Standalone Sundays

Standalone Sunday | November 13th Rec

Standalone Sunday is a feature created by the lovely Megan over @ bookslayerReads where each Sunday you share a standalone book (a book not part of a series) that you loved or would like to recommend! Please be sure to check out Megan’s wonderful blog to see her recommendations and check around the blogosphere for more posts like this!

The book I highly recommend to everyone this weekend is:

Ten Cents A Dance | Christine Fletcher

2411646

Goodreads Synopsis

With her mother ill, it’s up to fifteen-year-old Ruby Jacinski to support her family. But in the 1940s, the only opportunities open to a Polish-American girl from Chicago’s poor Yards is a job in one of the meat packing plants. Through a chance meeting with a local tough, Ruby lands a job as a taxi dancer and soon becomes an expert in the art of “fishing”: working her patrons for meals, cash, clothes, even jewelry. Drawn ever deeper into the world of dance halls, jazz, and the mob, Ruby gradually realizes that the only one who can save her is herself.


I think I was a bit more adventurous in terms of diverse reading material when I was younger. I don’t read many contemporaries or historical fictions much anymore, even though I would like to. One of the main reasons why is I can find more gems like this one. Ten Cents A Dance is a mesmerizing story that broke my heart, made me angry, and gave me hope all at once. It’s a story of love and loss as well as growth and maturity. I remember being wholly taken by this book when I was high school and I’m still completely taken by it now, which I think is a pretty good sign!

3 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday | November 13th Rec

Leave a Reply

