Book Tag Tuesday || The Goodreads Tag

Hello, everyone! I’m so excited to do this one 🙂 I’m currently putting off three essays for this post, but I think it’s worth it. Thanks to Sammie at Bookshelves and Biros for tagging me!

What is the last book you marked as read?

Six of Crows

Six of Crows | Leigh Bardugo

This book is a gem. I’ve recently finished it and honestly, I can’t stop thinking about it. My review for it will be coming up soon but all I have to say is perfection. Absolute PERFECTION. I’m so happy to have this one on my shelves. I’m a little weak from waiting for the sequel, Crooked Kingdom, but it’s almost here. YAAAAAAY!!!

What are you currently reading?

angelfall-1-0

Angelfall | Susan Ee

I’d heard so many good things about this one. So, when I visited The Last Bookstore in LA and saw this for only $6, I snatched it right up with a crazed bookworm giggle and went home way too gleeful and much too proud of another impulse buy. I’ve read only a couple pages, but murderous angels with multi-hued wings and a thirst for violence? I’m enraptured, to say the least.

What was the last book you marked as to read?

gemina

Gemina (Illuminae Files 2.0) | Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Okay, so there’s a story behind this. It’s not that interesting. Here it is: I still haven’t read the first book, Illuminae, but I marked this as a “to read” anyways, just to remind myself to read the first one. I’ll get around around to this series soon enough, especially after all the rave reviews I’ve heard about it. Plus, I can’t wait to add these stunning covers to my collection!

Do you use the star rating system?

Why yes I do, but sometimes I just go off on my own and give a book half stars because Goodreads still hasn’t given us the option to do it. But I also get a little ridiculous and give books ratings like 4.8 and 3.7, and no matter how much I wish it, no amount of star rating systems would give me that option.

What book do you plan on reading next?

glass-sword

Glass Sword | Victoria Aveyard

Okay, so there’s another story behind this one. I had been planning to buy this one earlier this year at the LA Festival of Books because I heard the author would be attending and I wanted to get it signed. BUT I went to Ireland, instead. So that plan slipped out the window. Or did it? Plot twist. My beautiful roommate went to the festival and bought it for me, and even got it signed by Victoria for me. I had to wait until I got back from Ireland to read it, but I didn’t see my roomie until late summer and she didn’t have the book for me until a couple weeks ago. So, it’s here now with me at school, patiently waiting for it’s time to roll around.

Are you doing the 2016 reading challenge?

Yups!

screen-shot-2016-09-19-at-9-39-30-am-1

My challenge had originally been 30 books, but since I began reading more this summer (and started blogging late summer), I thought I’d up the book count to 50. I’m currently at 43 books, and I might even increase it if I manage to achieve this goal!

What book do you plan on buying next?

illuminae

I need this pretty book on my shelves. NOW.  Considering all the impulse buys I’ve made these past few months (20 books at most) I really shouldn’t be buying anything else, but I just. can’t. help it.

Do you have a wish list?

I do, but it’s waaay too long for me to post here. I don’t even remember what I’ve put on there, to be honest. Just books, books, and more books. A never-ending list…

What is your favorite quote?

Wow, okay. Um…that’s a loaded question if I ever saw one. It’s impossible to choose after all the books I’ve read but here’s one from a book I’ve read recently:

“Many boys will bring you flowers. But someday you’ll meet a boy who will learn your favorite flower, your favorite song, your favorite sweet. And even if he is too poor to give you any of them, it won’t matter because he will have taken the time to know you as no one else does. Only that boy earns your heart.” – Leigh Bardugo, Six of Crows

Who are your favorite authors?

  • Marie Lu
  • Leigh Bardugo
  • Terry Brooks
  • Holly Black
  • Maggie Steifvater
  • Jane Austen
  • Julie Kagawa

You can see some of my other favorite authors and series here!


I had set up my Goodreads account two years ago but hadn’t used it much until this year and now I’ve quite a few good friends on there. I can’t believe I’ve lived this long without it! There are so many books that I’ve read and have forgotten to record on Goodreads. They’re all distant memories now. But now is the perfect time to make some new ones! So many books, so little time…

My tagees:

And anyone else who’s interested in sharing this wonderful tag!

Have a wonderful day! Or night! 😀

 

 

 

 

24 thoughts on “Book Tag Tuesday || The Goodreads Tag

    1. Of course! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did 🙂 And thank you! I’ll be sure to do that one, too.

      P.S. I know! Isn’t it?? I fell in LOVE with it the moment I saw it. This is just a part of the quote. The full quote is even better!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Sammie! And yes! Read the Grisha trilogy and Six of Crows 🙂 Bardugo actually incorporated some elements from her trilogy into SoC. You don’t have to read the trilogy first, but it’s cool to return to the same world and recognize a few words and characters. Illuminae will probably be my next impulse buy. Can’t wait to read it 😀 If you read it before me, I’ll be looking forward to your review!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I’m currently reading Six of Crows, and I’m hooked! I only have around 80 pages until I reach the end and I’m dying to find out how this ends (and possibly hints for what to look forward for in Crooked Kingdom). I hope you enjoy Glass Sword more than I did; I personally felt it was weaker than Red Queen, especially Mare. Cal and Maven are the best, though, and I can’t wait for King’s Cage. Happy reading! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so happy you like Six of Crows so far! I’m so happy when ANYONE likes it. I love the book so darn much haha. Yeah, I’ve heard mixed reviews about Glass Sword. I’m hoping I like it, especially since I really liked Mare and Cal as characters. Wait, you like Maven?! Wasn’t he evil?? I can’t remember actually… Guess I’ll have to reread that now lol

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No, no – I was on Team Cal from the start! I meant I liked Maven because he stirs up trouble and makes the novel more interesting, and he continues to do that in Glass Sword. Honestly, without Maven the Red Queen series would be so dull, but I have a feeling there’s more to him than what meets the eye and that he might not be all bad…

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ooooooh I see! Yes, I really like Maven as the villain, too. I believe there’s more to him, too, but I’ll have to read Glass Sword to be sure. I agree the series might be pretty boring without him (or his mother). As for Cal, I adore him.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. YASSSSS TO ALL THE BOOKS HERE! ❤ I'm so excited for Crooked Kingdom it's only a week of waiting FINALLY!! And ohhh you NEED Angelfall it's one of my favorite series of ever. You also need Illuminae, preferably the hardbacks (it's huge and heavy and very pointy but still PRETTY), and I can't wait for Gemina 😀 Great answers! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I’m so excited for all these reads, ESPECIALLY Crooked Kingdom. That book will be my life once I get it. Nothing else matters. As for Illuminae, it’ll probably be my next impulse buy haha. I try to buy mostly hardbacks now! Just to prettify my shelves lol 😉 I’m expecting great things from Angelfall. Glad you loved it so much! I hope I do, too 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

