Book Tags

Book Tag Tuesdays|| Creatures of the Night

I found another tag! This one is from the same YouTuber that created the Disney Book Tag, Katytastic. Check out the full video here!

Like the last one, I haven’t been tagged, but this one looked pretty fun, so I’m going to do it anyways. And it only seems fitting since I’m doing this post at 1am. This one is pretty straightforward. You pick one of your favorite books that contain or represent the different creatures of the night and list them. That’s it! Let’s get to listin’.

Vampire

Night World

I was a straight up vampire junkie in my teenage years. There were so many good vampire books out there (not Twilight, never Twilight) that this one was kind of hard to choose. But out of the many vamp books, Book 5: The Chosen in the second anthology of the Night World series is my favorite. Rachel and Quinn’s soulmate romance stole my heart and hasn’t given it back since.

Honorable Mentions: Blood of Eden trilogy by Julie Kagawa, Blue Bloods series by Melissa de la Cruz, Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead (my second favorite of all time)

Werewolf

Twilight

Unfortunately, werewolves aren’t as popular as vampires, and I have to admit I don’t actively try to pick up a book focused on lycanthropes, meaning I haven’t read The Wolves of Mercy Falls or the Nightshade series. So I had to really think about this one and finally decided that yes, the wolves from Twilight were very well-done.

Honorable Mentions: Darkest Powers series by Kelly Armstrong and Blood and Chocolate by Annette Curtis Klause

Zombie

The-Last-of-Us1

Okay,I never read Warm Bodies, so I really didn’t know what to pick. But then I remembered that I read A Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan, but then I also remembered that I didn’t like it all that much. I don’t think I even finished it. So, I went WAY out of the box with this one and chose The Last of Us by Naughty Dog developers. Some video games tell a better story than a book could ever hope to. This is one of those video games.

Ghost

The Summoning

The Darkest Powers series by Kelly Armstrong has a strong supernatural foundation. There are ghosts, zombies, werewolves, warlocks/witches, and more. The story is A+ and the characters are on point. Love this series. Although, I heard the Mediator series by Meg Cabot and Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake are also strong contenders.

Honorable Mentions: The Raven Boys by Maggie Steifvater

Witch/Warlock/Spellcaster

City of Bones

I have two words for you: Magnus Bane.

Honorable Mentions: Even though I haven’t read the series (please leave your torches and pitchforks in the shed), I feel like I should leave this here: Harry Potter

Faerie

Iron Fey series

I’ve read so many faerie books, but the Iron Fey series by Julie Kagawa has got to be one of my favorite series of all-time. I read it all in high school and it left me with nothing but good memories. I still got lots of love for Meghan, Ash, and Puck Goodfellow.

Honorable Mentions (Get ready, I have a lot): Wicked Lovely series by Melissa Marr, Tithe (Modern Faerie Tales series) by Holly Black, Faeriewalker series by Jenna Black, Need series by Carrie Jones, Lament: The Faerie Queen’s Deception (Books of Faerie duology) by Maggie Stiefvater, and ACOTAR/ACOMAF by Sarah J. Maas

Demon

Smoke and Bone

Truthfully, any Mortal Instruments book would do for this category but I’m going to branch out and pick Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. This is a beautifully written book with interesting characters and an impossible romance that should not work, but does. I can’t wait to read the rest of this series.

Honorable Mentions: The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare

Angel

Hush, Hush

Again, The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices can dominate this category, but I’ve chosen Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick. Even though Patch is a fallen angel, he’s still an angel. I’ll have to re-read this series, but all I have to say is Patch is bae.

Honorable Mentions: Fallen by Lauren Kate, Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor, and even though I haven’t read these just yet: Angelfall (Penryn and the End of Days) by Susan Ee or Angelfire by Courtney Moulton

Alien

The Host

I don’t know what it is about this book, but I’ve re-read it several times, and I have enjoyed it every. single. time. Maybe it’s the characters. Maybe it’s the slow-burn romance. Or maybe it’s Meyer’s undeniably superior style of writing in comparison to her first saga that shall not be named. Whatever it is, it’s got me hooked.

Honorable Mentions: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey, The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer, the Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Super-powered Human

Graceling

There are soooo many good books to choose from, but I ended up choosing the book that has been at the top of my  favorites list for the past six or seven years. Graceling is such a kickass book. Katsa is an independent, fierce young woman with the grace of extraordinary combat skills and Po is a strikingly handsome and charismatic young man with the grace of perception. I love them both separately, but I love them even more together.

Honorable Mentions (This one is pretty long, too): Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard, Young Elites by Marie Lu, Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo, The Paladin Prophecy series by Mark Frost, Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan, Maximum Ride series by James Patterson, White Cat (Curse Workers series) by Holly Black, and more. Much more.

So, that’s it! Hope you had fun reading this! And I hope you try it out for yourselves.

See ya soon!

 

 

Leave a Reply

