My October Reads and Goals for November

First, let me say: HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!!

200-1

Source | giphy

I don’t necessarily celebrate Halloween but I love seeing everyone dressed up. Plus, October is the best time to bust out the scary movies and have a proper scare. I watched The Conjuring and The Conjuring 2 over the weekend and I can honestly say I’ve become scared of the dark once again. I mean look at this face!

bonnie-a-valak-demon-nun-conjuring-2

Photo source

I slept with the blinds open after watching because self-preservation is an important thing.

So, books. Right. Let’s just say October didn’t go as planned. At all. But really, does anything go as planned when it comes to reading? Sometimes, you’re just not in the mood for a certain book or you just don’t have the time, and time is a thing I simply did not have this past month. I forgot about midterms and all that, so my October reading list was a slight failure, I didn’t keep up with my reviews, and I didn’t begin any challenges. But I did add new content and I did obtain more followers! So my October wasn’t completely wasted.

Let’s take a look back at my October, shall we?


what-i-said-id-read_1-0

See the original post here!


what-i-actually-read-_-1-0


my-reviews_2-0

IN-DEPTH REVIEWS

Crooked Kingdom |⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Pride and Prejudice | ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

A Torch Against the Night | ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐  1/2

Sense and Sensibility |⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

FLASH REVIEWS

Angelfall | ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

World After | ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

End of Days | ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐

Prince’s Gambit | ⭐ ⭐  1/2

Kings Rising | ⭐ ⭐


my-favorites_1

Quotes

It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife.” – Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

I would have come for you. And if I couldn’t walk, I’d crawl to you, and no matter how broken we were, we’d fight our way out together-knives drawn, pistols blazing. Because that’s what we do. We never stop fighting.” – Leigh Bardugo, Crooked Kingdom

I never kid about my warrior demigod status.”
Oh. My. God.” I lower my voice, having forgotten to whisper. “You are nothing but a bird with an attitude. Okay, so you have a few muscles, I’ll grant you that. But you know, a bird is nothing but a barely evolved lizard. That’s what you are.” – Susan Ee,  Angelfall


top-posts

100-followers_2

October Goal Reached: 100+ Followers!

20161015_164704

Book Review Time: Crooked Kingdom | Leigh Bardugo

20161004_181510-1

Flash Review: Angelfall | Susan Ee

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-9-39-30-am-2

Book Tag Tuesday: Book Blogger Insider Tag

milestones_1


goals-for-november_2

  • Keep to my reading lists: It’s just so hard to keep to these things. There are so many random books I buy on a whim and then I just end up reading those instead. Or I just don’t have time so I try to read shorter books or don’t read at all. But I’ll try really hard to stay on track this time!
  • Interact with my fellow bloggers more: I think I did this quite well in October, so I should definitely continue reaching out, commenting, and leaving likes for my fellow bloggers to show my support and to meet somebody new!
  • Stay on top of my reviews: I failed to do this for October, but I’ll definitely attempt to do it again this November. To be honest, my future ain’t looking bright. I see finals in the distance…

my-november-tbr

I might be a little too ambitious with this TBR but as I said before, I like to give myself options. Luckily, I’ve already got a head start on my list! I’m currently reading The Call and Illuminae.

The Call is dark and creepy, but I’m not as impressed with it as I thought I would be. As for Illuminae, I’m drowning in its brilliance. I absolutely LOVE it, so far. Hopefully I’ll finish it by this weekend. And for Stalking Jack the Ripper, I read Lizzy’s review at The Bent Bookworm and I knew I just had to have it. So when I saw it in my school’s bookstore for 30% off, you bet your ass I grabbed it and handed over my hard-earned cash without thinking twice about it. And now the book sits prettily on my shelves. I’ve heard great things, so I can’t wait to read it!

And maybe, just maybe, I will FINALLY get around to rereading ToG and continuing on with the series. JUST MAYBE.


And that’s all folks! Hats off to you if you stuck around to read this post 😀 Thanks for stopping by and see y’all soon! ❤

 

5 thoughts on “My October Reads and Goals for November

    1. Very ambitious lol. I’m just sad I didn’t read what I said I’d read. But the Angelfall trology was a blessing lol. But hopefully I can get through my TBR this month! Crooked Kingdom is life lol. I’ve got to read the duology again before the year is out 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  1. You’ve got some great books on your November TBR! If you do manage to get around to Glass Sword I can’t wait to see what you think because that was one that I enjoyed but at the same time had a few problems with. Also, you’re brave for watching The Conjuring. I scare way too easily but that movie had me sleeping with the lights on. I haven’t even attempted to watch the second one because of that 😂. I did watch a Halloween marathon tonight though. Older horror movies are great. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I heard a lot of people had some problems with Glass Sword, but I’ll definitely be getting to it this month. I’ve put it off for too long. But yeah, The Conjuring was intense. I love scary movies, but it’s the ghost/demon ones that get me. I was legit hiding behind my hands in some moments. And I love older horror movies, too! This one isn’t “horror” exactly but I love Young Frankenstein 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s the same for me. There’s just something so realistic/creepy about ghost/demon scary movies that freaks me out every time. I love them but I almost always regret watching them afterward 😂. I haven’t seen that one. I’ll have to look it up!

        Like

Leave a Reply

