Flash Review: Delirium | Lauren Oliver

Delirium 2.0
Synopsis
They say that the cure for Love will make me happy and safe forever. And I’ve always believed them.
Until now. Now everything has changed.
Now I’d rather be infected with love for the tiniest sliver of a second than live a hundred years smothered by a lie.

 My Review
This book had a pretty slow start. A slow start that lasted until the last few chapters. I didn’t like many of the characters except Hana and Gracie, and Gracie only said a few words. Alex was also likable, but he seemed to be a quintessential love interest with not much else going for him. Lena, the MC, was hard to like. She had no backbone until the very end.

Despite it’s flaws, the writing is near flawless. Even so, after reading this story, I think Before I Fall remains Lauren Oliver’s best work.

I still have high hopes for the next book. I’ve heard it’s much better. I’ll be continuing with the series. And because of the wonderful writing, the touching romance,  and the original concept of love as an actual disease, I give this book a solid 3.5/5 stars.


Book Details
  • Series: Delirium Trilogy (Book 1)
  • Hardcover: 480 pages
  • Publisher: HarperCollins; Special edition
  • Publication Date: August 2, 2011
  • My Rating: ★★★ 1/2 ☆☆
Leave a Reply

