Ramblings

Rambling #4 | To The Boy That Made My Heart Go Duh-Dump Dump

Dear boy who works at the USC Housing Office,

I know you will never read this and that’s okay, because this is kind of for me. You probably didn’t notice, but I was this close to saying, “My god, you are handsome.” It wasn’t just your eyes (they were stunning) and it wasn’t just your hair (so curly!), it may have also been your smile and awkwardness that made my heart skip a beat.

I’m not very good at these things and there’s no possible way you could have known that your smile was infectious and your fumbling words and actions were endearing. You stuttered and stumbled over your explanations and you couldn’t even find a pen for me to sign the form. But there was something about you. And I just want to let you know, even though you’ll never see this, that you made my day.

I never say what’s on my mind, so I always miss out on certain opportunities to compliment someone. All I wanted to say was “You’re very handsome” or “You have beautiful eyes,” but I guess I’ll just have to live with my shyness and settle on a smile that reflects my thoughts. And I hope that my smile was enough for you to know that you made my heart flutter a couple of times with your smile and when you returned with ten pens even after I completed the form and said, “Look! Got more pens for you!”

That’s okay, hon. I always carry a pen. But it’s the thought that counts. And that smile ain’t half so bad either.

Sincerely,

A Secret Admirer

3 thoughts on “Rambling #4 | To The Boy That Made My Heart Go Duh-Dump Dump

Leave a Reply

