Popular YA Series That I Never Finished

There comes a time in every bookworm’s life where a certain book just doesn’t seem appealing. It has to be put down and stay down, never to be finished or revisited again.

These are some of the popular YA books/series I’ve placed on my DNF shelf.


Marked

The House of Night series by P.C. Cast

Way too long (12 friggin’ books) with a plot that spirals down into absurdity and an MC who is way too boy crazy, whiny, mean, and just not all that likable. I gave up after book six and I don’t plan on returning anytime soon.

Shatter 1

Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi

I tried reading the first book, but I didn’t even make it to the halfway mark. The purple prose was exaggerated, the action was bare, the romance was eh, the main character was uninteresting, and the love interests were so-so. Well, one of them was just plain creepy, but maybe I didn’t read up to the point where he became a better person. Guess I’ll never know…

 

Need 1

Need series by Carrie Jones

This series is more the case of “It’s not you, it’s me.” I bought the first two books and liked them, but I keep forgetting to buy the last two. It wasn’t the best read, but it wasn’t the worst. I might return to this later, if only I can remember to order the next book.

BB 1

Blue Bloods by Melissa de la Cruz

I feel like I read this series too young. There are some things going on that would have interested me as an older teen or as I am now. It’s basically Gossip Girl, but with angels and demons. I will admit the series is interesting, but I kind of forgot about it once the fourth or fifth book rolled around, I forget which.

 

Eragon

The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini

I know. I can’t believe this either. I mean, who doesn’t love dragons? Well, I love dragons, but I never made it past the second book. I never even finished the second book. Eragon was great. Long, but very entertaining. I’m sure Eldest is great as well, but the beginning was so slow and dry that I had to set it down.

Max 1

 

Maximum Ride series by James Patterson

I don’t know when or why I decided to jump ship on this series. It was so long ago. I feel like it had something to do with Angel and how unlikable she became or how much Patterson liked to play around with Fang/Max’s relationship, but I’m not entirely sure.

divergent

Divergent by Veronica Roth

I’d gone to the store one day and bought the first book in the series, all happy and carefree. Then some friends of mine spoiled the ending of the the third book, and I hadn’t even read the first chapter of Divergent. So I thought to myself, “Oh, what’s the point?”

And the granddaddy of them all…

hunger-games

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

I’m sorta ashamed of this one. I zoomed through the first two books. But then I began reading the third and for some reason, I just couldn’t continue. I skimmed the rest of the book. Sometimes I regret my decision, sometimes I don’t. All I can say is that Mockingjay is not a permanent member of my DNF shelf.

 

 

Leave a Reply

