don’t Know How to Follow Rules)

 

20 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday | Books I Want to Reread

  1. These are all fantastic choices! I’ve probably sound like a harpy at this point, but I HIGHLY recommend listening to the audiobook version of ACOMAF instead of rereading the print copy. It’s one of my favorite audios I’ve ever listened to (seriously, I can’t shut up about it), and prevented me from skimming so I could get every detail. I also listened to ACOTAR before rereading the sequel, and found that I appreciated it a lot more the second time around.

    Seriously awesome selection. I want to reread some of these myself in the near future! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you! I’ve never listened to an audio book before. I guess if I’m going to start with one of the best YA/NA books I’ve ever read haha. I’ll definitely take your advice and try to listen to both ACOTAR and ACOMAF this winter break! 😀

      Like

    1. Thank you! ❤ And I think I remember you telling me you've reread ACOMAF several times already LOL! One more time definitely couldn't hurt. And I LOVE the Iron Fey series. It was the first faerie series I fell in love with. I will always remember the love I had for BOTH Ash and Puck haha. And yay! Scorpio Races for the win 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I probably have 😂🙈. True. One more time or two or three couldn’t hurt. That’s one book I’ll never got tired of rereading lol.
        Same! The Iron Fey series is the book that led to me reading ACOTAR because I wanted to read more faerie books after it. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Iron Fey led me to so many other faerie books! ACOTAR was actually my return to faerie books after a two or three year hiatus. I’m so happy both ACOTAR and ACOMAF came along. My love for the fae world has officially been rekindled 😀 I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of ACOMAF either haha

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Ooooh okay that makes a difference haha. WELL, lol, after Iron Fey, I read a swath of faerie books. It’s all I read for about two years, I think. The ones that stood out are the Need series, the Wicked Lovely series, the Books of Faerie duology, the Modern Faerie Tales trilogy (I freaking LOVE Tithe), the Faeriewalker trilogy, and of course, the Mortal Instruments/Infernal Devices series!!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I tried Wicked Lovely a few months ago and it was not my thing but I absolutely adore the Shadowhunter books. I guess I had read books with faeries before Iron Fey after all? 😂
        I’ll have to look up the others you suggested on Goodreads. I always need more faeries books to read. Thanks for the recs! 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      5. It took me a while to get into Wicked Lovely. I read the first book, didn’t like it much, and so I didn’t con’t with the series until about 2-3 years later. But the second book hooked me and I binged the rest of the series. I think almost everyone loves the Shadowhunter series. It’s so good. I hope you try out the other faerie books and love them just as much as I did ❤

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my god there’s a name!! I’m so excited! I’ll have to add that to my Goodreads. Thanks for telling me 😀 And I hope you end up loving Crooked Kingdom! I know I did 😀 Even though it had its faults, I thought it was an excellent end to the duology!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve read about half of the books you listed, and I wholeheartedly agree with wanting to reread each of them. (Except Hunger Games, but I’m not big into dystopians. I know, I know; my taste is questionable.)

    Pendragon is new to me, but it looks really neat. Thanks for pointing it out! =)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hunger Games is kind of an iffy choice for me, tbh. I actually really like dystopians (it’s okay if you don’t b/c honestly the genre is oversaturated and they’re kinda depressing), but Hunger Games is so heavy, I’m not sure I’d enjoy it a second time around. But I’ll still give it a second read and see how it goes haha.

      And I highly recommend Pendragon! It was my substitute for the HP series, but the story is really compelling and it has one of the most evil villains I’ve read in a middle grade (and even a YA) fiction!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hopefully Hunger Games blows you away the second time around as well–or at least exceeds your rereading expectations. Do you think you’ll write follow-up reviews for any of these books?

        Oooh, I clearly need this villain in my life. That’s it, I’m convinced. =D

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Oh I didn’t think about that! But yes, I think I will. It might be cool to see if my opinion changed or if I’m just as in love with the book as I was before! 😀

        And I hope you enjoy Pendragon as much as I did. Unfortunately, I never finished the series, but I haven’t given up on it even after all these years I’ve set it aside. It’s to good NOT to finish haha 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      3. It really is! But if I was being honest, I didn’t even get distracted. I was so heartbroken over some of the events of the previous bookI had read in the series, that I just didn’t have the heart to finish the next book at that time. I needed a break….a break that has lasted 6 years LOL. But now that I’m healed, I hope I can finish it up eventually, too! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

