Book Tag Tuesday | Billboard 100 Tag

I love books. But I also LOVE music. I have to admit that I haven’t listened to the Top 40 Hits or anything of the sort in months. I barely even know which songs are on the radio nowadays. My life has been sucked into a vortex of Discover on Spotify and random suggestions on YouTube. By the way, I found this awesome group called Nothing But Thieves and their songs, “If I Get High” and “Lover, Please Stay” are by far my favorites. Go check them out here and here!

Anywho, I found some songs on the Billboard charts that I actually know and/or like. Thanks to Poetry over @ A Bookwyrm’s Lair for tagging me! Make sure to check out her beautiful blog!


RULES:

  • Thank the person who has tagged you
  • Choose any current popular songs (however many you’d like) from the Billboard Charts, create a theme for it, and match it to a relevant book or character.
  • Tag as many fellow bloggers as you like
  • Have fun!

#1) Work – Rihanna

A Book That Seems to Have No Plot, But You Still Like It

” Work, work, work, work, work, work!
He see me do me
Dirt, dirt, dirt, dirt, dirt, dirt! “

Just like a good number of us readers, I got swept up in the Twilight debacle. It was fun while it lasted, but looking back now, I notice the serious lack of character development, conflict, story structure, plot, pure common sense, and so many other things that make books good. And yet, I’ve read it twice and if I were being honest, I’d probably read it again.

#2) You Don’t Own Me – Grace ft. G-Eazy

A Character That Is His/Her Own Boss

” You don’t own me
Don’t try to change me in any way
You don’t own me
Don’t tie me down cause I’d never stay “

Okay, this one’s easy. Feyre from A Court of Mist and Fury. Not Feyre from A Court of Roses and Thorns, because that’s a completely different woman. Feyre from ACOTAR wouldn’t even know to say these words, but Feyre from ACOMAF sure would.

#3) Timmy Turner – Desiigner

A Book With A Dangerous Anti-hero

 

” Timmy, Timmy, Timmy Turner
He was wishin’ for a burner
To kill everybody walkin’
He knows that his soul in the furnace “

This song’s a little dark, but I’ve got a couple of characters that might fit this description. Nathan Byrne from Half Bad, Allison Sekemoto from the Blood of Eden, and Kaz Brekker from Six of Crows are some of my favorite anti-heroes you definitely don’t want to run into in a dark alley.

#4) Cold Water – Major Lazer ft. Justin Bieber & MO

A Book That Helped You Get Through Some Tough Times

” I won’t let go
I’ll be your lifeline tonight
I won’t let go
I’ll be your lifeline tonight “

I remember when I was much younger, there was this one book that I would run to (among several) if I was having a very bad day or if I was just not in a good mood. And that book was, and I’m being serious, Cat in the Hat by Dr. Seuss. It always made me feel better because it just reminded me of the times my momma read it to my brother and me when we were kindergartners. Good times.

#5) Me Too – Meghan Trainor

A Book With A Sassy, Confident Hero/Heroine

” Who’s that sexy thing I see over there?
That’s me, standin’ in the mirror
What’s that icy thing hangin’ ’round my neck?
That’s gold, show me some respect “

Okay, you can’t tell me that this doesn’t sound exactly like something Celaena Sardothien would probably say. I’ve only read the first book, but she sure seems pretty confident in her beauty. And she frequently demands respect for her incredible assassin skills, so I’d say this is a perfect fit. I’m going to award second place to Shazi from The Wrath and the Dawn, though. Or heck, maybe even Despina, too. That’s some sass right there.


My Tagees:

And anyone else who’d like to take a whack at this one!

See y’all soon ❤

5 thoughts on “Book Tag Tuesday | Billboard 100 Tag

  1. Thank you for tagging me 😀 but omg I just realized how far behind I am with the latest music! :’) I used to check 100 billboard daily to look for new music to download, but since Spotify, I rarely even listened to the radio 😛 ahhh I luuuurve Shazi! Sass at its best hahaha

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

