Standalone Sunday | November 20th Rec

Standalone Sunday is a feature created by the lovely Megan over @ bookslayerReads where each Sunday you share a standalone book (a book not part of a series) that you loved or would like to recommend! Please be sure to check out Megan’s wonderful blog to see her original post and recommendations. And be sure to check around the blogosphere for more posts like this!

increased-standalone

This week’s recommendation is:

IT | Stephen King

830502

Goodreads Synopsis

To the children, the town was their whole world. To the adults, knowing better, Derry, Maine was just their home town: familiar, well-ordered for the most part. A good place to live.

It was the children who saw – and felt – what made Derry so horribly different. In the storm drains, in the sewers, IT lurked, taking on the shape of every nightmare, each one’s deepest dread. Sometimes IT reached up, seizing, tearing, killing . . .

The adults, knowing better, knew nothing.

Time passed and the children grew up, moved away. The horror of IT was deep-buried, wrapped in forgetfulness. Until they were called back, once more to confront IT as IT stirred and coiled in the sullen depths of their memories, reaching up again to make their past nightmares a terrible present reality.


I hate clowns with a burning passion. I really do. I was basically like this:

2009

the entire time I was at Horror Nights this year. The theme was clowns and my first defense against this threat was to first put on some fake bravado and then offer up my friends as sacrifice so I could get away.

I never said I was a hero.

The reason I’m so afraid of clowns? This book.

I was first introduced to Stephen King through the movie The Shining, and then the other film, Misery. But the first (and only) book I read by King was IT. And IT was more than enough for me.

IT has left me scarred, but in a good way. It’s a horror/thriller, and for this book to leave such a mark proves how strong of a story it is. If you love to be scared, then this is the book for you. If you want to reassure yourself why clowns are evil, then this is the book for you. If you’re going to read only one King book in your lifetime, I highly recommend this be the one. It’ll have you looking at storm drains differently for the rest of your life.

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday | November 20th Rec

  1. Agree completely, Azia! Loved this one of his books the best. Every childhood fear is represented. I read the last 400 pages all in one night and kept checking to make sure my apartment door was locked. 😕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, IT had a way of playing on all your fears, which makes it all the more brilliant and creepy. This book took me FOREVER to get through, but I was completely invested in it from beginning to end 😀 Now I’m also scared of storm drains haha

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooooh! This one’s been on my list for a while, but clowns scare the life out of me (no one thinks they’re funny. Why are they still a thing??), so I’ve been putting it off. I think I’m going to have to give it a shot now though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So many ppl are afraid of clowns. I’m so glad I’m not alone in my (somewhat irrational) fears LOL. But yes! I highly recommend it. It may take a while to get through, but at least the first half of the book is extremely compelling 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I never read the book, I saw the movie and that did it for me. I wouldn’t say I am afraid of clowns, becsuse I know its just makeup, but they sure are creepy. Not to mention the famed serial killer, John Wayne Gacy’s day job was as a clown so there ya go.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

