My August 2016 YA Reads

August is done and September is here! I’m ready for the fall leaves and pumpkins to arrive. But first, let’s take a look back at all the YA books I’ve managed to read this month!


ACOMAF

My Rating: ★★★★★ (4.8/5)

This book was, by far, my favorite book of August, of the whole summer actually. And it may be my favorite book of the year. I’ll just have to finish Lady MidnightSix of Crows, and Crooked Kingdom to see how they compare. But I’m thinking this will remain my number #1.


The Immortal Rules

My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4.5/5)

A fantastic dystopian tale featuring vicious vampires and a Japanese heroine carrying a katana and a bad attitude. I couldn’t have asked for more.


The Eternity Cure

My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4/5)

Though I didn’t enjoy this one as much as the first in the series, it was still very enjoyable and kept me entertained all the way up to the bitter end.


Forever Song

My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4.5/5)

Now, this is the way to close out a trilogy. Action, romance, dark humour, and unforgettable characters. A+, Julie Kagawa, A+.


The Wrath

My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4/5)

A stunning retelling of One Thousand and One Nights. Lyrical writing, intriguing storytelling, subtle magic, touching romance, and lively characters brought this story alive.


The Rose and the Dagger

My Rating: ★★★★☆ (4/5)

The story continues in this captivating sequel. The characters are improved upon (for the most part), the magic element is enhanced, and the sense of danger is increased.


The Blood Between Us

My Rating: ★★★☆☆ (3/5)

Though not what I expected, and pretty disappointing in characterization and plot progression, this book featured a likable MC and touched on some important topics floating around in today’s society: LGBTQ, dysfunctional families, bullying, etc.


The Outliers

My Rating: ★★☆☆☆ (2/5)

A good beginning and middle, only to crash and burn in the end. Unlikable characters, an exaggerated plot (especially for a thriller), and some nonsense complexities dragged this story down.


The Last Star

My Goodreads Rating: ★★☆☆☆ (2.5/5)

Not good. Not good at all. The last, fiery explosion of Yancy’s once intriguing 5th Wave trilogy. Any silver linings? Ben Parish and a sad, but expected, ending. Full review to come later. If curious, visit my Goodreads page for my unofficial review.


What I Thought Was True

My Goodreads Rating: ★★☆☆☆ (2/5)

I read this one on a whim. I had expected a bit more by Huntley Fitzpatrick, but this book was a major letdown. It was boring, too long, and had a strange romance. I’ll try My Life Next Door, but this one I’d rather forget. I will not be reviewing this one officially on my blog.


And that’s it! I also read Let Me Go by Chelsea Cain but as an adult mystery thriller, I won’t place too much focus on it just yet.

I had hoped to read a lot more this August, but school started and my reading plans took a nosedive. But that’s okay! I’m excited to try to read more this month. Be on the lookout for the Throne of Glass series, A Torch Against the Night, Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom, Lady Midnight, and possibly Illuminae. Let’s see how I do 🙂

See ya soon!

 

2 thoughts on “My August 2016 YA Reads

  1. Immortal Rules sounds REALLY interesting, especially because it’s got a Japanese influence. I’ve been wanting to read something by Julie Kagawa, and I think I’ll start with this one. Have you read her book, Talon? I haven’t yet, just curious.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve read Talon, but I don’t think I finished it. For some reason, I didn’t find it as interesting as I’d hoped it would be. The Iron Fey remains to be my favorite series by Julie, but the Blood of Eden series is phenomenal for a dystopian vampire story!

      Like

Leave a Reply

