Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday | Thinking Happy Thoughts After November 8th

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill over @ Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases we eagerly await. If you’d like to participate, click the link above and add your entry to the list!

After the election last night, I thought I wouldn’t have the heart to post anything today. But I NEED something to take my mind off the tragedy that is the United States of America. Ooops, I’m bringing the gloom with me. On to happier thoughts!

Marissa Meyer’s Heartless was basically the last book I have been waiting on to be released this year. All other releases this year are mostly sequels I haven’t begun just yet. So, I’m looking a little farther into the future today. The book I’m waiting on for now is:

27883214

Caraval | Stephanie Garber

Publication Date: January 31, 2016

Hardcover: 401 pages

Goodreads Synopsis

Before you enter the world of Caraval, you must remember that it’s all a game . . .

Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their ruthless father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the legendary, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over.

Then, Scarlett’s long-dreamt of invitation to Caraval finally arrives. So, Tella enlists a mysterious sailor’s help to whisk Scarlett away to this year’s show. But as soon as the trio arrives, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nonetheless soon becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with her sister, with Legend, and with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever.

I’m purely smitten by the cover. I mean, it’s just so gorgeous! And I’m fascinated by anything that is carnival or circus themed. The Night Circus and Freaks! Alive on the Inside are two of my favorite carnival themed books. Better yet, the synopsis of Caraval seems promising. I can’t wait to see how this one plays out.

6 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday | Thinking Happy Thoughts After November 8th

  1. I am also highly anticipating Caraval & kicked myself many many times at my very 1st Bookcon earlier this month. I came SOOOO close to having a ARC in my hands but failed miserably smh. The U.K. editions are STUNNING under the dust jacket 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oooh I’ve never heard of Bookcon?! They have those?? And at least you came close! I’ve never come close to getting an ARC lol. And I feel like the UK editions are always better! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

