Writer’s Block

Startup Stock Photos

 How I Get Past That Pesky Mind Block

There’s a great story to be told and you want to be the one to tell it. You may have the general idea, but for some reason you can’t seem to find the right words, don’t feel like writing, or simply don’t know how to begin. Or, you may not have an idea at all but wish very badly to write. Something’s stopping you, and you just don’t know how to get around that pesky road block that has settled in your mind.

“There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.” ― Maya Angelou

I admit it. I’m no stranger to this troublesome affliction that many (if not all) writers seem to face when attempting to develop something new and interesting.

Now, I’m fairly new to the world of blogging. (Actually, this is the first article I have posted on any social media platform. I’ve always been afraid of the mighty digital king that dictates a large portion of our lives.) Despite this, I’ve come to the realization, though gradually, that if I wish to be a published author, there is no possible way for me to avoid the social network.

In high school I had the harmless belief that I would one day be a published author of young adult and middle grade fantasy novels. I had also hoped to achieve this goal by the end of my high school years or at least by the beginning of my college years. Needless to say, this has not been the case. I won’t say that I haven’t worked hard to attain my dream; I’ve managed to write three novels, several short stories, and various poems throughout my time in high school and college. I will say, however, that I have not done enough in terms of promotion and distribution of these works.

I rarely share my work and have been hesitant to do so for quite some time. I guess you can say I’m a bit shy. To share my thoughts on a social platform where the rest of the world can see and judge me and my work seemed more than a little bit daunting. I didn’t think I’d ever be able to manage it. But I eventually came to terms with the necessity of digital networking in the world of publishing and the necessity of establishing an audience (you know, the people who would be interested in the works I hope to publish some day) before sending out my work to professional agents or even self-publishing. So I signed up to a few blogging sites and created my own blog on Tumblr (with a little encouragement from my big bro). Everything was set. Now I just needed something to write about.

dawn-nature-sunset-woman
What do I do now?

Days went by. Weeks. Months. I had everything I needed to begin my networking process, but what in the world could I talk about? Boom. Right there. Writer’s block. Writer’s block for days. Writer’s block for weeks and months. Oh, how frustrating it was! To have harnessed my enthusiasm for writing and solidify it into the genuine courage to confront internet exposure, only to have nothing to talk about.

But recently, I’ve had a stroke of luck and I think you might as well. A good two months have gone by since I’ve written anything creative. I just haven’t had the heart, mostly because I haven’t had any ideas. But if you scroll up, you’ll see that I’ve written something.

What was it about? Nothing really. Just a bit of my history and my struggle with writer’s block. I’m not one for advice but I’d like to give some now, just for those who struggle with this issue on a constant basis and for those who are struggling right now.

If you can’t think of anything to write but would like to share a word with an audience or would simply like to just write anything, I recommend writing about your struggle with writer’s block. You don’t have to publish the piece per se, but if you write about what’s bothering you, it may help you to get to the root of your issue and may even help you to weed out the interesting stories hidden within your imagination. There are so many ideas buried deep within that beautiful mind of yours, you just have to coax them out.

Writer’s block is a challenge. Not an immovable obstacle. There are ways of working around it and working with it. Don’t allow this road block to get the best of you. It will move eventually, possibly by a stroke of genius or by the passing of time. But if you find yourself truly obstructed by writer’s block for some time as I have, I say take matters into your own hands. Write about the exasperating experience, write about all those ideas jumping around (the ones you can’t seem to grasp), and let your mind air out for a while.

“Writing about a writer’s block is better than not writing at all.”
― Charles Bukowski

And if you’re lucky, you might find that you have a story to tell and know exactly how to tell it. The most important thing is that you’ve written something; even if it is barely a coherent idea, you now have the tools to make it so.

After writing this piece, I’ve reminded myself that I love to write. I love placing my thoughts into words and I love how those words become sentences. Those sentences become paragraphs. Paragraphs become pages. And soon I have a short story, an article, a novella, a novel, a collection of poems, and so on.

Begin writing about your struggle and soon enough inspiration will come. But you must first take that tough step forward and begin. In due time your love of writing will return to you and a story will lie before you.

This post was originally published on Medium (https://medium.com/). It’s a wonderful secondary site to explore popular opinion, politics, art, writing, and much more. I highly recommend. For my other supplementary comment, please visit https://medium.com/@aziawillis. Happy Reading and Writing!

Leave a Reply

